We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

United Backpackers Melbourne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 343: English reviews
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Most definitely the best, cleanest, friendliest hostel I have stayed in during my 2 year travelling experience! There are many places to chill, the tv room, chillax room, the huge (clean) kitchen area or the bar - which has a theme every night of the week which usually included free food and drink. The staff are very friendly and try... More 

Helpful?
Thank tommyjbooth
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 10 days with my girlfriend. - Perfect LOCATION!! Tram line and train right outside. Everything you want is within walking distance. - Great size KITCHEN area, good SHOWERS and great LOUNGE area with Netflix and whole choice of films and stuff! - Good BAR downstairs with good entertainment by the staff down there. - RECEPTION STAFF were good.. Especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hey David, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave the review. Awesome!!! So glad you had such a good stay here at United. I think I know who you're talking about in the review and I'll be sure to reward them! Hope that we can see you again soon. Much Love, United Crew More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a paying customer and previous staff member at this hostel, I can say that it's the cleanest, most spacious hostel I have stayed at during my year and a half in Australia. It's designed to accommodate lots of guests, so the kitchen area has lots of fridges, cupboard space and stove tops so that you don't have to wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank chelsealopes
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks!!!!!! Much appreciated leaving a great review! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel really has a great location. Just across the flinders train station and tram station, close to federation square and next to one of the famous lane in melb. Close to supermarket and mini market and easy to find food arou 2nd the hostel. The kitchen is really spacious and had alot of kitchen facilities. Big refrigefator and big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Muhammad K
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hey, Thanks so much for the great review!! Really glad you had an enjoyable stay here with us! Amazing location hey!! Spread the word. We look forward to seeing you again. Safe Travels UNited Crew More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You're paying hostel prices for hotel-like environments. Ridiculously clean, super modern, 24h staff, all the amenities you could possibly need, and a super cool bar downstairs that has themed nights and is an overall really pleasant place to hang out in. Special shoutout to Liam who was super friendly and helpful to me and my friend! :) Oh and LOCATION... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie M
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hey Kellie! Thanks so much for the review! So glad you had a great stay with us. Means a lot. I'll be make sure to give Liam his props! Hope to see you again Safe Travels United Crew More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2016

Great location in Melbourne! Near Town Hall station Also it's located in the area of free tram zone. The room was clean and staffs were very nice and friendly Definitely worth the price. However, you have to prepare your own towel.

Helpful?
1 Thank monpsn
United_Melbourne, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hey there, Thanks for the review! Really glad you had a great stay with us and got to enjoy our beautiful city. Hope that we can see you here again sometime soon. Cheers! More 

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

Location is perfect. It's very central, within the free tram zone, and it's not difficult to find. There are many shops and restaurants just a few meters away. You have a bunch of choices for food no matter what your budget is. Rooms are big and clean for the most part. When I arrived there at night, the dorm room... More 

Helpful?
Thank moonlight_xing
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hey thanks so much for the great review! So glad that you had a good stay here and would recommend it to your friends.. Yeh we do our best to manage the guys with their dishes, but like you said, everyones grown ups and they should was and dry their own dishes, we're a backpackers not a daycare ;) Anyway,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

Many long-term stayers so if you're looking for a hostel to make friends, I wouldn't advise United Backpackers. Otherwise it's in a fantastic location, clean and friendly staff. I must mention in my room specifically there's many people on night shifts... meaning the room is dark all day due to people sleeping.

Helpful?
Thank johnsgwegwegwegewgew
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry to hear you had trouble in your room regarding people sleeping. Unfortunately we can't control when people work and when they sleep but if you came down to reception we could have swapped your room so you wouldn't have that. Anyway, hope you enjoyed our city and are having... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

Right across from flinders train station it is very convenient located in the city but not what your looking for if you want quiet time. Rooms are clean and there are lockers in the room. I enjoyed my stay there and was happy to find a Peterpans located right inside the hostel.

Helpful?
Thank Taylor K
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks heaps for the review!!! Really hope we can see you here again soon. Safe travels United Crew More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

The hostel is right opposite Flinders (entrance to Platform 1) and is also near to most of the attractions around CBD (i.e. Parliament House, Fed Square and Victoria Market). It's a walking distance for me but the free tram zone is near to the hostel. Many good cafes are walking distance from the hostel - Manchester Press, Hardware Societe. Degraves... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edmund K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
10 Share Dorm (12)
Viewed
4 Share Ensuite Dorm (19)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Private Queen Ensuite (21)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,628 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $27 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay