We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mercure North Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure North Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 378: English reviews
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is very easy to access from the airport and close to the University, hospital and trams. Great cafes within a few hundred metres. Building does need a refurbishment though. The beds are good and it is always clean, but its starting to look a bit tired.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ANZman
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff are friendly the meals are outstanding, the staff go out of there way to help you. The buffet breakfast is outstanding, and its always good to see a smiling face in the morning. You may have to set your alarm clock because the beds are soo comfortable. I never sleep in but slept until 8.30 am feeling brillant,also... More 

Helpful?
Thank angiemckee1992
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Property is old, rooms are VERY Basic! No spare blankets or pillows. And when i asked for one the manager made me feel like an idiot by saying there is one on the bed... there was a sheet and Dona as you'd expect but NO blankets. When i said i was still cold, he said you've got to be kidding... More 

Helpful?
Thank MPbrisbane

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arrived here a little apprehensive after reading the reviews on this hotel They were the opposite to what I found ,the room was on the large size with great features & a desk , it was spotless The restaurant was great, the young lady who was running the bar & waitress too was extremely busy but was very professional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lenny4545
Greater Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in the process of being renovated and is in a great location for catching the tram and it is only about a ten minute tram ride into the city centre. There is an IGA express within walking distance but limited food options other than the hotel restaurant. Room was comfortable but only a mini fridge and kettle,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank mirandad579
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Even the renovated rooms are not up to standard. Filthy furniture and poor quality. Tried to be disguised with new paint and carpet. Understand that they are renovating and workers start at 8am, but they could have asked me if I wanted the room next door to the workers or further away! Not pleased to have the workers loud radio,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank LisaS S
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear LisaS S, Appreciate you reviewing our hotel, albeit a tad bit harsh. The renovation process has been planned in stages and stage 1 is to complete the painting, carpet and wallpaper. Stage 2 involves the furniture and painting of the corridors. I do have to apologise for the inconvenience caused by our contractors. This is totally unacceptable and should... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly, the staff were excellent. Very helpful. Had breakfast every morning, food was basic but very good and always full. However they are doing renovations and I arrived on a Sat. there were flakes of paint and plaster in the hallway that hadn't been vacuumed. While my room was cleaned daily at no time in the 5 days I stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitoh1
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear rabbitoh1, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team. It is unfortunate to note your feedback about the room not being vacuumed, I will definitely address this with the housekeeping team this afternoon. Please accept my apologies for this oversight. We are in the process... More 

Bairnsdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The car parking was out in the open on a gravel drive way, it was raining so not very easy to walk down. The room was filthy, dirty and disgusting.the chairs were stained and grotty. I never took my shoes off, the carpet was so stained and dirty. Went to reception and asked to go to another room, the receptionist... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear E9113JUwendym, My apologies for the unpleasant experience during your recent visit to the hotel and disappointing that we were unable to stay in one of refurbished rooms. We are in the midst of renovating all accommodation rooms and will have all of level 1 completed next week. We certainly did not meet your expectations on this occasion, however, please... More 

Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Booked in late on a Friday Night after a 5 hour drive, the room was nothing like the one in the photo, ours was a lot smaller, opened the door to find it was occupied by thousands of mosguitoes went to reception and asked for some fly spray they had it on hand it must be a common thing, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pedz1
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Pedz1, Definitely not a great experience and for this we apologise. As you would have read from previous responses, the rooms are undergoing a full renovation, to be completed by the end of 2016. The mosquito’s are definitely not a pleasant sight, however, Victoria and Melbourne in particular has experienced an onslaught of mosquitos this spring. Our pest control... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#138 of 157 in Melbourne
28 reviews
Apartments on Flemington
#119 of 157 in Melbourne
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arrow On Swanston
#126 of 157 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Bayview Eden
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
574 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure North Melbourne is located on the edge of the CBD, just a short tram ride from the city of Melbourne. All of Melbourne's attractions are within easy access. The hotel offers 70 contemporary & comfortable rooms and suites, with King, Queen, Twin accommodation options available, all with en-suite bathrooms, LCD TV, Foxtel, Internet access, Fridge with mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has a small plunge pool, and offers complimentary access to local private gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure North Melbourne

Address: | Corner Flemington Road & Harker Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Rydges North Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $78 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure North Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure North Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges North Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges North Hotel
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure North Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“inside rooms would be quieter as the hotel is on a busy corner near hospital”
 of 5 bubbles rabbitoh1, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“do not book here”
 of 5 bubbles wendymP6097TF, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Nothing good here”
  • broken window
  • peeling paint all over roof
  • Cracked tiles
 of 5 bubbles 849karlyw, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from main roads are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 57lesley2015, Jun 20, 2016 | Read review
“No real views, but second floor rooms might be a bit quieter than ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles scottmE2617CZ, Apr 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay