We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Arrow On Swanston

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arrow On Swanston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 208: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughters and I stayed at the Arrow last night... Never again. Reasons being:- We found the beds uncomfortable, i.e. hard. There were only 3 sachets of coffee. Only 4 very small (single serve) milk in the fridge. Only shampoo & soap in the bathroom, which was the smallest one we'd ever seen! There were no lifts in the multistory... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carakingswood
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this apartment for a 2 nights stay and planning to spend most of out time in CBD. It is located right across tram (not a free tram zone though). You can still take the tram as it is only 2-3 stops away from free tram zone (so what are the chances rite?) but you can also walk a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aldys T
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the great feedback, location wise, with tram stop outside the front door, 2 stops away from free tram zone you are in Melbourne’s prime shopping and entertainment district in less than 5 minutes. It’s great to read that overall you had a good stay with us, we will always do our best to ensure that... More 

Wodonga
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two bedroom apartment was a bit squishy, the biggest thing was that it was tired, the air conditioner was noisy, the water pressure was lousy, but the location is good and for the time you spend in the room it was okay!

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed that you found your room not to be of your liking. Upon receiving your feedback on Hot-water and Air conditioner, the problem has now been resolved, however we have a fantastic team here at Arrow On Swanston who will go above and beyond to ensure every one of our guest... More 

Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Greeted by friendly staff, once checked in I made my way to the room, the room was neat and clean, the layout was a master bedroom, single room, lounge area, kitchen and bathroom. Situated right at the front of the tram stop and walking distance to the city and queen vic market. Parking didn't seem a problem as the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scoooter76
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for such a great feedback and thank you for taking the time out to post this review. The location and ease of access to the city is definitely a big hit here at Arrow On Swanston with Trams right at the door step- and so is the fantastic team. We have that really do go above... More 

Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Average short stay apartments. Awful breakfast - the waiter had no idea how to present a simple item like granola with milk. Instead of giving us the granola packet and a jug of milk, she poured half a litre of milk into a huge bowl and carried it out to the table so we then had to dump our granola... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ozwitch
Arrow M, Public Relations Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to write honest feed back about your experience staying with us. I have escalated the breakfast issue to the cafe manager. Regarding security deposit I would like to explain to you in detail on how this works. When we take the security deposit from your card we used a different function called... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Great location for exploring the city, close to restaurants, Queen Victoria market and public transport. Clean and well appointed rooms. Friendly staff. What more do you need for a quick visit. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, the front has a lot of traffic noise.

Helpful?
Thank Rick M
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for the fantastic review and it was certainly a pleasure welcoming you to Arrow on Swanston. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Shivorn Nand More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Great place to base yourself with easy access tram stop directly outside front entrance, car parking on site affordable & secure. Staff very helpful with all requirments, room very clean & comfortable, small kitchenette very handy. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank griswalds2015
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

Sorry but I had mixed feelings about this hotel First off when we checked in to our apartment it was a dog box my bathroom was bigger than that but give them there due they put us in a bigger room at no extra cost had a nice balcony but hotel rules is no smoking even if you had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teddy6210
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Stayed 2 nights in 2 bedroom apartment. Was small but very clean. Tram stop right at front door. We walked to Lygon st for dinner. A comfortable walk in to CBD for shopping. I had no problems with traffic noise (Didn't hear any)but I did hear what sounded like a washing machine going for a long time That was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Staying in Melbourne for 2 nights for the football, we chose here for its price and location. Both of these are great reasons to stay as the tram is just outside making trips to the CBD, football etc very easy. The Vic market is just around the corner as is Lygon St. Only real downside was the single bed we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Warne T
Arrow M, Public Relations Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Warne, Thank you for taking time to write us a feedback. I understand that some of our guest may find the single bed to be small, and for that, I have communicated this to the management and they are in the middle of changing to new bed. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Regards, Charlie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#105 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#99 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#86 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $74 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay