We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Causeway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Causeway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 312: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
237 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location is perfect but has jumped the shark comfort wise. Dirty tile grouting, mdf doors worn and water logged. A bit grey and bland. Breakfast a bit mean. Felt a bit like a back packer for what was supposed to be a nice couples weekend. Definitely NOT a romantic venue. Great for solo business stay.

Helpful?
Thank astropig
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Astropig, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer it is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. Please rest assured that your constructive feedback... More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location for shoppers,plenty of resturants nearby.Rooms quite big chair and table provided,bed comfortable,clean and tidy. Could do with new carpet and a paint,but other than that very good .Will stay again

Helpful?
Thank 03011961
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear 03011961, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, clean and spacious as you made the most of our fantastic location in relation to many of Melbourne’s best shops and restaurants. Please rest assured that your constructive feedback... More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I joined my husband on a business trip to Melbourne and we do stay in hotels around the world frequently. Usually i don't take the time to write a review, unless it's so disappointing that you really want to prevent other travelers to do the same "mistake" or to rave about a great find, in this case it was unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alician_11
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Alician_11, Thank you for taking the time to share such candid feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing that we were not able to reach your expectations in all areas on this occasion. Your feedback is very important to us and has been taken very seriously and discussed at all levels of hotel management and highlighted... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

My first stay and won't be my last. Located within deco building however interior is modern. I got free upgrade to execute spa room and it was very roomy Very quiet location and in heart of Melbourne with shops cafe restaurants and business centre Two minute walk to tram

Helpful?
Thank AngelIoannou
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Angelloannou, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. I am delighted that you found your stay to be so pleasant and quiet as you took advantage of our convenient location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. It is great to hear that you plan on returning and I speak... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

I have 3 simple things that I feel all hotels should have, regardless of price / star rating 1) a correctly set clock 2) constant shower pressure and temperature 3) a noiseless fridge Hotel causeway passed the first and failed miserably on the final two. This is a cheap basic hotel. Crappy old fittings, stained carpet, no free wifi, dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank James H
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear James H, Thank you for taking the time to share such candid feedback on your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that we were not able to reach your expectations in all areas on this occasion. Please rest assured that the instances you have described do not reflect the standard that we strive to deliver for... More 

Tamworth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2016

We loved the accommodation at Hotel Causeway! The room was large and clean and comfortable. The location was perfect with everything we wanted in close proximity to the Hotel or a tram ride away. Highly recommend Hotel Causeway!

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank J175MRjohnb
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear J157MRjohnb, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share such a pleasant review. I am delighted to hear that you found the room to be spacious, clean and comfortable as you took advantage of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming... More 

Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2016

Unfortunately the rooms were old and very much in need of renovation (old carpet, swelling from moisture on bathroom door, noisy lifts), the pictures certainly didn't match the room we got. We could have put this aside except then we had a very bad experience with staff! A cash deposit was asked for on check it and given and then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
Causeway-Melbourne, Front Office Manager at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Ellie M, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While your constructive feedback has been taken on board I would like to take this opportunity to address the allegations you have made surrounding your security bond. I was extremely concerned to hear of your claims and these have been thoroughly investigated by myself and our general... More 

Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2016

The location of Hotel Causeway could not be beaten. So central to all the shopping arcades, restaurants, and entertainment. All witching easy walking distance. Positioned up a very quiet lane way, and we were on the 5th floor away from the elevator and could not hear any street noise or hotel noise. The breakfast was included in the price, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jodiejarvis
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Jodiejarvis, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share a review. It is fantastic that you were able to enjoy a comfortable, clean and quiet stay while you explored the nearby restaurants and shops. It is also pleasing that you made the most of the continental buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Hands down the best thing about Hotel Causeway is the location - close to Bourke Street Mall and Flinders Street but tucked away enough to avoid most of the noise and congestion. It's also close to a variety of useful tram stops for visitors and easy to get to and from the airport via Skybus from Southern Cross Station. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank garneresque
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Garneresque, Thank you for staying with us once again and sharing such a thorough review. I am delighted to hear that you found the room to be well appointed and suitable for your needs while you took advantage of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. It is also great to hear that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#80 of 157 in Melbourne
967 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
557 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#117 of 157 in Melbourne
26 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#103 of 157 in Melbourne
1,099 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $98 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Causeway staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Launceston, Australia
over a year ago
Canberra
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Causeway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose another hotel if you want a clean room.”
  • dirty floor
  • run-down furniture
  • broken/dirty floor
  • dirty blanket
 of 5 bubbles Alician_11, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room away from lifts and if a staff member requests a cash deposit, say no.”
 of 5 bubbles 206elliem, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“Try higher floors due to slight evening noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 693pennyb, Jul 14, 2016 | Read review
“If your have a disability then ask for a room with easy access- no steps and shower access.Get a room central to hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles eclectice2015, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Little Collins st suffer noise from rowdy street music and people”
 of 5 bubbles coley17nz, Jun 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay