We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Arrow On Swanston

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arrow On Swanston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed several times and found it rather good but not this time. Firstly, as mature aged guests we were pinged a $50 fee for possible room damage. Really? Partner reluctantly paid it, it took 7 seconds to take it but 7 days to return it. The room was nice, clean, a bit dated but adequate. It's self contained if... More 

Helpful?
Thank nemohobart
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity in apologising of the inconvenient caused during your stay with us. Regarding security deposit I would like to explain to you in detail on how this works. When we take the security deposit from your card we used a different function called 'Pre-Authorisation transaction' what this does is freeze the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with 2 friends as one was competing in Melbourne. My kindle went missing after the first time the beds were made then a heat pack the next time. Staff weren't interested at reception and asked who else was staying with me. Location is great with a tram stop outside. Beds were comfy. We had to ask for bowls and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon S
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Firstly I would like to take this opportunity in apologising of the inconvenient caused during your stay with us. Above feedback provided has been passed onto Housekeeping department and senior managers to investigate. Regarding the missing belonging i my self tried looking for it however was unsuccessful. We are really very sorry once again that you had to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good value for money. Small rooms. No view. Not very modern. If your looking for a cheap one night stay then this would be fine. Room was quite stuffy. Even with the heating off. Good location if wanting to visit queen Vic market. Quite , although many students in the area.

Helpful?
Thank traceyrennie82
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the feedback and thank you for choosing to stay at Arrow on Swanston. We certainly do agree with rooms being small in size perhaps this is the reason why we rate ourselves as 3 star and our prices are affordable. When it comes to location no one can beat us being closer to Queen Victoria... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

1. No wifi and TV service: upon check in we were told the wifi was down, and counter staff did not give us an est on when it will be fixed. Until the 2nd day, the wifi wasn't up & TV still not working 2. Requested for 3 pax in single room, the extra bed provided was a sofa with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank yb189
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wow this place is bad. Never have I got to a hotel and wanted to leave so fast. Room SO small, smells like public toilet, not looking forward to two more nights here. I expect these type of rooms for under 100 dollars. Don't waste your money!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank emilycathjo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

My daughters and I stayed at the Arrow last night... Never again. Reasons being:- We found the beds uncomfortable, i.e. hard. There were only 3 sachets of coffee. Only 4 very small (single serve) milk in the fridge. Only shampoo & soap in the bathroom, which was the smallest one we'd ever seen! There were no lifts in the multistory... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carakingswood
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We booked this apartment for a 2 nights stay and planning to spend most of out time in CBD. It is located right across tram (not a free tram zone though). You can still take the tram as it is only 2-3 stops away from free tram zone (so what are the chances rite?) but you can also walk a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aldys T
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the great feedback, location wise, with tram stop outside the front door, 2 stops away from free tram zone you are in Melbourne’s prime shopping and entertainment district in less than 5 minutes. It’s great to read that overall you had a good stay with us, we will always do our best to ensure that... More 

Wodonga
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Two bedroom apartment was a bit squishy, the biggest thing was that it was tired, the air conditioner was noisy, the water pressure was lousy, but the location is good and for the time you spend in the room it was okay!

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed that you found your room not to be of your liking. Upon receiving your feedback on Hot-water and Air conditioner, the problem has now been resolved, however we have a fantastic team here at Arrow On Swanston who will go above and beyond to ensure every one of our guest... More 

Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Greeted by friendly staff, once checked in I made my way to the room, the room was neat and clean, the layout was a master bedroom, single room, lounge area, kitchen and bathroom. Situated right at the front of the tram stop and walking distance to the city and queen vic market. Parking didn't seem a problem as the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scoooter76
Arrow M, Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for such a great feedback and thank you for taking the time out to post this review. The location and ease of access to the city is definitely a big hit here at Arrow On Swanston with Trams right at the door step- and so is the fantastic team. We have that really do go above... More 

Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Average short stay apartments. Awful breakfast - the waiter had no idea how to present a simple item like granola with milk. Instead of giving us the granola packet and a jug of milk, she poured half a litre of milk into a huge bowl and carried it out to the table so we then had to dump our granola... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ozwitch
Arrow M, Public Relations Manager at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to write honest feed back about your experience staying with us. I have escalated the breakfast issue to the cafe manager. Regarding security deposit I would like to explain to you in detail on how this works. When we take the security deposit from your card we used a different function called... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#102 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#129 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $72 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay