We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Nomads Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nomads Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nomads Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Southport
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night in the 4 bed dorm. It was super close to everything in the heart of Melbourne. I would suggest taking the city circle tram around Melbourne to get your bearings. A 15 minute walk can get you to the Melbourne Museum or Flinders St. The staff was super cheery and helpful. The room and showers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Savannah M
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for leaving a lovely review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed August 3, 2016

For the price that you pay I don't know how other reviews have been so harsh. If you are only spending what like 25 dollars on a room you don't really have the right to complain about every tiny thing. For its perfect location I would be happy to pay 25 dollars and sleep on the ground. All of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophieeehobbs
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for leaving us a review! We are stoked that you enjoyed the place so much. We really hope that you get the chance to stay with us again soon!

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Pros: Nice location in the cbd, free pancakes for breakfast, nice staff, nice lounge/bar, delicious cocktail, free wifi until 7 pm Cons: Room floors need cleaning, also the kitchen, but this might be because of the other people there. Not that bad though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dracarys007
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for leaving us a review! We are currently in the process of steam cleaning all of our dorms, we also now have a member of staff cleaning the kitchen 24/7. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

The hostel has an amazing atmosphere. A nice comfy bar, the staff were helpful and amazing. It is well located and the beds were comfortable. In the winter time it is relatively cheap and it offers a range of 12 shares to private rooms. I highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valentín G
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! We are stoked that you enjoyed your stay here and we really hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon!

Reviewed July 7, 2016

Like most nomad hostels it overpriced, big and busy, but it does the job and it's close enough to the CBD. They do have free breakfast and the staff are helpful. It's clean, it just lacks intimacy and atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! We like to think that our fun staff create a great atmosphere. Unfortunately in the winter months, it can be a bit quiet. We recommended you come and stay again with us in the summer, we think you'll love it!

Brunssum, The Netherlands
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Stayed there for 3 nights, everything was clean and Great Location right in the middle off Melbourne CBD. Staff were helpful and friendly. The bar was very nice and there was a good happy hour. In November we will return when our east cost trip is ended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolaas92
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! Enjoy your East Coast trip and we will see you in November!

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

This place was your very stereotypical hostel, rowdy, tired and rundown, in need of some TLC and maintenance. It was fine for what it was and you got what you paid for essentially I was only AU$69 for three nights, which is a bargain in Melbourne CBD. Getting to and from the hostel to the airport was smooth enough, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amandervos
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We are actually doing lots of maintenance work to get Nomads Melbourne shiny and new again. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon.

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed June 17, 2016

I stayed at this place in November as I had booked it as a part of a working holiday "welcome pack" and they were everything but welcoming. Even after a long night flight, they refused to let me take a shower and rest on the sofa since I arrived before check-in time, none of the staff members were really friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevinvdv1991
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, Nomads does not condone binge-drinking or any use of illegal substances. I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience here at Nomads Melbourne. Since your last stay, Nomads Melbourne has actually been taken over by new management. We are excited to make some positive changes which we think will benefit our guests and staff much more. We...

Palmerston North
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Although staff were helpful and friendly, the room we stayed in was disgusting. The floor had a thick coating of dust and human hair. The pillows were rock solid and beds uncomfortable. The kitchen was tiny and two teatowels were provided for the entire facility. Unsurprisingly, dishes built up quickly as there was no way to dry them. Dishes in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Palmerstonians
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for leaving a review. Nomads Melbourne has been taken over by new management and we are making some positive and exciting changes. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon.

Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

I love staying here in the doubles with ensuite, so cheap, really clean no noise as far as back packers go this ones worth the coin and it's fairly central. Always had good times in the bar down stains and a great place to meet and chat fellow travelers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakeywesta
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
364 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 119 in Melbourne
422 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 119 in Melbourne
742 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#34 of 119 in Melbourne
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $32 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Take a look at the rooftop!”
 of 5 bubbles ricksX9049TO, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“not the ones that give to the night bar as it can get very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles gmc93, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
“Probably get the 4-bedroom place, instead of 12.”
 of 5 bubbles Dracarys007, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“get in before 9.30 am to choose your bed”
 of 5 bubbles 695donaldh, May 18, 2016 | Read review
“If you don't mind hot rooms, cold showers and no free WiFi this place would be great for you.”
 of 5 bubbles CitrisLemon, Feb 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay