We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads All Nations Hostel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nomads All Nations Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hostel had an excellent atmosphere and great location. It's right in the city center and near free trams to everything everywhere you'll want to go. The staff was very friendly. Will definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank geoffreywest25
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel was decently clean and the staff was extremely polite and helpful. I stayed in a 12 person dorm room and had no problems with the service. They served free pancakes in the morning if you were up early enough. Also in a very good location and the price is right around what you would expect for a central... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelingTexan93
paphos gardens
Level Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only spent one night here between flights however I wasn't really impressed. I was in a room of 6 or 8 and a few were couples all sharing beds. Staff weren't great however Chris that worked in the travel office was more than amazing helping me plan my adventures. Hats off to him. I found the girl very patronising trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank kirstymac
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in All Nations for over a week and were very happy with the hostel. We were in a private room so I can't speak to the conditions of a dorm, but the room was well appointed and clean. We first stayed on the 2nd floor, which was nice and quiet, with free wifi right outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Quaffley
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your email. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all the freebies we have on offer. You are right we are super close to everything. Would love to see you here again. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a 10 bed dorm here, was a big room with plenty of space for everyone's stuff. Had a massive unisex bathroom across the hall from my room which was always clean when I went in. Kitchen is slightly small for the size of the hostel. Loud at night but not so bad you can't sleep. Great location... More 

Helpful?
Thank NLouise19
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our large dorm rooms. We have plenty of bathrooms you are right! Yes the only downside to being in the city centre is slight noise but we do make up for it. Would be great to see you back here again. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

I am really satisfied with my travel agent STA who arranged my trip in Melbourne and also in The great ocean road trip. The package cost is really decent and affordable as well. The feedback to the customers was really excellent.

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com

Helpful?
Thank arhan_dewan
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I think you might mean our Mad Travel Shop agent. We get really great discount on our Great Ocean Road trips, I am really glad to hear you enjoyed that. Please come see us to score some more mad travel deals :) More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

I stayed here when I first arrived in Melbourne whilst looking for something permanent. Sure, the century old building is in need of attention but it's a beautiful building with lots of the original features which I feel add character to the place. I always found the staff to be friendly and helpful! Location is excellent and the bar downstairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank LittleMissMelbs
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is really great to see people enjoy our hostel the way you have described, we really love this old building too. We like to think of ourselves as cool over classy. Ubar our onsite bar is exactly where it is at, if you are still hanging around Melbourne you must come check out the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

Figured this was a cheap and cheerfull option but unfortunately it was only the first. The staff seemed lovely and welcoming but the building itself was a bit run down. If you want somewhere to relax a night or to before continuing travelling this is not the place. To start its dirty. Honestly not to fussy a guy but when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Drew G
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sad to hear you didn't have the best time during your stay. Our building is a heritage building and is very old, because of this it is hard for us to make major changes to it. In saying that we are updating rooms. We have plenty of character in this building. Glad you enjoyed all... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Nomads was a cheap option for a 4 bed room. The room was clean and pretty quiet (3rd floor). I would say though this place is definitely made for long term travellers and not really people just cruising throw for a day or two. Pretty good backpackers though!

Helpful?
Thank AndrewDNZ
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. During Winter we do get a lot of longtermers but we like to keep them separate from travelers that are only staying a couple of nights. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay though. Would love to see you here again. More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016

Lived here a couple of years ago for two months whilst I was backpacking across Australia. The vibe here is really something else. The staff are really helpful and friendly and the rooms are always clean and tidy. A very rustic feel to the place. Big kitchen and huge dining/chill out hall and a TV room with plenty of sofas.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeCrusher
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything during your stay with us. Really great to see other people loving our hostel us much as we do. You got to come back and see us soon. We have made a lot of changes. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#34 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#84 of 113 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#47 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Nomads Melbourne
Nomads Melbourne
#13 of 18 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#13 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#29 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Nomads All Nations Hostel

Address: 2 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $18 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads All Nations Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nomads All Nations Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay