We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melbourne Metro YHA

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Melbourne Metro YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff were way too relaxed as there were school students there running wild, access to the elevator was declined which is ridiculous when you have a 20+ kg bag! Other than that it was convenient and worth the price and within walking distance to the city. The Barista however clearly had 0 training as he did not know the... More 

Helpful?
Thank fauxreal
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. Basic dorm room but with clean sheets and room. A bit of a tram ride to CBD area and attractions but the vic market is closeby. There are good restaurants and pubs closeby. The staff is welcoming and kitchen is big enough but not clean always. The hall for dining is big and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tejas P
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

I stayed at Melbourne Metro YHA for a few nights while visiting Melbourne and had a great time there. The staff were warm and friendly, helping me with any questions I had. They also helped book a trip to Phillip Island to watch the adorable penguin parade. (highly recommend!) The facilities were clean, comfortable beds and they have a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmp2711
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for a school camp. We were greeted by a very rude staff member that insinuated that we filthy kids as she disallowed the use of our own pillows as she "didn't know where they have been". Pillows were kept outside in a 'water proof' cage. The rooms were smaller that gaol cells with minimal floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matilda T

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

I'm a Victorian & to have to say that the worst hostel I've ever stayed at was in my beloved Melbourne, is horrible. Staff were the rudiest & most unhelpful while I was there. I had an American friend stay here the week before I did & I couldn't understand why she said she "hated Melbourne" until I got to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bennine M
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

We're sorry you had some concerns when you stayed with us. We did try to address them at the time and we're sorry that you weren't satisfied with the outcome. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights some staff where nice and others where rude. Very unlike yha hostels. I was in a 8 bed dorm and it was more like a prison cell, small and cramped with small lockers. It was clean and had a good size kitchen.

Helpful?
1 Thank Conor M
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you did not have as good of a stay as possible with us. Having friendly, helpful staff is really important to us, and we've passed on your review to management as part of our continual improvement program. More 

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

Got quite loud at night. Rooms were clean, as we're the bathrooms and showers. The staff were reasonably nice. Wi-Fi was crap and not much of an atmosphere. As a solo traveller I like to be able to meet new people and chat but there wasn't really the opportunity for that here. Also not a great location

Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer M
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here just for a night and decided to check out the very next day. Was very noisy although we booked a private en suit double room. We were given the room on the ground floor. Free internet is not available in the rooms but is available at reception area. Receptionist were just a bunch of rude arrogant people

Helpful?
1 Thank SanjayRaphael
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you did not have as good of a stay as possible with us. An enjoyable stay and friendly, helpful staff are really important to us. We've passed on your review to management as part of our continual improvement program. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

I rate the service of this hostel as tops Service with a smile and the staff are approach- able and helpful I particularly single out Maria/e at the reception She has a great personality for customer service She remembered me from my previous visit and that is great for repeating customers like myself as they feel welcomed She was also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet C
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a week. We did not enjoy our stay - and it is by far the poorest hostel we've stayed in during our three months in ANZ. The hostel is very expensive. The rooms are too tight. Bathrooms and kitchen are not properbly clean... The kitchen is very small and there is not enough... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rejsemus2
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you did not have as good of a stay as possible with us. Cleanliness, quality facilities and friendly staff are really important to us and we've passed on your review to management as part of our continual improvement program. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#35 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#12 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#67 of 113 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#29 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#49 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#25 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Melbourne Metro YHA is a modern hostel located on the city fringe in leafy North Melbourne. This hostel is your relaxed home away from home that's only minutes from famous Queen Victoria Markets and walking distance to all the major attractions - the best of both worlds! Facilities include a tour desk for all your tour and transport needs within Victoria and Australia, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus option also available), fully equipped self-catering kitchen, communal lounge areas, launderette, secure car parking (subject to availability - $10 per day) and DVD's for hire. Enjoy the rooftop with panoramic city views as well as a BBQ and lounges perfect for socializing and meeting fellow travellers. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Bathroom facilities are shared. Guests can choose from a range of bed types, including 4 and 8 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional en suite, and family rooms. We can also book groups of up to 120 people, ideal for schools, sporting groups and international exchange programs. Within the hostel there are always lots of great activities on including movie nights, Safari Pete travel auctions, free comedy, wine & cheese nights and a great weekly pub crawl! Activities are updated regularly so check with our friendly reception to see what's on and to get the best local tour and travel advice. Talking about what's on, Melbourne is the events and sporting capital of Australia! Getting around is simple with a free map and MyKi cards available for purchase at the hostel reception. A tram stop is located just 500m from the hostel and the $5 Melbourne Visitor Shuttle Bus stop is only 5 minutes walk which loops Melbourne's best attractions. Take advantage of the cities vibrant events calendar including the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Open Tennis, AFL matches, Melbourne International comedy festival, Melbourne Fringe Festival, Melbourne Festival, Melbourne Cup and year round markets, live music, film, food, art and fashion activities and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melbourne Metro YHA

Address: 78 Howard St, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Price Range: $22 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Metro YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Melbourne Metro YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metro Yha Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay