We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BreakFree on Collins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BreakFree on Collins
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,279: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed November 5, 2016

Awesome location with tram stop outside and short walk to Flinders Station. Have stayed in this location when it was privately owned prior to it being Breakfree, and this time it was $700 less p/w. A bit disappointed of the price but seems to be the going rate for 2 bedroom apartments around Melbourne CBD when booking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosJ84
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Ros, Brilliant to hear of such loyal followers of the building. Whilst we have increased the price to meet the market we have all so reinvested a lot into the rooms - with a lot more on the way. I wish we could keep the prices of yesteryear. We do hope to have you back again. Kind Regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Not overly glamorous esp as the foyer and reception are currently being updated, but location was perfect and apt was v spacious. Love being able to open window for fresh air. kjhrgkuhrghklkjfdglkjderaglk

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Christine, Love the addition of extra characters to reach the minimum, gave me a good chuckle this morning. Its great to hear the room and location suited your needs, once we've finished the reception and corridors the experience will be lifted overall - we're as excited as you. Kind Regards

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Great location easy work to all Melbourne Cbd sites and restaurants especially Flinters street station just a block away, clean self contained rooms, just a bit noisy I think maybe the current construction on foyer area

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelj0s
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Michael, Thanks for taking some time to leave a review. Great to hear everything worked well for you and as we come out the other end of the lobby refurbishment the building is definitely a lot more welcoming - now onto the reception area :-) Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 3, 2016

The location of this property is excellent. Staff were as helpful as they could be. However the property was grotty, stains on carpet in reception. room not clean, windows and balcony dirty. Lock on balcony door broken but fixed next day after complaint. Splashback smeared. Fridge off. Noisy at night. 😥 Not worth the price of $400 per night which...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 341margiel
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Margiel, Whilst it is pleasing to hear the staff did their best and that we were able to fix the issue you noted, I am disappointed that you did not find the expected value in the apartment. A very busy time across the race weekends in Melbourne sees our location and apartments in really high demand. Please contact...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed November 3, 2016

As always, this is a great place to stay. Centrally located, secure, nice rooms, very comfortable. I've stayed there several times over the past few years. Each room has its own quirks, and they're all a bit different. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Amanda C, Thanks for the great review. We definitely do have a range of different apartment appointments across the building in all room types. I am glad to hear you like their intricacies and differences. See you again soon.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed November 2, 2016

everything is perfect,but there is no free wifi during our stay.I hope it will be improved in the future.The Hotel is situated in downtown.The bus and subway are very convenient. One can go almost anywhere on them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boroastro
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Evening Boro, Thank you for taking some time to leave a review. It's great to hear you found everything suitable. We'll keep working in the WiFi from this end. Kind Regards

Cabarita Beach, Australia
Reviewed November 2, 2016

We returned to this hotel after staying same time last year & being happy with it then. Brought 2 rooms of friends with us as we recommended the place. The first room we had was the same configuration as last years but the bathroom was in a terrible state - grotty tiles, toilet flush that wouldn't, vanity coating peeling off,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karla H
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Karla, Thanks for taking some time out to leave a review. I am glad I got to speak with you during your stay and found something more suitable for your needs. Unfortunately we can't control the outside world (as much as I try) and you can be assured I will be handing this feedback to the respective building...

Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Before I review, I would like to say the Manager of the Property contacted me directly after our experience and offered my family a return voucher to compensate us for the problems we had. We are very happy with this response :)  Firstly, upon check-in we were a ticket to the wrong car park even though we had made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dermot O
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Dermot, Thank you for acknowledging the response in your review. I am satisfied we have addressed the issues and provided an adequate solution for all involved. I look forward to championing your next booking with us. Kind Regards

Lismore, Australia
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Renovations in the foyer made it a bit difficult to find where to go to checkin. Spacious unit, basic but clean. Cleaners left lights and air con on, even after I had turned them off as I left. I was disappointed not to be able to easily recycle bottles and plastics. Excellent location with an easy safe (even late at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rutht575
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Ruth, It's great you mention the recycling - we are currently working with the city council on the waste collection for the building as a whole. Currently only general and cardboard :-( Once we have 'sorted' (pardon the pun) this out we will have recycling boxes under each of our sinks. A great initiative. Kind Regards

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed November 1, 2016

A little difficult to find the entrance.Could be a little cleaner. Laking in the basics like towel rails, mirrors, extra toilet paper but then had a washing machine, drier and iron and were happy to accomadate with extra bed. The glass walls around master bedroom mean that you cant get up early and turn the light on.Fantastic location, out the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happybird3
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Happybird, Great to hear you had a good stay in terms of location. Extra toilet paper is provided on the amenity shelf or in the cupboard under the vanity, extra extra is all so only a phone call away - our friendly staff would be more than happy to deliver. We hope to see you again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

187 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#110 of 156 in Melbourne
1,088 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#103 of 156 in Melbourne
4,028 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 156 in Melbourne
370 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $93 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on Collins staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on Collins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Back rooms have no view, but are pretty quiet”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 days ago | Read review
“Make sure you are getting a refurbished room, forget the rest.”
 of 5 bubbles 999Caveman, Dec 23, 2016 | Read review
“Fantastic location for the free tram system area, close to Bourke st Mall, restaurants and police station”
 of 5 bubbles Happycamper2010_10, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“Don't do it. One star is too many for cleanliness.”
 of 5 bubbles judentom, Nov 25, 2016 | Read review
“You are in the heart of the city, all apartments we have had have been very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles lynnrW4720WR, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question