We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Birches Serviced Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Birches Serviced Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice tidy and clean apartments with a small kitchen which was great so you don't have to eat out all the time. There is also a small supermarket type thing a block away where you get 5% off if they know you are staying at the Birches. A lovely tree lined area and it is a scenic walk into the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrhwalsh
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Took ages to warm up the flat as 1 heater not in bedroom. Very light blanket supplied even though it was 4 degrees at night. When I asked for more blankets I was assured they would be brought up during day. By the time I returned that evening I found that no blankets had been & the reception was closed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank PumpyUk
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Feedback, both good and bad, is always appreciated as it assists us in improving our services. It was very disappointing to hear that your request for extra blankets was not attended to, or that you were not made aware that there are at least three spare blankets located in the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Place was brilliant, close to transport, clean and tidy apartment with warm and welcoming staff Room was serviced every day to keep it clean, I recommend top level because there was so noise from there Great Cafes close to the area and also shopping centres about 15 minute walk away

Helpful?
Thank Aleisha B
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the great eateries that are within easy walking distance of us. Hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Alan More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Nice arranged apartment, suitable for a long stay in Melbourne. Quite neighborhood. The Thai town is just a few minutes walk from here. If you don't want to cook by yourself, that's a good choice to enjoy some nice Thai food.

Helpful?
Thank jiaming c
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us; it is appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Birches again soon. Kind regards Alan More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Booked this originally through VRBO, but there was some confusion as they only take bookings through Stayz.com. The manager was gracious and understanding when it came to security deposit. The apartment was clean, tidy and well maintained. Comfortable bed and a nice view. Tram stop was nearby and we could get anywhere in Melbourne with a MyKie card. Traffic noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us last month. Apologies for the late response, however I've been on annual leave! It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and that the staff responded promptly with the WiFi issue. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Spent 3 nights at Birches. From the time of booking hospitality was shown to us. Efficient email reply. Accomodating as to our arrival time and need to park. When we arrived the gent was courteous and passed on all the necessary details. The room was roomy, light bright and warm. Details such as a coffee plunger and a sachet to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loi J
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Alan & the Birches Team More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Cons: Room wasn't serviced at all. $10p/n parking fee, not stipulated upon booking. Cot was extra $10p/n Bit steep. Not very modern. If you're looking for a nice place go elsewhere but if not fussed about style & comfort it's ok. IMO it's worth $60 a night. Won't stay there again & Bring your own pillow!!! Pros: Close to Tram... More 

Helpful?
Thank BBHHKK
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. It was very disappointing to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We openly advertise on all on line booking providers sites our car parking charge and that our apartments are serviced Monday to Friday, but not on weekends or public holidays, so... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

Really nice and cozy apartments, loved the big windows and the bed was really comfortable to sleep. Clean and quiet, definitely worth the money you are paying. The only minus is that in winter time it gets pretty cold and a little extra heater would be really useful. Very good location, close to everything by any means of transport including... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raccoon_me
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. It was very pleasing to hear that you had a comfortable & quiet visit. We do have portable heaters to "boost" the reverse cycle unit if required, so please bear this in mind for any future stays with us, which we hope won't be... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Stayed here for a wedding in Melbourne. 20 minutes walk to Victoria Market. Not an abundance of trams locally. Some pubs and restaurants locally. Quite a residential quiet area. Apartment quite nice. A little worn around the edges. No door between bedroom and lounge, a problem if someone is a snorer! Very nice welcome from reception staff.

Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTigger
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us; it is appreciated and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Alan & the Birches Team More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Birches Apartments has a relaxed vibe and an almost accidental retro chic going on which made it comfortable and practical with everything we needed for our short term lowkey stay. Close to a tennis court, Fitzroy Gardens and CBD access via bus, tram and rail yet located in a quiet street with views of trees and cottages. Loved the big... More 

Helpful?
Thank gretchenw564
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send through your feedback following your recent stay with us; it is appreciated and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Alan & the Birches Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Aberlour Court
#7 of 118 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
#38 of 118 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Alston Apartments Hotel
#28 of 118 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
North Melbourne
RNR Serviced Apartments North Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Birches Serviced Apartments offer fully equipped and spacious apartments with all the comforts of home, featuring full kitchen with microwaves and hotplates, Free Wifi and much more. A beautiful common court-yard with BBQ facilities with a veggie and herb garden are at the disposal of guests. What's more our guests can also use the bicyles provided free of charge throughout their stay to ride around the city centre. Rooms recently refurbished and freshened up under New Management since August 2013. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birches Serviced Apartments

Address: 160 Simpson St | Corner Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $89 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birches Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Birches Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birches Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay