We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Causeway

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Causeway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Causeway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 325: English reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2016

We stayed here on new year, 2016. Fantastic location, in the heart of the city. Lots of places to eat. Small room and rude staff, she didn't even gave us complete information what we wanted. Bad elevator. very basic breakfast with cereals, breads and juice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vandana M
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Vandana M, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay over New Year 2016. While it is pleasing that you enjoyed our central location within the Melbourne CBD, it is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. I have used your feedback to highlight with the staff the impact that...

Reviewed August 7, 2016

The reason to choose this hotel will be because of it's location to the shopping district. If you want to walk to all the places of interest within the CBD - not just shopping - but so many other attractions and restaurants, this small hotel will suit. Be aware that there are 3 hotels in this chain, all with similar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie C
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Annie C, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed a clean, quiet and practical stay while taking advantage of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. Please rest assured that you constructive feedback has been taken on...

Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

This hotel needs some serious refurbishment. Carpets, walls, upholstery all stained. The staff are great, friendly and courteous. Cleaning staff do a good job in a difficult situation. Droning of lift goes on throughout he night at weekends. It could be lovely!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo C
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Jo C, Thank you for sharing a review on your recent stay with us. While it is pleasing to hear of the exceptional service provided by staff, it is disappointing that we were unable to meet your expectations in all areas on this occasion. Please rest assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously by management and shared...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Pros: Fantastic location right in the heart of the CBD, Friendly staff....Unfortunately that's were it ends. Cons: Elevator door closes on you and there is a 6inch gap between floor and lift so you fall in and out of it, "continental breakfast" exists of toast, packet ham, plastic cheese, budget orange juice. (This was by far the worst breakfast I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kat09kitty
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Kat09Kitty, Thank you for taking the time to share such candid feedback on your recent stay with us. While it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our central location and friendly staff, it is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. Your feedback has been taken very seriously by management and issues that...

Sydney
Reviewed August 5, 2016

We were quite excited about the location on little Collins, right near the restaurants and venues we planned to enjoy and at almost $200 a night we thought we knew what to expect - more than likely if your reading this you know we get around and like to have a good time in all shapes and price models :-)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrishandJose
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear TrishandJose, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed and candid review of your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and hardworking staff, it is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. Please rest assured that your feedback has been discussed...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed July 14, 2016

We chose this Hotel due to the location and price but were very surprised at the cleanliness and comfort . All the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Check in and out was very quick and the rooms were extremely comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny B
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Penny B, Thank you for staying with us and sharing a review. I am thrilled to hear that our hotel delivered on location and price, then exceeded your expectations for cleanliness and comfort! I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the staff who will no doubt be very proud to receive recognition for all their...

Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

First impressions is .. ok cute .. the staff was extremely friendly and very welcoming ( Daniel was very helpful and informative with our questions with whats around as its our first stay in Melbourne) arrived on the 5th floor and it was mehh carpet pretty average condition but very tidy and when we arrived at our room.... pure bliss...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Adrian H, Thank you for staying with us and sharing such a pleasant review. I am delighted to hear that you found your room to be “pure bliss” with it’s spacious layout and comfortable bed. I will be sure to forward your kind words on to the staff member mentioned. All our staff work extremely hard and are always...

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Reviewed June 27, 2016

the hotel was central to Melbourne shopping and eating district.The hotel was easy to find and a great place to shop from. The room was comfortable and clean .It boasted a large round spa with windows to the lane way . The shower above the spa provided hot water and decent spray. The bath room seemed small but the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eclectic E
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Eclectic E, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, clean and took advantage of the spa bath! I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, and will be sure to pass your compliments on to the staff....

Munster Western
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

Sagar from the restaurant so friendly, breakfast was continental and plenty there. Coffee machine 24/7. Front desk staff alway happy and helpful. We had a twin room, beds small but room clean and lovely linen. Large TV and the curtains are block out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Alison L, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, making use of the large TV and blackout curtains. It is also pleasing to hear that you experienced such great service. I will be sure to pass your kind words on...

Sydney
Reviewed June 22, 2016

The hotel is in a pretty good location and generally facilities are OK. The majority of the service though is poor. The not fulfilling items that are listed on their website and no response to other items and follow up just means that its a transaction and your a number. An example is the free wifi is only for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tucks111
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Tucks111, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share a review. While I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and fantastic location, I am disappointed as it seems you did not enjoy the level of service that we pride ourselves upon. Each and every guest is much more than a number to us...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
1,017 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#99 of 158 in Melbourne
583 reviews
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#113 of 158 in Melbourne
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $98 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Causeway staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 months ago
Launceston, Australia
over a year ago
Canberra
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Causeway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Street side rooms are noisy as there is no double glazing.”
 of 5 bubbles lecoqdnord, Jan 24, 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel if you want a clean room.”
  • dirty blanket
  • dirty floor
  • broken/dirty floor
  • run-down furniture
 of 5 bubbles Alician_11, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from lifts and if a staff member requests a cash deposit, say no.”
 of 5 bubbles 206elliem, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“Try higher floors due to slight evening noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 693pennyb, Jul 14, 2016 | Read review
“If your have a disability then ask for a room with easy access- no steps and shower access.Get a room central to hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles eclectice2015, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question