We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane

Show Prices
#11 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
See the most recent reviews
Showing 513: English reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2015

I stayed at the Sebel for a few nights in January while in Melbourne to see the Australian Open. It was beautiful. It is beautifully laid out and a wonderful hotel to sleep in - darker colours and great block out curtains! It is beautifully appointed, staff are friendly and helpful and it is very well located. I actually can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingjen
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Hi Wanderingjen, Thank you for your great review. How wonderful that you had the chance to "indulge" yourself at our hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay. We hope that you will get the chance to return to the hotel for another indulgence in the not too distance future.

Flaxton, Australia
Reviewed April 1, 2015

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarina1957
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 28, 2015

We were slightly disappointed in this hotel when compared with Sebel hotels in Auckland and Adelaide. The rooms were decorated in blacks and greys and projected a somewhat gloomy impression as there was very little natural light. Our room faced away from the station and the river so the views weren't very interesting. However, the room was comfortable, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RX61
AccorVacationClub, Director of Sales at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. As the property is nearly 100 years old the designer has tried to give the rooms a period look bit with modern comfort however it is not to everyone's taste and can be dull on gloomy Melbourne days.

Gilgandra, Australia
Reviewed March 27, 2015

We went to Melbourne for a few day to attend a concert and done some shopping while we were there. We like to try different accommodation in cities we have been before and were really impressed with the Sebel. The one bedroom apartment on the sixth floor was spacious and well equipped. Personally I found the bed a bit hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Julie
AccorVacationClub, Director of Sales at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding the location of the Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. It is the perfect place to stay when wanting to do a bit of shopping or see a show. The 1-bedroom apartments are well laid out and designed for comfort. Next time you stay let us know if the bed is a little hard for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed March 25, 2015

Spent the night with a friend in the Executive Suite - we weren't there much but it was very spacious. I ended up falling asleep on the couch and my friend had the King bed all to herself and both were comfortable. Crappy view but didn't really care about that it was nice and quiet which was very important to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madno
AccorVacationClub, Director of Sales at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Sebel Melbourne flinders Lane. It is a real shame that you were not at the property long enough to enjoy the coffee area and the room more. As you mention the rooms are self contained and we find we have a variety of guests that like to stay with us. We hope you...

Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewed March 23, 2015

Unbeatable location in Melbs; close to train, shops, restaurants, southbank etc. Great rooms, beautiful décor, perfectly clean and crisp and wonderfully helpful and friendly staff. The only thing that stopped me from giving 5 stars was the room service (no-in house food) and no mini bar. Would have been nice to have mini bar etc but really not that big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anastasiaw w
AccorVacationClub, Director of Sales at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. As you mentioned the property is in a superb location and has beautiful rooms. It is disappointing that you were let down by our room service offerings. We do have some local restaurants who deliver meals to the property however these are subject to their hours of operations and...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Stayed two nights, overall very good service and location, room was well maintained with lots of room and clean. However I found the decor to be very dark and somewhat depressing, the lighting in the bathroom was poor, very hard to see when shaving or when my wife went to apply her make up she used the bedroom mirrors as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank big_al88
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Hi big_al88, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. All guest feedback that we receive is appreciated. I will share your comments with our team as the comments that we receive can assist us to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again...

Reviewed March 16, 2015

A couple of days away from the kids, spent in a beautiful apartment. Beautifully refurbished & we really felt like we gave ourselves a treat. Fantastic location too. Leave the car at home & walk or hop on the trams

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walkingprimrose
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Hi Walkingprimrose, Thank you for your lovely review. What a luxury for you to spend a few days away from the kids (and do it in style). We hope that the next time you get to escape from the kids you return to stay with us again, or you could bring the kids with you as a treat for them...

Reviewed March 8, 2015

I stayed at 2 nights at the Sebel after I was offered a discounted rate last year through my membership with Accor Hotels. When I accepted the deal I was advised that there would be a 90 minute presentation about the Accor Vacation Club which I was happy to sit through on the Saturday morning. What I WASN'T told was...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Candice O
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Hi Candice O, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. All guest feedback that we receive is appreciated and taken on board. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and found the bed to be "super comfy". I was extremely disappointed that you did not have a good experience during your presentation...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed March 3, 2015

I didn't have high expectations of a hotel on a lane, but to my surprise, the Sebel Rocks! There is a simple entrance and a nice lobby around the corner, but further along is a cafe lounge with a bar and complimentary Nespresso machine. Heavenly! My mouth dropped upon entering the suite. The decor is fabulous! A very neutral colour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vvnn
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review

Hi wnn, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are pleased that you received a pleasant "surprise" when you arrived to stay with us and found your room to be "fabulous!". As you noted we don't have our own hotel gym on-site but our guests do have access to a fully equipped corporate fitness...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

448 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (183)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Flinders Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Signature Suite (61)
Viewed
Studio Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
5,162 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
1,451 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
853 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne's modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include The Courtyard which is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne's Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne's shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne's famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $81 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I recommend the KING room, Free Wifi and Usb Chargers built in”
  • Kitchen
 of 5 bubbles 3000AD, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Level six looks out to a courtyard with BBQ and seating”
 of 5 bubbles 19trishs, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Great location, good sized room”
 of 5 bubbles 96ankura, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The higher the level, the better the quality of room”
 of 5 bubbles fabriziobB3373YB, Feb 10, 2017 | Read review
“6th floor apartments face a courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles godzilla_oz, Feb 3, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question