We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
205 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Westin.com$254
Booking.com$254
Priceline$254
Travelocity$255
Hotels.com$255
Orbitz.com$255
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (875)
360
Panoramas (62)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 05/15/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Melbourne
Updated 05/15/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 170 in Melbourne
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. The award-winning property on Collins Street in Melbourne is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms all featuring a plush Heavenly Bed, serene Wellness Centre with lap pool, spa, sauna, steam room, 24-hour WestinWORKOUT Fitness Studio, the chic Lobby Lounge and sophisticated Allegro Restaurant, The Westin Melbourne is the perfect destination for business and leisure travellers alike.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2791Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,865
  • 642
  • 166
  • 62
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BelleCose wrote a review May 1
Sydney, Australia66 contributions72 helpful votes
Well located hotel in central Melbourne. Staff were pleasant and check in / check out was easy. Room was quite spacious, and the bathroom was large. Breakfast room service was very slow but everyone is challenged with staff so patience required. Rooms are dated, so don't expect overly modern, however clean and tidy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear BelleCose, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay. We are well known for our larger sized hotel rooms and central location and delighted to hear we met your expectations in many areas. We really appreciate your understanding, patience and kind words regarding your In Room Dining breakfast and apologise for the delivery delay. We will share your comments with our team and hope to welcome you back in the near future for a renewing and uplifting Westin experience. Be well.
Read more
Sue H wrote a review Apr 2022
Melbourne, Australia46 contributions33 helpful votes
Don’t believe it when a big hotel chain cries poor. This hotel is so well off that they can turn well dressed paying clients away from the lobby bar. Guests only. Good luck with that when your lobby bar is half empty. Don’t waste your energy walking into this ridiculous hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Dear 802sueh, Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologise that we were not able to accommodate you on this occasion. At times due to advance bookings and High Tea reservations we may have limited availability to accept walk-in reservations. We do recommend calling in advance so we can advise availability and make a reservation for you to avoid disappointment. We do accept the opportunity your feedback provides us with and will work with our Leadership team to improve how we manage the peak times in order to avoid this situation occurring in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly if you wish to discuss further or provide more specific information regarding your experience. Stay well
Read more
glnomad wrote a review Apr 2022
Singapore, Singapore255 contributions193 helpful votes
We came here during the F1 that just resumed in Melbourne after two years. It was a busy time for the hotel but the excellent service by all the staff made everything seems like a breeze and guests felt welcomed at all times. From reception to F&B to concierge (and I saw a couple of familiar faces from 3 years ago), one can feel the team's effort. Rooms are a bit dates and could do with some renovation but the efficiency and above reason makes up for it. Special thanks to Mr Gurung at the front of the hotel who was so helpful and professional.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Dear glnomad, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay. We were indeed very busy over the Grand Prix and it is very pleasing to hear that the service and welcome you received from all team members was excellent throughout your stay. Thank you for your special mention of Sagar who will be delighted he was able to provide exceptional service to you. We will share your wonderful comments with our teams and we look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to Melbourne. Stay well
Read more
Jay B wrote a review Apr 2022
Melbourne, Australia97 contributions86 helpful votes
We went to afternoon tea at The Westin Melbourne with friends, to celebrate after the (superb) Moulin Rouge Musical Show. Poor service at The Westin, and even worst were the scones that we ordered. Tasteless and a very bad Crème Brûlée offering too. WILL NOT VISIT AGAIN
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Dear 720jayb, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent Afternoon Tea at The Westin Melbourne. Please accept our apologies that your dining experience did not meet your expectations, We are certainly disappointed to read about the service and the food offerings and will review your comments with our Food and Beverage leadership teams. We hope you may contact us directly to discuss your experience in further detail. Please contact the hotel on 03 96352222 to discuss further. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back for a more memorable experience in the future. Stay well
Read more
Jennifer_jelly-be4n wrote a review Mar 2022
Sydney, Australia12 contributions
My sister and I enjoyed our trip to Melbourne immensely and The Westin Melbourne played a big part in this. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, all associates were friendly and helpful. The room itself was beautiful, spacious and immaculately clean, perfect for resting between all the activities we had planned our trip. The bathroom itself was huge with double vanity and full sized bath. The aircon was also delightfully quiet. The hotel team kindly placed a delicious piece of birthday cake in our room to mark a milestone birthday, which was much appreciated. One evening when we were rushing to drop some late night shopping off before heading immediately out to dinner, both the associate at the porte cochere and in the lobby recognised we were in a rush and ensured the entrance door was open and the lift had been called for us as they saw us approaching. The reception and concierge team were very helpful in getting an item back to me that I unfortunately forgot at a restaurant during our stay (being so distracted by the delicious meal at Red Spice Road). It is these little touches and thoughtful moments that make the difference. Thank you Westin Melbourne team.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Mar 16, 2022
Dear Jennifer_jelly-be4n, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are certainly well known for our spacious, beautiful rooms and professional staff. We are pleased you appreciate the signature Westin experience that keeps our guest coming back for a revitalizing and uplifting stay. We will pass on your special message towards our Reception and Concierge on their impact on your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the not too distant future. Be well.
Read more
Cliodhna C wrote a review Mar 2022
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions5 helpful votes
Myself and my husband had being planning a night away for our anniversary for so long and the long labour weekend seemed like the perfect opportunity. Kid free for the first time in so long we were very excited. Our original hotel booking changed and we decided (last minute) to book The Westin as it appeared to be available on a hotel booking site. On arrival to our dismay the hotel was fully booked. (Through no fault of The Westin and s long whole other story ). On one of the busiest weekends post COVID they searched every available option and actually found us a room. A special mention to Clare Byrne, Rooms Division Manager, she went to so much effort and time to accommodate us. Clare is the perfect example of what customer service should be all about. An asset to your hotel. After what could have been a disappointing weekend turned out to be a lovely relaxing fun time in lovely Melbourne. Thanks again The Westin Cliodhna
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Mar 16, 2022
Dear cliodnac632, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are certainly well known for our professional and helpful staff. We are pleased you appreciate the signature Westin experience that keeps our guest coming back for a revitalizing and uplifting stay. We will pass on your special message towards our associates Clare Byrne Rooms Division Manager on her impact on your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the future and hopefully for your next anniversary
Read more
timbotimpo wrote a review Mar 2022
Melbourne, Australia46 contributions67 helpful votes
Stayed two consecutive nights on two separate bookings. When I checked in I asked for them to be back to backed. She said I’d have to come down the next day and re-cut the card. Not sure why we couldn’t just do it all then but all g. I’m ambassador status here so got upgraded. The upgrade was not an upgrade; it was the smallest room according to the floor plan on the back of the room’s door. I got woken by two calls to the room at about 8.00 in the morning. The first woke me and I managed to answer the second. It was front desk asking if I wanted to change rooms? I asked if it was going to be a better room if I did that. No. Do you for some reason need this room vacated? No. Ok, so I guess I’ll stay but thanks for the random wake-up? That afternoon I got back to the room: massive bag of rubbish from housekeeping full of other people’s rubbish in the room. The concierge was very helpful and friendly, which retrieves one star in what would otherwise be a one-star review. The free breakfast buffet was okay. For a five-star hotel, it was woeful. I won’t be staying here again; I’ll just stick with Marriott proper or even Four Points, who at least recognise the status of folks on the program they allege to be part of and not make them feel like unwelcome peasants.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Mar 14, 2022
Dear timbotimpo, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent experience at The Westin Melbourne. We are saddened to learn of your experience and the comments you have provided will be reviewed and we will be in touch with you by email to personally apologise. Thank you once again for allowing us the opportunity to investigate your concerns and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a more memorable stay. Be well.
Read more
Tim Breckell wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia11 contributions1 helpful vote
A seamless experience of high level service and classic relaxed luxury. Special mention to Brad Cadry concierge and whole team who work the entry foyer perfectly. Service, recommendations and great chat. Housekeeping team excellent. Breakfast and foyer team and food offerings just superb. Health club perfect. We will be back for 2023 AO.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Jan 26, 2022
Dear Tim B, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are certainly well known for our great food and professional staff. We are pleased you appreciate the signature Westin experience that keeps our guest coming back for a revitalizing and uplifting stay. We will pass on your special message towards out associates Brad and our Housekeeping Team on their impact on your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you once again next year for the next Australian Open. Be well
Read more
Bec wrote a review Jan 2022
Melbourne, Australia114 contributions83 helpful votes
We booked the hotel for the great location. We wanted to be close to all the city’s activations for Christmas. So the location was perfect. The room is slightly dated, but comfortable. Service was just ok. The breakfast was great though, we really enjoyed it. The pool was pretty good! Slightly cold, but the kids absolutely loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Jan 13, 2022
Dear BecM_Aus, Thank you kindly for your comments regarding your stay and we do like to share all guests’ comments with our teams regarding our rooms and service. We are certainly well known for our unsurpassed location and breakfast quality and options. We are pleased you appreciate our Westin pool and spa facility that keeps our guest coming back for a revitalizing and uplifting stay. Enjoying the CBD, the free public trams and numerous attractions near our property it is a statement to our convenient location. Again, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Westin Melbourne Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again. Be Well
Read more
GlobaltravellerG wrote a review Dec 2021
Canberra, Australia190 contributions66 helpful votes
The Westin is conveniently located a block from Young & Jackson's and a short walk from the MCG. I particularly appreciated the size of the standard room at 38 square metres compared to the smaller rooms found in many other hotels. The room was very clean. Service was spot on - attentive, friendly but not intrusive. While parking was an additional $60 per night, we left the car there until about 5:30 pm, which was well after check-out, at no additional charge. This is a place I want to stay in again next time I am in Melbourne.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Westin Melbourne, General Manager at The Westin Melbourne
Responded Jan 13, 2022
Dear GlobaltravellerG, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are delighted to hear you took advantage of our class in room features such as the Westin’s signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, they do provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. We are also pleased to learn of your positive experience with our professional and friendly associates and your time after check-out. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the not too distant future. Be well.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$269 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin melbourne hotel melbourne, westin melbourne, melbourne westin
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
262
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Melbourne
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Melbourne?
Nearby attractions include Melbourne Urban Adventures (0.2 miles), Drinking History Tours (0.3 miles), and Bartronica (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Melbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Melbourne?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Melbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Melbourne?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Melbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include 11 Inch Pizza, Da Guido 365, and Roule Galette Melbourne.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Melbourne?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Westin Melbourne have airport transportation?
Yes, The Westin Melbourne offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Westin Melbourne located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Melbourne.
Does The Westin Melbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Melbourne?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (0.6 miles), St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.6 miles), and Rippon Lea Estate (4.7 miles).