We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Langham

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Langham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Langham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,112: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed February 15, 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. This is not a property that I would have chosen on my own. I prefer more funky, small, boutique hotels. That being said.... The staff were very nice, but in properties like this I can't tell if they are being nice b/c they are actually nice or b/c they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy C
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. We certainly appreciate your detailed and candid comments. Please accept our apology that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion. We pride ourselves in the hotel’s decor of classical elegance; our rooms have been updated...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed February 15, 2015

I travelled down here for a weekend with my mum, booked at the Langham hoping for a nice weekend away and boy! I was blown away by everything! We were welcomed by the lovely concierge who helped us in with our bags and guided us to reception. The staff were extremely welcoming and lovely. The food was exquisite and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen B
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind note on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read you and your Mother enjoyed your weekend stay with us from the moment of your arrival. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in Melba, our signature restaurant, thought our colleagues welcoming and found time to enjoy our pool and gym during your...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 14, 2015

I stayed here for the beginning to my birthday weekend for a girls night in some luxury. Wow did we choose the right place!!! We booked the Alice in Wonderland package that included valet parking, bubbles, breakfast and a river view room. We were put on the 20 th floor looking out at the melbourne skyline and flinders street station....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bitbytravelbug_241
melbourne
Reviewed February 14, 2015

arrived late, after wedding reception. we wanted one last drink and the small bar at the top of escalator was closed. the manager asked them to reopen for a group of 10. that was a nice touch.!!! we stayed in a basic room but it was very comfortable. Not flashy, but elegant and well appointed. the towels and bathrobes were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judy61Melbourne
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us following a wedding reception. I am delighted to hear that one of our Managers arranged for you and your party to enjoy time together in our lounge Aria upon...

Vienna Region, Austria
Reviewed February 14, 2015

AUD 400.-- a night and a disappointment from check-in until I left! Stayed there for 4 nights. Honestly never have experienced something worse in any hotel of this price range. After a 27 hours trip from Eorope the promised early check-in was not granted, although I had booked 4 nights at AUD 400,-- / night. Had to wait in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mexx0077
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. We certainly appreciate your detailed and candid comments. Please accept our apology that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion. We pride ourselves in the hotel’s decor of classical elegance; our rooms have been updated...

Worcestershire
Reviewed February 14, 2015

We based ourselves here whilst exploring in and around Melbourne. We'd booked a corner view room and it was comfortable, well furnished and very clean. Space wise it was adequate as we only used this as a base and were out all day. Concierge staff were very helpful with information about the local transport and places to see. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryjslt
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased you appreciated your guestroom and furnishings, found our Concierge Team knowledgeable and they were able to assist you with things to do and various points of interest to see. I apologize we did not tend to the curtain...

Brisbane
Reviewed February 14, 2015

Sadly our week at the Langham never reached the heights of expectation ! We arrived early from Brisbane ,so we went upstairs to the Aria Bar , have a drink, until our room was ready . While having his drink, husband noticed the rim of his glass was chipped and cracked . On going up to our room, I started...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susy1Brisbane
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. We are pleased to hear that Ben was able to assist you with printing of your boarding passes in a prompt manner. I apologize we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and you experienced service issues. I have shared...

Adliswil, Switzerland
Reviewed February 14, 2015

We booked a "grand river room" which has a nice view to the river and the city centre. The hotel is directly in the southbank complex at the southbank promenade with a big selection of restaurants and cafés. The access to the town center is via short bridge and a tunnel under the adjacent train station. The buffet dinner at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank highknee
Sale, Australia
Reviewed February 13, 2015

5 star luxury right on the river at Southbank. Excellent hotel with all the touches you would expect in a high class hotel. Great night views over the river from the restaurant. Best breakfast selection I have every experienced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank At-Home-Apartments
Miami, Florida
Reviewed February 13, 2015

A recent two night stay was impressive, indeed. A one bedroom suite, overlooking the river and the city, came complete with everything you could possibly want. Bathroom amenities galore, over sized fluffy bath towels, private check in, escort to the room by a manager, etc. Room service is quick and has an extensive menu, and knows what they're doing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brucer1011
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your post on Trip Advisor we certainly appreciate your positive comments. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with so many aspects of your 2 night stay with us, from our branded amenities and luxurious bath sheets, our location within Southbank, the Club Lounge, as well as being personally escorted...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,791 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1633)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (250)
Viewed
Dining (97)
Viewed
View from Room (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (324)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (621)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (135)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Grand Classic King (66)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (4)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
2,170 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,459 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
1,045 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
3,650 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Melba Restaurant
Melba Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, Seafood, Asian, Australian
Aria Bar & Lounge
Aria Bar & Lounge
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Langham

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range: $180 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Langham staff and other travelers.
37 questions
Ask a question
Queensland, Australia
4 months ago
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from The Langham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We did not stay but we did eat in the Melba Restaurant.”
571dianeb, 2 days ago | Read review
“Get a view looking over the Yarra river and the city”
  • View from our Room
  • Welcome TV
AshleeR167, 4 days ago | Read review
“Higher rooms give you great city views”
markhoman1962, 1 week ago | Read review
“upper floors for a good view of the river”
sansblague, 1 week ago | Read review
“Book a room that includes breakfast.”
losh_12, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question