We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had arrived late in the evening and the manager ( i think) Steven was very courteous and checked me with great ease. He was very knowledgeable of all the special sites around Melbourne and where to eat and what to see. The room was perfect for my stay and the view is AMAZING. The Crown Entertainment complex is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haran K
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope one day you will come back to Melbourne. Glad to hear the view helped to make your stay special.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here the first 3 nights of our Melbourne stay between Christmas and New Year and would certainly not return. The apartment was dirty and very dated and the staff at reception were not particularly helpful, verging on rude. We arrived at aprox 7:30am, after arriving from the UK, and were told the room would be ready by 2pm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had such a poor start to your stay with us. On the day of check in we were taken by surprise in the morning and delays did happen. We did try to make it up you by offering a very late check out and i'm glad you were able to take up the offer. I hope you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very standard facilities with a generous sized room. Great location for Melbourne CBD. Waking distance to Casino, flinders and southern cross station. Section of the hotel we stayed is very out dated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this apartment 2 months before New Years. I asked for a view of river to see fire works for New Years. Even paid a extra and while we got there our view of trees and gates.. And we got charge extra in advance the service was disgusting. Especially dealing with the Chinese pregnant lady she was very rude...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick M
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we cannot agree with your comments. Your reservation was made with Booking.com and the first night's rate is taken as a deposit. Payment can be taken anytime once a reservation is made. You were not charged extra and you did not book a river view apartment. Your booking was for the annex apartments next...

Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Please don't be put off by the negative reviews from some travellers. We had a fantastic stay here in a spacious 2 bed apartment with 2 balconies. On the largest balcony we brought out chairs and a table and had a couple of glasses of wine at night with the city skyscrapers surrounding us , fully illuminated and the air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene R
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay. Melbourne is not the first city that comes to mind when thinking of city views but many of our apartments do have terrific views. Glad to hear you had such a memorable stay.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed December 7, 2016

I was disappointed by this property as I was stuck around the back of a totally different building to that which the web site indicated I would be in. The room was noisy with street noise and pipes banging. The air conditioning was efficient but the lighting was very dim. The windows had one way thermal coatings but no lace...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris_Haml
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay We have two separate buildings and your reservation was booked into our annex apartments. These are 3.5 star. Next time please book a 1 bedroom Deluxe apartment, they are a higher rate but they are also roomier and tend to be quiet. I hope you will try these apartments for your next...

Sydney Australia
Reviewed December 6, 2016

Having stayed at the Riverside for many years I'm afraid that, like myself , age is creeping in ! It is still a good choice & fairly central but little signs of disrepair & fraying at the edges are apparent and a freshen up is required I think ? Staff are as always professional & friendly but the cleaning in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are gradually upgrading the apartments so please ask for a renovated apartment for your next stay. We look forward to seeing you once again.

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

We got a room in the annex. Well, our room was a bit run down with an old carpet. If you have a dust allergy like me, you might should stay away. Hotels in Melbourne are expensive and that fact makes this one a good deal. Nice staff, great central location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guenterdk
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was very nice talking to you at check out. We hope to see you again in Melbourne soon.

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

The welcome on arrival was very friendly. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed with everything that we needed for a one night stay. We stayed in a single bedroom apartment on the 17th floor. The location is fantastic and easy to access. Very easy and short walk to South Bank, Casino and Exhibition Center or walk or tram...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to our staff. Thank you for taking the time to make comments too. Please come back soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

I'm no snob but this is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. After 20 hrs on the run, all I wanted was a bed but no one at reception so couldn't get in. Then sent down to road to other property that is absolutely filthy, there is garbage in the "foyer" if you can call it that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevewb0612
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

I was sorry to read your review. In all honesty I felt your review was harsh and not accurate. Our staff are here to help you and an access phone number is clearly posted at reception after 11pm to assist you. Had we known you were so unhappy we surely would have tried to make your stay more comfortable.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#28 of 157 in Melbourne
1,017 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#78 of 157 in Melbourne
96 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Southbank
Aria Hotel Apartments
Aria Hotel Apartments
#109 of 157 in Melbourne
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $91 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Croydon, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a Balcony room, view is worth the price”
 of 5 bubbles solarite1, 4 days ago | Read review
“not sure but specify river view at least but beware of train noise”
 of 5 bubbles Chris_Haml, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms on 17th floor. Very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles R8348UVcindym, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are not in the building on Flinders Lane!”
 of 5 bubbles RobynK223, Aug 11, 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with views and high up if you like it quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles vegas778, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay