We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nomads All Nations Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nomads All Nations Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 193: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads All Nations Hostel
 Click to rate
Risskov, Arhus, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my best friend have now travelled through most of Australia and New Zealand, staying only in hostels. This was by far our worst experience.. We've stayed in Nomads and Base a number of times, but this place is just horrendous. Upon check in, we were presented with an unfinished filthy dorm room. We were "upgraded" to a smaller...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MathildePoulsen
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are advertised as a basic hostel and appreciate we do not have flashpacker status like some of our other hostels. We understand that your experience wasn't a pleasant one which is why we were happy to refund you fully. Since your stay in December we have escalated the treatments to help resolve...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely friendly employers! They always help you gladly. Good and clean rooms with space!(comfortable matrace as well) Bathroom is also always clean and you never have to wait for shower, because there are many options in this hostel! It is on a perfect central place where you can take the tram to everywhere! But it is close to a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lu S
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review!! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words and feedback! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels :)

Ingolstadt, Germany
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

All Nations is the place to stay in Melbourne if you want to have a great time. Located right in the CBD with amazing staff and management. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and there's a lot of free food in the kitchen such as pancakes or pasta. Their bar next door is fun with cheap drinks and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liastreiter
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Lia, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the free food. We're happy to know you enjoyed the legendary Ubar too! I hope you made many friends and memories in your time with us! Take care and enjoy the rest of your travels - Love...

Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

It's a hostel with mostly young travellers staying there. Atmosphere is great and the staff really helpful. Bathrooms could be a bit cleaner but they weren't nasty or anything like that. Free pancakes in the mornings were a big plus for me!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VilleFinn
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Cleanliness is important and we are working hard to make sure standards are kept high. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our delicious pancakes! Enjoy the rest of you travels :)

sussex
Reviewed December 27, 2016

Lovely hostel, the staff were all really interesting to talk to and went out of their way to help us and make us comfortable. They moved our rooms, let us check in early and even upgraded us because I wasn't having a very good day! All round fantastic people - particularly Julian, Gijs, Benny and a lovely lady whose name...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellen m
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Glad to hear this review about our wonderful staff.l Really glad you were look after. We really hope to see you here again soon.

Reviewed December 18, 2016

My 2 friends and I stayed here for 5 nights during our visit to Melbourne in November. We got confused and queued up in the travel agency downstairs but then soon realized we had gone through the wrong entrance. All good though, the girl in the shop happily showed us to the reception area. We had to go up a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michel J
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Michael, thank you for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you come to party with us again soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels. Wishing you a very Happy New Year too! :)

Chur, Switzerland
Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

We were in a 4dorm and we had every night 2-4 mouses in our room (we took all our food downstairs in the kitchen and they still there...) I'm not scared of them, its just discusting..! The atmosphere is also "not comfy"...there is no other room to hangout than by the tables of the kitchen....and its not cleaned do well......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bily2
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking time to review our hostel. We understand that mice isn't acceptable. We are working very closely with pest control to make sure it doesn't happen again. We are also taking strict 'no food in rooms' policy as well to get quicker results. Our kitchen is cleaned throughout the day however it can be difficult to...

United Kingdom
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

It is not quite bad if you are a backpacker . Overall is quite good. If I have a chance, I will visit there again. The staff are friendly, but sometimes it is a bit chaotic there. I still like it. One thing that should be improve is the Internet connection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATKParkerville
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! Glad to hear you enjoyed everything and will back here soon! Our staff are awesome. With 300 beds and check ins of the same ratio it can sometimes get crazy, but staff embrace the madness. Would love to see you back here soon!

Reviewed November 16, 2016

It's my second visit in Melbourne. In the CBD! everything is so close! The building is old, but so characteristic. Like my roommates, they where really nice! Love the free pancakes in the morning. Went every night to the Ubar! where they have special prices if you stay in this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It is just wonderful to hear such great things about this truly legendary hostel. Glad to hear you enjoyed all the freebies we have to offer. Our onsite bar is not to be missed. Hope to see you here again soon!

Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

This is the filthiest hostel I have ever stayed in. It's dirty, my room when I arrived had hair all over the floor and toe nails, bits of food and the room had only been moved into that day. Mice were running around the place and because the doors do not go all the way down to the floor and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jade R
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your email. I am very saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your stay considering you stayed over a week with us. Mice is a major issue Melbourne has and we are getting on top of it, slowly but surely. Also being set in the middle of the city you are always going to have some outside noise....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#99 of 125 in Melbourne
141 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#21 of 125 in Melbourne
389 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 125 in Melbourne
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#96 of 125 in Melbourne
456 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#50 of 125 in Melbourne
111 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 125 in Melbourne
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Nomads All Nations Hostel

Address: 2 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $23 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads All Nations Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Nomads All Nations Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Nomads All Nations Hostel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads All Nations Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a higher up room”
 of 5 bubbles 522michelj, Dec 18, 2016 | Read review
“First floor as there are a LOT of stairs, the lift is broken.”
 of 5 bubbles Edward1000, Jan 22, 2016 | Read review
“get a room away from the tracks”
 of 5 bubbles natef436, Dec 21, 2015 | Read review
“The one opposite reception has massive stain marks on carpet.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexP2256, Dec 13, 2015 | Read review
“Not a ten bed dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles UK_TravellingTrebor, Dec 8, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question