We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sophia

Save
Traveler (135)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (10)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible22%
Travelers talk about
“plunger coffee”(15 reviews)
“king st”(10 reviews)
AMENITIES
Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sophia
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveler rating
100
179
109
72
140
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
100
179
109
72
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunger coffeesouthern cross stationking stfree breakfastetihad stadiumvictoria marketssky busfree tramshort stayconvenient locationpublic transportcbdskybusaudcupboarddocklands
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
251 - 255 of 600 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I booked this hotel for two nights in July and managed to stay for one, I did my money on the second night and booked myself into a real hotel. A queen sized bed was squeezed into a single room which was no more than...More

5  Thank Angus G
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were made to wait in reception for nearly 15 minutes before someone came to allow us to book in. The room was tiny, needed maintenance. There was a light that shone through our window, even with the blind down and via the hallway through...More

5  Thank Trisha C
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I did nor expect much so I was grateful for staying here as it more than met my needs. Apart from the downer of strict 3pm check ins and no lounge space to hang out on a cold winter morning (which helped turn my cold...More

4  Thank Carl G
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here in February and I could not complain about this accommodation perfect room perfect area perfect service will be staying here again and again meets all my needs for a great holiday the restaurant was great meals enjoyable staff and the prices were...More

1  Thank Rachaelcheala
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had a great four nights at this hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable, room service was above and beyond what was expected (the after dinner mints left with the towels in the morning were delightful). WiFi connection was a mere $1 per hour, breakfast...More

Thank Lusky49
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Melbourne
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$59 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#114 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$59 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#114 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (135)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (10)
Nearby
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
never quite know what you’ll find around the next
corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TonygMildura
June 20, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TonygMildura | Reviewed this property |
They took $150 from my credit card account, i only found out after i did a routine check of my account. I wasn't told about this upon checking in.We stayed 2 nights, & on checking out was told, that refund will take up to 5... More
1
Vote
Kevinmalta22
May 29, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Capehorn2 | Reviewed this property |
They are just arrogant Contact your credit card provider - tell them you have been incorrectly charged
0
Votes
emothedemo
September 4, 2014|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Carl G | Reviewed this property |
Gday. I think they have a policy of a deposit taken from the credit card for everyone which is held. I checked my bank online and it was taken as "pending", but never went through as a charge. But ask them if youre unsure. I... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 213 rear of the property quieter with a noise barrier between it and the carpark"
Read review
"Beware - extra fee doesn't get you a personal bathroom - just a place to hang your clothes!"
Read review
"Not sure where I was - but it was lovely and quiet."
Read review
"My room was on a main street but quiet enough"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing