We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BreakFree on Collins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
BreakFree on Collins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 806: English reviews
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Only stayed one night and room was very adequate. The noise from the lifts kept me awake awhile but probably would have got used to it if I'd stayed longer. I will recommend this accommodation to my friends for weekends in the city. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eileenb754
Angle Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Great location for the price, reception area is very tiny. Hallways to the rooms looked like they needed a good clean. Rooms were OK, need a good clean and update. Best to check that kitchen has plugs, spoons etc as missing. The thermostat didn't work so our room was quite warm and toasty. Great location though so would recommend for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Coreen T
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Coreen T, Great to hear you loved the location - definitely our number 1 facet! Our temporary reception is a little tight, as you can image we are looking forward to the renovation as much as the guests. It will be great to give the staff a space they are proud to work in as well as provide... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

The door on our room would not lock. You only had to push it from outside and it would open. We had to sleep with the stools against it, to stop it opening. The sliding door to the balcony would not open

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marion H
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Marion H, I must apologise for the unforeseen door issue that you found yourself dealing with. I see it was rectified shortly after by a locksmith, so I'm glad the resolution could be provided. I do hope our maintenance team got a chance to fix the balcony door for you as this is one of the great sell... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Terible Terible Terible Waste of money Parking hard to find and expensive. Rooms small dirty and kitchen items minimal. No Foxtell Telephones cleaning and who would have thought, No service. Reception little English spoken. Stay Elsewere and not only save money but enjoy your stay without the stress.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Adrian L, Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Peter R, Thanks for your recent review. The parking can be tricky, however we have 2 options of which the staff are all versed in explaining. I can see you were given a 15% discount off your rates as and stayed in our premium product the 2 bedroom Deluxe - as well as having the only room on... More 

warrnambool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Our experience was much the same as many of the other reviews. The building was far too hot from the moment we walked into the door, we were very uncomfortable in the reception area whilst checking in because of the temperature. Staff were hit and miss, some being horrible, unhelpful and rude and some being fantastic and lovely. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank crabs321
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning crabs321, Thanks for the recent review of your stay at Breakfree On Collins, I'm glad you recognized the value for the location, if find the building temperature an interesting one, we must have had a shivering receptionist that winters day whom played with the heating. I would be interested to hear more detailed feedback on your customer service... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Basic clean accommodation. Water is hot, linen is clean, beds are comfortable. Modest apartment in central location at the corner of Swanston and Collins streets. Close to Federation Square and the Arts Centre

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 546paulieng
Hobart
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Good location little confusing getting in for check in but ok. A few more tea bags would of been great as some people like to have lots of cups of tea like my mum but other than that was great bed a little hard an we did ask for 2 single beds but that's ok very good location tho.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sarahcP2276FI
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning srahcP2276FI, I am glad to hear you loved the location - with reception being on Level 6 it is sometimes a challenge to find us, something our newley installed signage has made all the more simple. More teabags are always on offer, the friendly staff can deliver at anytime of the day/night, who doesn't love a cuppa on... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

modest apartment right in the heart of downtown. Close to transport , restaurants and an easy walk to Federation Square, trains and the arts district. Friendly helpful staff. Just the perfect place for a few days in the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stan P
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Stan P, Great to hear you loved the location and that the staff you add to the experience with some helpful pointers - its great to meet people in the know. We look forward to your next city escape. Kind Regards More 

Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

This used to be Darking on Collins the apartments were once very modern and funky. They are now tired and not as clean as they could be. They are 'house' clean but not 'hotel clean'. The back of the toilet and where the seat joins the toilet wasn't cleaned properly, the stainless steel splash back in the kitchen was smeared.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lilysholiday
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning lilysholiday, Thanks for the review, I am super-surprised about the description of the transition between Darling Towers and Breakfree on Collins though. When Breakfree took over on July 1 last year the property was in a state of neglect. The furniture, finishings and all items had remained untouched for the last 7yrs under Darling Towers Management. Since then... More 

china
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

dirty carpets and sofas,nothing you can hang your clothes or towels in the bathroom.Door handle falling off from the bathroom door, bedside light not working.Not I expected and will not stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kamkwanl2016
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#118 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#98 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,809 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $82 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay