We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Space Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

701 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 626: English reviews
Macau, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is a little bit far from Flinders Street Station, better to get the free tram to there instead of walk for 20+minutes. The facilities of the hostel is ok, but the problem is they allow a lots of the long staying guests to live there. They are not travellers. Some of them are jobness or working in Melbourne.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita H
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in space hotel for 6 nights. We chose it for its central location and reasonable price. The 2 criticisms that really took away from our stay were; 1. Disgusting unclean bathrooms 2. Terrible wifi ( despite paying 20 dollars to use it for our 6 night stay) The bathrooms were communal, and despite the claim... More 

Helpful?
Thank J D
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a frequent traveler both locally and overseas, staying in both high end and budget accommodation. I would highly recommended the Space Hotel in Melbourne City mainly because it is many things to many different types of travelers seeking value for money. Maybe that is the measure for quality - what you pay for what you receive. And you... More 

Helpful?
Thank dam76byr
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and for your recommendations. Our aim is to provide all our guests with quality service and a comfortable social environment,so it is wonderful to hear you have experienced this during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Space Hotel for another enjoyable... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on my own on a Saturday and Sunday night. I was in a single room with a shared bathroom. The room was small, but clean, with a desk, single bed, tv, iPhone 4 charger/radio and aircon. The location was fantastic. There is a bar/restaurant downstairs which is nice but unfortunately they don't sell hot drinks - nooooo... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dusty M
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dusty M, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, very pleased that overall you were happy with your stay and our location in Melbourne CBD. If you stay with us again please inform reception of any noisy neighbors as we do have a no noise policy after 9pm, also we have ear plugs available... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in a 6 female shared room and this hostel was one of the most clean hostel I have seen in Australia, which includes the shared toilets and kitchen as well. Budget accommodation with a helpful staff. Near to Chinatown and walking distance to the center and museum.

Helpful?
Thank Renata P
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Renata P, Thank you very much for the lovely comments we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your praise to our housekeeping team who work extremely hard to keep all the facilities clean. Kind Regards More 

Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Space Hotel is a great option for those visiting Melbourne on a budget. It's centrally located to all the trams (free trams in the city center), museums, shopping malls, and other places of interest. The hotel has shared rooms as well as private rooms. I went with the latter option and really liked it, although there wasn't as many opportunities... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rajivkhemlani
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we always love to hear our guest feedback. Very pleased to hear your time with us was a positive one and you enjoyed your stay in our private rooms. Hopefully we can invite you back for another pleasant stay again soon. Kind Regards More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I go back to Melbourne fairly frequently to see friends and this is one of my go to hostels. Clean accommodation although the single rooms can be a little tight. But I'm really only looking for a warm bed and a clean shower and walking distance to a tram and it gives me all of these. And I can get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb C
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

This is essentially backpacker accommodation at the higher end of the market. While many of these types of places can be scummy, this was clean and tidy. I needed a bed for the night as I wasn't going to be in the room much. This was good clean value, with all other private rooms with bathroom in Melbourne that night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miss J
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review, great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and felt comfortable in our private rooms. Here at Space Hotel we pride ourselves on having a room type that suits all budgets, if you stay with us again we have Balcony and Executive rooms available that will offer you more space that... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely spotless clean (even the shared bathrooms were pretty decent). I was in a dorm room of 6 and there was a problem checking in (they accidentally had too many ppl in the room) but they were so efficient and friendly about quickly getting me into another room where there were only 2 of us. The location was a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank KTLondonNYSF
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the review and for acknowledging the cleanliness of the Hotel, we have a very hardworking housekeeping team here at Space Hotel who work round the clock, to ensure everything is kept clean and presentable for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay again soon. Kind Regards More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

Although it's prices are like a hostel, the comfort is like a hotel. Facilities are really clean either. The best hostel i've stayed in so far (i've travelled in Australia for over a month now). Only downer is the wifi, it's free in public spaces (you can choose to buy wifi to use it in your own room) but in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle8500
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review, we really do love to hear when our guests have enjoyed their time with us, great to hear that you felt we have been the best hostel you have stayed in so far. We will definitely take on board your comments and look into ways we could make the lobby area a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

308 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
6-Person Bunk Room (12)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Communal Bathrooms (4)
Viewed
Excutive Queen Room (20)
Viewed
Hot Tub (27)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#29 of 117 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#8 of 117 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#25 of 117 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $26 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Space Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay