We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,623: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel staff friendly and very helpful , meals all under the one roof and fresh a gaming venue for those who want to play . Very central. Close to the markets and busses , will stay there again when I visit Melbourne

Helpful?
Thank Beryl S
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The staff at reception were lovely and helpful. The location is amazing! Easy walking distance to everything and close to public transport. Would be great for someone on business etc. Unfortunately it is a very run down hotel in need of repairs. The shower handle fell off. No extractor in the bathroom. We were on the 10th floor and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madi B
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For a good quality, reasonable priced hotel which is in the middle of all the action in Melbourne CBD you cannot go wrong with the Mercure Welcome. Handy to all the shops in the CBD. Great restaurants nearby in China town.

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
Erdi G, Owner at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Richard L, Thank you for your review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Level Contributor
187 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel has a great location, close to Chinatown and Melbourne central, rooms are a little small. Handy bar within the hotel. Service is good as you would expect. The breakfast is average for this hotel brand, and could be a little better.

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Michael L, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. Your compliment and constructive feedback are greatly appreciated. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My mates and I were really looking forward to our holiday in Melbourne. We booked the MERCURE HOTEL in Bourke Street Melbourne for three nights. We were disappointed with quality of the room. But the service! Well that’s another story. It was DISGUSTING!!!! My mates and I booked a triple room which included three single beds. First of all the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel L
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Samuel L, I am sorry to read about experience during your stay with us recently. I believe that our General Manager has since been in contact with you. Unfortunately, like most organisations, our systems and our staff are not 100% foolproof, and from time to time this results in us not delivering the service or comfort which we aspire... More 

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Our room had a door which connected with the room next door, when we first arrived we opened this to see what was there then realised it was an interconnecting room. We shut the door (pulled the handle hard) making sure it was closed properly so nobody could get through. On day 2 we heard the people in the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank anita-greenfield
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear anita-greenfield, Please accept our apology about the experience you had whilst with us. The safety, privacy and security of our guests are always our top priority. Our General Manager has been in correspondence with you outlining our findings. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great location, very small room, there was 3 rooms booked and we had asked for them all to be on the same floor and hopefully close, a friend rang during the week to organise this, on check in i was told they would be put on the same floor, when the other 2 rooms checked in only one was on... More 

Helpful?
Thank snake43
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear snake43, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we were unable to allocate all the 3 rooms on the same floor. We endeavor to fulfill all requests but sometimes they're not always possible. Sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced. Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very well located in the CBD. The staff are friendly. The rooms are modern, basic but comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the restaurant was good - plenty of fresh hot & cold food to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank George5416
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear George5416, Thank you for sharing you positive feedback. Glad to read that you had a comfortable stay and made the most of our convenient location. Sincerely, Alex MIhardja Operational Project Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrival at this hotel is rather strange because, at first sight, you can be excused for believing you are in the wrong place. However, once you have found the reception area, check-in is fairly efficient and polite. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of the CBD and especially convenient to Chinatown. My room was my main disappointment. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank PRC239
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear PRC239, Thank you for your recent patronage. I am sorry to read that we did not tick all the boxes during your stay. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you again for providing a review. Please do not hesitate to contact myself if I can be of any further assistance in... More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was perfect location, staff where great and the location was amazing. Room was very very small however was good. The lift was annoying due to only one working and the amount of people staying but all round was nice. The restaurant was amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Kelly M, We are so pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us. Will be sure to convey your great feedback regarding your experience at the restaurant with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced due to having one of the lifts out of service. This matter has... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

376 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (316)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#98 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#101 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $85 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay