We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Birches Serviced Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Birches Serviced Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

I organised my parents to stay here while visiting me in Melbourne from Ireland. They spend a week at birches and really enjoyed it. Great location and lovely view of the city from their apt #19. It was lovely and cosy especial on those cold Melboure days. Lovely living space and well layer out space! Really couldn't fault this place....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSmyth
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your parents recent stay with us; it is appreciated. We are fortunate in that all our rooms enjoy great views and glad your parents had the time to enjoy it. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming them back when next they visit you. Kind regards Alan &...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Staff are so rude. Rooms are dirty & cold. No hot water. When my child left an item there they made no effort to get it returned to me. Asked for a return pre paid envelope. I sent it and they denied receiving it & still have my sons favourite book. Any normal person would just send a child's book...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BBHHKK
Frontdesk160, Owner at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us at Birches from 8th July for 3 nights however I am a little bemused and perplexed by your review. Firstly, can you give me the tracking number for the postal bag that you sent so that way I can follow up on-line or through the Post Office that way we can establish where the postal...

Reviewed October 11, 2016

I couldn't rate this accomodation more highly. The booking process and correction of my mistake was simple, the lady who checked us in was obviously passionate about her guests comfort and safety, and she went out of her way to organise our early departure and to recommend restaurants for a late dinner. Really lovely place to stay. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. All the team here do try hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable as we can and so it is always great to hear that our efforts are appreciated. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind...

Moe, Australia
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

I was looking for accommodation located near to St Vincent's private hospital that also had parking available. I found Birches online and was very pleasantly surprised. The parking was easy to access, the staff welcoming, and the apartment lovely! Would have been great if I had been staying longer as there was a kitchenette. It was clean and comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mero1369
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. It was great to hear that you felt comfortable at Birches and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Alan & the Team

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Nice tidy and clean apartments with a small kitchen which was great so you don't have to eat out all the time. There is also a small supermarket type thing a block away where you get 5% off if they know you are staying at the Birches. A lovely tree lined area and it is a scenic walk into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrhwalsh
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Firstly, my apologies for taking so long to respond to your review - no more holidays for me! Glad to hear you took advantage of the wonderful parks & gardens that are at our door step and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Alan & the Birches Team

UK
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Took ages to warm up the flat as 1 heater not in bedroom. Very light blanket supplied even though it was 4 degrees at night. When I asked for more blankets I was assured they would be brought up during day. By the time I returned that evening I found that no blankets had been & the reception was closed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PumpyUk
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Feedback, both good and bad, is always appreciated as it assists us in improving our services. It was very disappointing to hear that your request for extra blankets was not attended to, or that you were not made aware that there are at least three spare blankets located in the...

Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Place was brilliant, close to transport, clean and tidy apartment with warm and welcoming staff Room was serviced every day to keep it clean, I recommend top level because there was so noise from there Great Cafes close to the area and also shopping centres about 15 minute walk away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aleisha B
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the great eateries that are within easy walking distance of us. Hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Alan

Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Nice arranged apartment, suitable for a long stay in Melbourne. Quite neighborhood. The Thai town is just a few minutes walk from here. If you don't want to cook by yourself, that's a good choice to enjoy some nice Thai food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jiaming c
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us; it is appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Birches again soon. Kind regards Alan

Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Booked this originally through VRBO, but there was some confusion as they only take bookings through Stayz.com. The manager was gracious and understanding when it came to security deposit. The apartment was clean, tidy and well maintained. Comfortable bed and a nice view. Tram stop was nearby and we could get anywhere in Melbourne with a MyKie card. Traffic noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us last month. Apologies for the late response, however I've been on annual leave! It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and that the staff responded promptly with the WiFi issue. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Spent 3 nights at Birches. From the time of booking hospitality was shown to us. Efficient email reply. Accomodating as to our arrival time and need to park. When we arrived the gent was courteous and passed on all the necessary details. The room was roomy, light bright and warm. Details such as a coffee plunger and a sachet to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loi J
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Alan & the Birches Team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#109 of 157 in Melbourne
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aberlour Court
Aberlour Court
#5 of 119 in Melbourne
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
#39 of 119 in Melbourne
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
2.9 mi away
Melrose Apartments
Melrose Apartments
#35 of 119 in Melbourne
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Birches Serviced Apartments offer fully equipped and spacious apartments with all the comforts of home, featuring full kitchen with microwaves and hotplates, Free Wifi and much more. A beautiful common court-yard with BBQ facilities with a veggie and herb garden are at the disposal of guests. What's more our guests can also use the bicyles provided free of charge throughout their stay to ride around the city centre. Rooms recently refurbished and freshened up under New Management since August 2013. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birches Serviced Apartments

Address: 160 Simpson St | Corner Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $101 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birches Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Birches Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birches Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Birches Serviced Apartments staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Birches Serviced Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms on the side street are probably quieter - where we stayed”
 of 5 bubbles mrhwalsh, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“Second floor is cool. Happy to walk up stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles l0ij, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
“End rooms have less foot traffic via walkways.”
 of 5 bubbles gretchenw564, Jun 1, 2016 | Read review
“Close your windows at night as traffic noise can sound really loud at night as it is a very quiet street.”
 of 5 bubbles Sunflower4676, Apr 24, 2016 | Read review
“Great location. Pet friendly”
 of 5 bubbles 533fionaj, Mar 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay