We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Discovery Melbourne

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Discovery Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 349: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Friendly staff and decent facilities. Room smelt strongly of body odor but bed was comfy enough. Price was what you would expect for a hostel in Australia. Would be good to see some mosquito nets on the windows so that they can be left open to air out/cool down in summer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank darling_patrick
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments and will look into the mosquito nets. Many thanks Michael More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent place in a decent neighbourhood. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. Staff were friendly and the rooms are pretty good for their price. They have lockers in each room but bring your own locks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chw990
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Many thanks Michael More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff and easy online booking. That said, you get what you pay for in terms of room condition. Was allocated to a room with long term lodgers. Got a huge welcome from the smell of smokes upon opening the dorm door. Room was beyond messy and dirty with leftover food packages and dirty plates around the room. Having to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jkerr162
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. I apologise for the state of the room. We try to allocate long termers and regular back packers away form one another. We failed in your case, I am sorry! Many thanks Michael More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got kicked out of my room in the middle of the night because they double booked my room. I was not notified of this at the check in or during my stay. Then they moved me to a different room but it was fully booked as well! They did not even bother to check. Finally they moved me to a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evgeny G

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lady at the reception...the one with the nose ring is incredibly rude and racist. They treat black people here so badly with no respect. She would always sneer at me anytime she talked to me. That is if she served me at all. I felt so alone and depressed there that I had to check out early.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NrbFurnishedRentals
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a comment. I apologise if you felt that you were treated differently however this is the first time I have heard such a comment during my time here. We employ team members from different nationalities and we love the fact that people from all different parts of the world choose to stay here. Kind regards Michael More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are some backpackers in this hostel, but many of the guests are long-term, working in Melbourne and looking for cheap rent. This changes the atmosphere a great deal. But if you just need a comfy bed to sleep in at night, this is the perfect place! Free towels, amazing location and 24-hr reception.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 560anah
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Many thanks Michael More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jack? One of the guy who worked in reception desk was really kind and nice. Thank you for ur service and i was satisfied about every moment. If i have some chance to visit Melbourne again, i will try to go there

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yjjo111
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Many thanks Michael More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very cheap - linen, mattress and pillows surprisingly very comfortable and clean - helped for a good night's sleep. Food is average, but worth the price you pay – backpackers rates. I had to wait over an hour because my room took forever to be cleaned, which is never a good sign. Front desk customer service – super rude! No... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ashliefisher
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Rooms are always ready by 2pm which is check in time. We are a busy hostel so rooms are not always ready before 2pm. I am surprised that you thought the service was poor. I will share your comments with my team. Many thanks Michael More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

- : I stayed there for only one night and have cancelled the second after the moment i have seen my first room. It was a 6 ladies dorm: small, bad smelling, and the carpet on the floor was altough wet!!! So I changed the room, but the new one wasn't better: tiny, messy, really dirty, old and cold; The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ramona U
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. I am sorry that your stay was not up to standard. Might I suggest that next time you mention these things during your stay as opposed to the end, that way we may have been able to do something about it for you. Many thanks Michael More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Maybe next time I don't have another place can let me find the room,I will booking they ,but the room is bad reception service is great,toilet so good,i just wanna say I rating of this property is three star only ,I really sorry about this

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jack031023
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Many thanks Michael More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#8 of 117 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#89 of 117 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads Melbourne
Nomads Melbourne
#13 of 18 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#25 of 117 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#47 of 117 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#43 of 117 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $19 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay