We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alto Hotel on Bourke

Orbitz.com$121*
View Deal
#11 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Alto Hotel on Bourke
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alto Hotel on Bourke
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,427: English reviews
Opotiki, New Zealand
Reviewed November 25, 2014 via mobile

First appearances are deceiving Modest shopfront belies an excellent hotel Friendly staff, spacious, clean rooms Excellent food...pork belly you could 'die for' 😊 In CBD so handy to restaurants and shopping Thank you for the enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Afghankiwi
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed November 25, 2014 via mobile

It's such a cliche to describe a hotel as a home away from home but we really did feel very comfortable at the Alto. We'd used it as a base to explore Melboune and the Great Ocean Road and we always felt as soon as we stepped into the lobby that we had come 'home' to rest and recharge. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ming W
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 23, 2014

Early on in our three nights stay we were on first name basis with many of the staff. Studio room was compact and clean with all extras. Microwave, Large flat screen, safe, ironing board & iron, free wifi but for me the most impressive feature was a window that opened! No noisy AC needed. Yes, this meant we sacrificed the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen M
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review

Of course we like this review it sums up our little hotel quite well. Our beds do feature a deep pillow top that makes the beds very comforting and cocooning. However for those that prefer a firm bed the pillow top can be removed. Please advise when booking if a firm bed is required and we will arrange this prior...

australia
Reviewed November 22, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the Alto Hotel on Bourke these past 4 days whilst visiting Melbourne. We were so glad we found this little gem of a hotel. Helpful friendly staff, great breakfasts included in our tariff, quiet rooms, comfy beds, considerate guests, 24/7 access to reception staff - all very close to the Southern Cross railway &...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank simsus
Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed by the staff and cleanliness and tidiness of this hotel. great location safe 24/7 access with someone on reception at all times. Free push button espresso, Free wifi. Stayed 5 nights with my mother. Had one 5.00am . wakeup on a Friday morning for 20 minutes of a rubbish truck emptying bins, otherwise it was very quiet with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 96hollyb
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed November 12, 2014

We stayed at the Alto for a night in late July as we were passing through Melbourne. We had car reservations and the downtown location was close to Alto and we also saw quite a few good TripAdvisor reviews , so we ended up choosing the hotel. We picked the smallest room with the queen bed, so I cannot speak...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mcvadhool
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review

While our Petite Queen rooms are most certainly Petite thet are feature packed with free wifi, super comfy bed with deep pillow top mattress, large LED – Smart TV with wireless connection to your devices to play your music or videos as well as 120+ channels of cable TV (no charge). A desk for those that need to work and...

retford
Reviewed November 11, 2014

Lovely apartment, all mod cons yet Eco friendly - and we got an upgrade which is always a bonus! The staff were welcoming & helpful, delicious breakfast and at a great price. The location is ideal, easy to walk to bars, restaurants, shopping, the Ethiad stadium, and the Queen Victoria Markets.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tezzbar
Victoria, Australia
Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a 3 bed apartment. For the price we were expecting a large space for all to enjoy but were very disappointed. The entire apartment was in need of a better clean with dust on all surfaces, messages from previous guests on the mirrors and random false lashes in barhroom sinks. We found some staff...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jude M
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review

We are proud of the quality our housekeeping & guest service teams deliver. However is seems that on this occasion we have missed the mark. Not our usual standard, but not acceptable if our guests are not satisfied. A lecture would not have been intended regarding access to the nearby state of the art gym. However due the arrangement we...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed November 9, 2014

I really have no idea how or why this hotel has been so highly rated. Its location is undeniably central but that's about the only plus. This is very much a budget hotel, not as good as IBIS or Holiday Inn, very poor facilities, virtually nothing on site. It is a budget offering for a luxury hotel price. Some staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Max E
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review

We are disappointed that our range of facilities did not suit. Being a small hotel we try to offer as much as possible including restaurant for Breakfast & Dinner, Bar, Library, Car parking, Relaxation room with automatic massage chairs, free WiFi, Foxtel / Cable TV with 120+ channels, LED TVs that connect to your phone or tablet to play your...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed November 9, 2014

The building was home to the Victorian Railways Union and then converted into a lovely hotel. From the moment we checked in, there was not one thing the staff would not do for you. Any question about what to do, opening times of attractions, how you wanted for food cooked was always responded too well. The beds were extra comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony_Sinclair
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,089 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (208)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:37
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (832)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Apartment #113 (135)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Apartment #201 (164)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Loft Apartment (179)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Hotel Room (100)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (94)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (16)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,333 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 159 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $108 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Alto Hotel on Bourke staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Alto Hotel on Bourke staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms have openable double-glazed windows, so it is easy to block out the city noise if you wish.”
O3118GHdavidl, yesterday | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter.”
newgirl3, 1 week ago | Read review
“First floor rooms at back of hotel have no outlook”
SaraH577, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ensure you book early to ensure your stay”
411glennm, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms did not appear to have a view but didn't bother us as we were out and about each day anyway”
W3267JSmichelleh, 5 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$121* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$121
Travelocity$121
Booking.com$120
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates