We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (871)
Panoramas (62)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Melbourne
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#10 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Travelers' Choice
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. The award-winning property on Collins Street in Melbourne is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms all featuring a plush Heavenly Bed, serene Wellness Centre with lap pool, spa, sauna, steam room, 24-hour WestinWORKOUT Fitness Studio, the chic Lobby Lounge and sophisticated Allegro Restaurant, The Westin Melbourne is the perfect destination for business and leisure travellers alike.
Read more
Room & Suite (703)703
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Paid public parking nearby
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Electric kettle
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2,763Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,851
  • 635
  • 165
  • 62
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KCQubed wrote a review Nov 2020
Singapore, Singapore275 contributions55 helpful votes
I was in Melbourne for a three day meeting a few days before all international flights we cancelled due to COVID-19, I ended up staying at the hotel for 231 days being separated all this time, and still, from my family who were living overseas. Melbourne, Victoria suffered not just one but two extremely restrictive lockdowns where one could only leave your abode for no more than one hour per day and you could not venture past more than 5kms from your residence. Although, by law, the hotel was unable to provide room service or food from their restaurant, the Westin team made sure that I knew where the best restaurants with a takeaway menu were. When the gym closed the Westin Team provided me with a Spin Bike so I was able to exercise in the comfort of my own room. Even though I was one of the only guests in the hotel, the service provided by the Westin Team was first class. I was provided with all the amenities and services to make my my stay as comfortable as possible. On my birthday and Father’s Day I was surprised with bottle of champagne and a wonderful cheese platter, which was highly unexpected and although separated from my family did make both days very special. Throughout my stay all of the Westin Team were not only extremely professional but also genuinely friendly. As I was still working whilst stranded in Melbourne and required the extra office area the Westin Team upgraded me to their Regency Suite which really helped my keep my sanity as I was able to separate my work and living experiences that provided me with a level of normality which would not have been possible in a normal suite. The Westin Team also provided me with a quality coffee machine, access to a microwave and blender. They also provided all of the necessary cables and power extension cords so that I could integrate my computer to their entertainment system and add several extra monitors to enable me to work productively from the study are of the suite. The Westin Team, on several occasions, organized emergency courier services, took copious amount of deliveries, access to their loading bay and basically provided me with any service they could reasonably undertake, even offering to was my bike, that I purchased for outside fitness. When it came obvious that travel between the different Australian states was becoming possible, I mentioned to the Westin Team that I was thinking of moving up to my home town, Brisbane, until international travel became less restrictive. The Westin Team reached out to their sister hotels in Brisbane, the W Brisbane and the Westin Brisbane and explained the situation I was in and together the they were able to offer an extremely generous rate that nearly matched what I the Westin Melbourne was offering me. I can honestly say in all my years of travel, over thirty, have I ever felt so welcome and treated as such an honoured guest than by the Team at the Westin Melbourne, and because of their selfless efforts to make me feel welcome made a very intangible situation less stressful. Prior to this trip I had stayed at the Westin Melbourne several times, no longer than ten days, and I should also point out that the Westin Team, during these stays, also showed the level of dedication that they portrayed during the Melbourne COVID-19 lockdown.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: High corner suite or South, North or West facing room
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Dr KCQubed, Thank you very much for taking your time to share this detailed positive review. The last few months were definitely unique and challenging for all of us, we are sorry you were away from your family and stuck in Melbourne during this difficult time. It is also a shame we were unable to share most of our services and facilities with you. After this long period is an immense pleasure to read your kind words. We all had limitations but we tried and accommodate you with the best we could offer. Please know we did this with pleasure. You were one of a very few guests in house and know that for us you were also part of the family. You understood our limitations and helped us to work past our difficulties, we learned a lot together and together we made the best of the situation we were on. Again, on behalf of the Westin Melbourne team, Thank You. You are always welcome back and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
Read more
vivchater wrote a review Jul 2020
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions3 helpful votes
It was unfortunate due to COVID-19, most of the city was shutdown. Also, the hotel only had the lobby lounge open. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to make us feel comfortable, safe and welcome.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Dear vivchater, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you appreciated our personable and instinctive service, and that you felt welcome, safe and secure. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Read more
aussiedez wrote a review Jun 2020
Sydney, Australia2 contributions4 helpful votes
The usual great room with good outlook. The usual atmosphere gone into hibernation. The service, what was arms safe, friendly. Only drawback was the air con was in hibernation. This is Melbourne in June! It was so cold in the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from WestinMelbourne, Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Jun 18, 2020
Dear Aussiedez, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are certainly well known for our larger sized hotel rooms and accompanying bathrooms. We are pleased you appreciate the signature Westin experience that keeps our guest coming back for a revitalizing and uplifting stay. It is also a pleasure to read that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. We are sorry to hear the room temperature was not up to your standers and are curious to know if our staff was advised and if we took the measures to insure your comfort. If this happens again, please let us know and we can remediated this situation. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Read more
Edward wrote a review May 2020
Chicago, Illinois17 contributions72 helpful votes
It was a very disappointing experience. Staff lack hospitality and they offered no upgrade for Titanium members. Rooms are outdated and there was noisy construction outside which would wake you up 7 in the morning. Very poor value for your money. Stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
4 Helpful votes
Response from WestinMelbourne, Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded May 21, 2020
Dear Mr Edward wken0023 We appreciate your time taken to share your feedback. We are doing everything we can to ensure our guests are not adversely affected by Melbourne Metro Rail construction noise, we are sorry to hear your stay was disrupted. We sincerely regret any disappointment you experienced regarding the outlook of your room. We do value your loyalty and rest assure we do all we can to upgrade our top ties guests, this is unfortunately not always possible. We apologise sincerely for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further and invite you to contact our Manager on Duty by phoning the hotel directly on 03 9635 2222. We hope to hear from you soon. Be well.
Read more
RC30319 wrote a review Mar 2020
Atlanta, Georgia1,163 contributions375 helpful votes
This review will not be typical as we were staying here when the city decided to begin implementing lock down procedures for the CoVid 19 virus. Obviously the hotel was caught in the cross hairs and had to get very creative in what they did and how they handled guests. Our flight out wasn't for 3 days yet and basically we were stuck. While frankly there was inconvenience (it couldn't be avoided) this hotel went over and above to make sure our needs were meet. If their efforts to help us are a reflection of their normal service operation, they would have to be the top hotel in Melbourne. We can't say enough good things for the staff who were working in very difficult situations to say the least. We hope to return here one day to have a "normal" experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Response from WestinMelbourne, Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Mar 31, 2020
Dear RC30319, Thank you for taking your time and proving this positive review. We are sorry to hear your trip didn't go as planed, the current situation is not easy but we are happy to hear our team was able to help. It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated how we dealt with the situation, thank you. We hope to see you soon for a proper stay. Be well.
Read more
$150 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the westin melbourne hotel melbourne, westin melbourne, melbourne westin
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Melbourne
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Melbourne?
Nearby attractions include Melbourne Urban Adventures (0.2 miles), Drinking History Tours (0.3 miles), and Bartronica (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Melbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Melbourne?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Melbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Melbourne?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Melbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Da Guido 365, 11 Inch Pizza, and Harley House Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Melbourne?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Westin Melbourne have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Westin Melbourne offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Westin Melbourne located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Melbourne.
Does The Westin Melbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Melbourne?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (0.6 miles), St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.6 miles), and Rippon Lea Estate (4.7 miles).