We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

United Backpackers Melbourne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 338: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Great location in Melbourne! Near Town Hall station Also it's located in the area of free tram zone. The room was clean and staffs were very nice and friendly Definitely worth the price. However, you have to prepare your own towel.

Helpful?
Thank monpsn
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location is perfect. It's very central, within the free tram zone, and it's not difficult to find. There are many shops and restaurants just a few meters away. You have a bunch of choices for food no matter what your budget is. Rooms are big and clean for the most part. When I arrived there at night, the dorm room... More 

Helpful?
Thank moonlight_xing
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Many long-term stayers so if you're looking for a hostel to make friends, I wouldn't advise United Backpackers. Otherwise it's in a fantastic location, clean and friendly staff. I must mention in my room specifically there's many people on night shifts... meaning the room is dark all day due to people sleeping.

Helpful?
Thank johnsgwegwegwegewgew
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Right across from flinders train station it is very convenient located in the city but not what your looking for if you want quiet time. Rooms are clean and there are lockers in the room. I enjoyed my stay there and was happy to find a Peterpans located right inside the hostel.

Helpful?
Thank Taylor K
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel is right opposite Flinders (entrance to Platform 1) and is also near to most of the attractions around CBD (i.e. Parliament House, Fed Square and Victoria Market). It's a walking distance for me but the free tram zone is near to the hostel. Many good cafes are walking distance from the hostel - Manchester Press, Hardware Societe. Degraves... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edmund K
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Time as come to put my first 1 star review for this one ! Good point - Location Non-exhaustive lost of the bad points 1. No wifi. I stayed at the 3rd floor and belive it or not there is no Wi-Fi there. Yup no Wi-Fi on your room. 2. No soap in the shower. This kind of hostel should... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucas N
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi Lucas, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review.. I'm very sorry you had a terrible experience here at United. That is very uncommon over here so I want to delve a little deeper in to your experience and hopefully give you some rationale behind some of the issues you have raised: 1) No Wifi... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

United Backpackers is a solid choice in Melbourne. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - happily providing tips on their favorite places to go in the city. The private ensuite room was small but quiet and clean. Met some cool travelers in the kitchen and hostel bar. Internet was rather slow

Helpful?
Thank JustK65
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here Mon-Fri as the location was awesome and the reviews sounded good. The staff were super friendly and made us feel very welcome! Bedrooms were clean, bathrooms and showers were (relatively) clean too, so that's a bonus! The only let down was the kitchen area, sometimes it would get super messy and it could've done with more pigeon-holes for... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndrewShig
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thanks for the kind words and for leaving us a review! Really stoked you enjoyed your stay with us. The kitchen can be a tricky place when you have up to 200 people using it. We keep it monitored for the majority of the day, it is cleaned thoroughly twice a day, but we really rely on guests... More 

Maribyrnong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cannot fault this hostel at all. Ultra clean, plenty of space in the 12-bed dorm room. Well appointed communal kitchen with large storage for ambient and chilled food from the supermarket 2 minutes walk away. Check-in and out was a breeze. With luggage storage post-check out, I was able to catch a movie before my next transfer.

Helpful?
Thank 5284-Kim
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Wooooooooooooooooooooo. Awesome! Glad you had such a great time here. Makes us really happy to hear such good things. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks - United Crew More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect accomodation! The Prices are fair and you get a thoroughly organised free time activity program. Every day and night there is something going on. The kitchen is great and there's even a TV room for lazy, cozy evenings! Staff is very friendly and help you everywhere they can. All in all, worth a while to stay at!

Helpful?
Thank Elichschnabel
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Awesome! Thanks for the review! So glad you had an awesome stay with us. Hope we can see you again soon. Happy Travels! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
10 Share Dorm (12)
Viewed
4 Share Ensuite Dorm (19)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Private Queen Ensuite (21)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,485 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#7 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#19 of 115 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $23 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay