We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

good loacation, summary of all hotel features between average to good but closer to good; nice and helpful staff. breafast good; bar view and Service nice. Can´t judge Restaurant as not used. Very helpful front desk people

Helpful?
Thank simon A
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We attended a function so decided to stay - the hotels earlier function ran overtime so the room was a little disorganised but once in the swing of things the staff caught up and the function - a football vote count went off okay Our room was clean , modern and overlooked the park with skyline backdrop - a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stemicmellac
Molong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at Rydges for work it was a great location in walking distance to the city, the staff were friendly and the room was comfortable. As a member of the Ridges loyalty program I also received a discount at the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank generalcorrespon2016
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear generalcorrespon2016, Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are delighted to see that you had a fantastic time here and found everything to your liking. It's great to see that you made it to our restaurant, Blues Bar & Grill as well and enjoyed all the perks of your membership. We look forward to welcoming you again soon,... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Here with husband on business first room we were kept awake by the service elevator, second room not much better. The sign on the hotel wall outside said it was 41/2 stars hotel disappointing and bathroom could do with a clean. Breakfasr was a disaster no-one to replenish the food so we had to wait the frying pans the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our 2NT stay at this hotel. Two girls at reception deck were very nice, polite, helpful and highly professional. We admired their uniform with an unusual roses on their necks. The room was nice and cleaned. We were amazed with the hotel's invisible army of cleaners. One morning we left our room just for a little while to... More 

Helpful?
Thank B3998TUhelenk
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear B3998TUhelenk, Thank you for posting such a rave review regarding your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to see that you had a wonderful time and found everything to your liking. Your kind words about our staff were greatly appreciated and have been shared with the team! You are right, our pool isn't heated however the Pool Deck is... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here while attending a workshop at the university's Woodward Conference Centre, which is just 5 minutes walk away. The rooms are OK although the bathroom is very small. The restaurant menu is nothing special and it is not open all day.

Helpful?
Thank Helen A
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were prepared to pay a bit extra for our first night off the airliner but were disappointed. We ordered meals through room service, looking forward to something good. After 40 minutes the meals were delivered almost stone cold.

Helpful?
Thank Russell Y
Sydney
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we stepped into the foyer we knew something was not quite right. The photo above, obviously provided by Ridges, is misleading. No doorman to greet us, that's OK it sometimes happens. The check in assistant did not even make eye contact with us! She typed the entire time. She looked tired and acted impersonally and provided minimal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
Newcomb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel during a really stressful time when our grandson was very ill in the Royal Children's Hospital. We stayed there to reduce our traveling time and thus our stress, however the hotel proved to provide stress in its self! 1. Don't even think of putting your room card anywhere near your mobile phone as it will... More 

Helpful?
Thank garyhZ8250MV
Melbourne
Level Contributor
209 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here recently and must say I was very disappointed with the hotel. Rydges membership privileges not given (I should not need to ask for them on presentation of my card). Room, unable to access my room initially so returned to the front desk three times before being given another room. Room, small but OK while the rooms have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vic_Traveller_8
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#81 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#78 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#77 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Blue's Bar & Grill
Blue's Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Australian, Bar, Grill
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges on Swanston having undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment both externally and internally has well and truly positioned itself as a hotel of choice within Melbourne. Blues Bar & Grill has a contemporary feel offering the very best food, service and presentation. The funky bar lounge and great outdoor terrace is very popular. Close to the airport and a short tram into the heart of Melbourne's CBD, makes us a great location for any traveler. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Address: 701 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $109 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges on Swanston Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rydges on Swanston Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges On Swanston Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges On Swanston Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges On Swanston
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#88 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay