We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BreakFree on Collins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BreakFree on Collins
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,218: English reviews
Colac, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We found the rooms to be very clean, staff very polite,. As we were there to go to the tennis and do some shopping, the location was great as it was central to all our needs. Everything was basically good and to our expectations, we would have no hesitation to stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosaliee191
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

An excellent location for going to the Aus Open Tennis. McDonalds, Subway and Hungry Jacks all open around the corner late after long night sessions at the tennis. Woolworths around the other corner, convenient for some supplies. We stayed on the 12th floor and it was very quiet from street noise. However, the apartment doors slam extremely loudly and this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brionyn2017
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Evening Briony, Thanks for taking some time to leave a review. Its great to get such constructive feedback that I am able to utilize to focus the teams on their attention to detail. The older (unrefurbished/standard) rooms are next on the list for a makeover, whilst we wait we have made sure to price a bit of extra value...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not what expected, photos completely different to what we got, location good, service was fine, sliding door difficult to lock tv didn't work properly, just disappointing after the photos we saw in the internet vs the reality

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelacQ7937HW
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Angela, Thanks for the review, sorry to hear you found the apartment below your expectations. We have done our best to outline the differences between our refurbished and un-refurbished (booked) apartments - in more than just the price point. Especially with booking.com which we have set up more recently than the other Online Agents. I am glad we...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Cheap n cheerful, apartments have great space and good amenities. The location is awesome, can't get better. Would stay here again. Decor is a little dated but not hideous. Close to great shopping and the main transport hubs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 341blairc
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Blair, Thanks for the review. Great to hear you found everything suitable for your recent stay with us. The location certainly is buzzing. Look forward to seeing you again.

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice place to stay, had everything we needed and the location was great. Close to everything, one block back from Flinders Station and cafes were close by. The room was serviced daily and the staff were more than helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Evening Kathryn, Thanks for leaving a review. I love to hear that the staff are on point with their service style. Genuine experiences at the front desk can make all the difference in this day and age. Hope to see you again soon.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location as we were in Melbourne for a wedding. The room was ok but the bathroom looked as if it had been renovated on the cheap. There was some mould in the bathroom, otherwise the place was clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank iansE5187SP
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Ian, Thanks for spending some time writing a review. We are currently working on regrouting and siliconing all our bathrooms and this will improve the perception in these areas an untold amount. I can guarantee that they are scrubbed and detailed daily, however without replacement we will not escape the unsightliness of some pieces. Hope to have you...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great staff, great location, great room, what else can I say. Was close to everything, transport on our doorstep. Very accomodating to our needs. Perfect for our short stay. very clean and tidy rooms, well appointed. Simply a great place to stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petaandhamish
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Peta & Hamish, Thanks for the great review. Its brilliant to hear everything suited your needs here at Breakfree On Collins. We would love to have you back for longer on your next Melbourne adventure. Kind Regards

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Apartment was in a great location. Unfortunately the room was poorly maintained and the bedding smelt awful. I understand the room was not expensive, but they could of at least made the bed properly with clean sheets....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mischief2017
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mischief, Thanks for the review, I must admit I find the comments puzzling as we have a linen supplier providing fresh linen to the hotel daily. This processed is outsourced to professionals to ensure a high quality in wash & prepare of new linen for use. I will make sure the comments on quality are passed along to...

Geelong
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Walking in we were a bit dubious about the hotel , reception and corridors looked underwhelming but while the rooms weren't perfect they were more than adequate for our stay. And you cant beat the convenient location to everything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brencal
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Evening Bren, Thanks for taking a slice of time to leave a review. Brilliant to hear that you found everything you needed at Breakfree On Collins. The location is definitely a big blessing for the property. Kind Regards

Launceston
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Paid dearly for a two room apartment , evaporative cooler only stuck out of the window. Poorly maintained, broken toilet cistern and mould marks in the shower bath. Two rooms but the lounge area was tiny. Badly in need of a refurb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Andrew, Thanks for the review. I am Sorry to hear the buildings ducted system wasn't working during your stay, however pleased that we were able to provide a stand alone unit for the apartment. I would implore you to try out one of our refurbished room types on your next visit (superior, balcony, deluxe) as both aesthetically and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

187 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
1,077 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#100 of 157 in Melbourne
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 157 in Melbourne
4,003 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $93 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on Collins staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on Collins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you are getting a refurbished room, forget the rest.”
 of 5 bubbles 999Caveman, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Fantastic location for the free tram system area, close to Bourke st Mall, restaurants and police station”
 of 5 bubbles Happycamper2010_10, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“Don't do it. One star is too many for cleanliness.”
 of 5 bubbles judentom, Nov 25, 2016 | Read review
“You are in the heart of the city, all apartments we have had have been very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles lynnrW4720WR, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“competitive price in a central location”
 of 5 bubbles CruiseJunky1980, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay