We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure North Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure North Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 386: English reviews
Woodend, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our one-nighter for a wedding anniversary was redeemed from a real disappointment by the Front of House staff. They were personable, charming and very helpful.. under difficult operating circumstances. We knew that renovations were underway but weren't prepared for the broken bed-side lamp, the loose bathroom fittings and the damaged furniture. We were even less prepared to find that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margot C
Warrnambool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found this hotel clean, staff friendly and rooms with required space and comfort. My only dislike is the need to pay for internet which was quiet limited and expensive. I've been travelling through Europe recently and everywhere I stayed internet access in hotel rooms came as part of the cost of the room. This is a problem Australian hotels...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q79KRlisar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Noisy. Trams and traffic all day and night. I don't recall reading that parking wasn't free. At $15 per day on the outskirts of the city is just money-grabbing. And no free wifi. Mercure just can't be serious! Never again for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotels need to advise guests before they book if they are upgrading the property. I have asthma and the fumes from wet paint irritated me throughout the stay. In the morning I had to walk past hall ways being painted to get to reception to check out. Chair and sofa in my room were stained and dirty. the bath was...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccapM8856GF
Adelaide
Reviewed December 11, 2016

TLDR; Old, tired, dirty, smelly, totally inadequate. It has been my worst Mercure experience and one I hope will not be repeated ever again. We have chosen the hotel based on its location and brand – so far we have always enjoyed our Accor/Mercure stays. Not this time however. The hotel is old and in a dire need of repair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichalRosa
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear MichalRosa, My sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay at the hotel. We completely take on board your feedback and in fact we are currently in the process of renovating the hotel. All guest rooms and public areas will be renovated and once complete, I am sure the hotel will be of an acceptable standard...

Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed December 9, 2016

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel, very convenient location,tram stop is just out side the hotel,hotel is under renovation which is much needed,we had dinner at polo restaurant and dinner meals were excellent,we had pork belly and barramundi fish which was just amazing,will come back to the hotel just to have dinner again,over all decent stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alley406
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear alley406, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and will be back to stay with us. We hope to have the renovations complete by early 2017. Best Regards, Wayne Woods General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 9, 2016

Excellent room at an excellent price, stayed their on business and staff were fantastic, going out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay, even organising food for me way after service hours (very appreciated) as I arrived late at night. Nice clean room and very affordable. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devolver85
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear devolver85, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our service delivery. Thank you, for taking the time to pen your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again. Best Regards, Wayne Woods General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed December 4, 2016

I stayed there for 4 nights and I had very nice experience. However, the swimming pool was cold and we couldn't use it because weather was also cold. Otherwise, other things were perfect. Location is just at the limit of city. I always found a tram to reach the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 551shibus
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 551shibus, Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Our pool is heating throughout the year. However, from time to time we have a few sporting teams stay with us and they request the heating to be turned off for their recovery sessions. I do apologise that you were unable to use the pool. I am delighted...

Avoca Beach, Australia
Reviewed December 4, 2016

This hotel is very easy to access from the airport and close to the University, hospital and trams. Great cafes within a few hundred metres. Building does need a refurbishment though. The beds are good and it is always clean, but its starting to look a bit tired.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANZman
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear ANZman, Appreciate your candid feedback. Yes the hotel is conveniently located and in need of refurb, which is currently in progress. We hope to have the renovations completed by March 2017. Look forward to having you stay with us again. Best Regards, Wayne Woods General Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed December 2, 2016

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BVC2
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#139 of 157 in Melbourne
28 reviews
Apartments on Flemington
#119 of 157 in Melbourne
115 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#86 of 157 in Melbourne
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
270 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure North Melbourne is located on the edge of the CBD, just a short tram ride from the city of Melbourne. All of Melbourne's attractions are within easy access. The hotel offers 70 contemporary & comfortable rooms and suites, with King, Queen, Twin accommodation options available, all with en-suite bathrooms, LCD TV, Foxtel, Internet access, Fridge with mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has a small plunge pool, and offers complimentary access to local private gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure North Melbourne

Address: | Corner Flemington Road & Harker Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Rydges North Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $81 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure North Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mercure North Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges North Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges North Hotel
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure North Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room that has already been renovated.”
  • loose robe hook
  • damaged desk
  • broken bed-side lamp fitting
 of 5 bubbles margotc794, 2 days ago | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Q79KRlisar, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid rooms near Flemington Rd. Noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles frankc817, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“inside rooms would be quieter as the hotel is on a busy corner near hospital”
 of 5 bubbles rabbitoh1, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“do not book here”
 of 5 bubbles wendymP6097TF, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay