We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BreakFree on Collins

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
BreakFree on Collins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 701: English reviews
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Perfect location in the heart of the CBD. Tram stop at the front door. The rooms were ok but seemed unfinished and not the cleanest. There was mould in our bathroom. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AJ1231991
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location. Central to everything. Clean. Secure. Priced very well. Within walking, tramming or short cab ride for everything. Would stay there again without hesitation. Big enough for 4 people. Great Italian restaurant downstairs!

Helpful?
Thank mym0use
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Perfect location, right in the heart of Melbourne. Within walking distance of everything we needed. We did not experience any problems with the hotel. The service was great, and the rooms kept to a high standard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 60madelinev
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall our stay was very good and we were pleasantly surprised. On first impression we weren't sure what to think, dirty walls down hallways to rooms and on arrival it's not your typical reception arrangement, but our apartment overall was clean and had everything we needed for the stay. Staff were also very lovely. It was great value for the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kylieh761
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Kylie, Thanks so much for writing a little review on your recent stay. We are about to undertake a lobby, corridor & reception refurbishment - HUUUUUGE PROJECT. However the arrival experience for our guests and the building residents alike will be immensely improved. We can't wait. The staff have been doing a fantastic job from our temporary reception... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great place, great location. Very clean. Staff very friendly. Need to be very careful in the two storey rooms with a spiral staircase. Very tricky with a suitcase!! There's no towel rails in the bathrooms, so nowhere to put your towels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lyndaj815
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Lynda, Thanks for taking some time to leave a review of your current stay. Definitely a great point to mention caution when using the spiral staircase - this is in fact the only room in the entire property that has internal stairs. It was a labour of love from the developer so is different to all other rooms.... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

No Signage of the property. Very hard to locate the entrance. Kitchen Benches were not cleaned and showed greasy food and Glass marks on benches. This made me uneasy and hoping the rest of the Unit was clean. Almost did not stay and was going to check in at Novotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank W4347IKmarkm
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Mark, Thanks for leaving some feedback. Im interested in the signage comments as we are continuously trying to improve this. It was a problem for a long time, when we didn't have signage, but nearly 3 months ago we had our Breakfree signage installed to the outside of the building (in 3 locations)- so I would love to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A great place to stay with the beautiful and comfortable room , good room services and on my list whenever in Melbourne! Would definitely come back here with my family again! Glad to have know this hotel ,Love from Brunei xx

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aryjamil79
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jamil, Thanks for the great review, and a gool little "thumps up" symbol to go along with it! We look forward to having yourself and the family back again on your next trip from Brunei. Kind Regards More 

Bannockburn, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfect location. Room was OK, but didn't spend much time there. There was no storage in second bedroom. Only 3 comfortable seats in the lounge for the four of us. Cost was reasonable, especially given such a central location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peterhX8642GX
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Peter, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The location is definatel a huge plus for us. We are working on some space saving storage ideas for our second bedrooms to try and give some space the hang/store clothes for the people in these rooms. In terms of the seating we have a huge 3.5 seater... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Located near the lovely laneways, but not well maintained. Bent and broken blinds that could not be adjusted, which meant city light was coming into the room the whole night. Noise from the level above was so loud it was as though the ceiling was made out of cardboard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank f_o_449
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thanks you for taking the time to leave a review. I would like to gain some more specific details about your stay so that we can follow up on the fore-mentioned issues and make sure we nullify them moving forward. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss. Great to hear you loved the location though -... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

great location if you want to be in the very centre of Melbourne. Unfortunately the cleanliness of the room was poor (dirty carpets, poorly cleaned kitchen and bathroom). Soundproofing of the room left a lot to be desired and top advice for anyone staying here is to ask for a room as far away from the lift as possible. Staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 322joelw
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Joel, Thanks for utilizing some of your time to leave a review. I am disappointed to hear we missed the mark on cleanliness as this has been a huge focus for us over the past few months. I do hope there was some detail reported to reception so that we could have fixed it and that I can... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#82 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#112 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access and cable TV. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes cable TV, broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $87 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay