We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,616: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is very well located in the CBD. The staff are friendly. The rooms are modern, basic but comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the restaurant was good - plenty of fresh hot & cold food to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank George5416
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrival at this hotel is rather strange because, at first sight, you can be excused for believing you are in the wrong place. However, once you have found the reception area, check-in is fairly efficient and polite. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of the CBD and especially convenient to Chinatown. My room was my main disappointment. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank PRC239
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel was perfect location, staff where great and the location was amazing. Room was very very small however was good. The lift was annoying due to only one working and the amount of people staying but all round was nice. The restaurant was amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Kelly M, We are so pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us. Will be sure to convey your great feedback regarding your experience at the restaurant with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced due to having one of the lifts out of service. This matter has... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Room: Huge room with basic amenities. Rooms are a little dated but toilets seem to have been newly renovated. Location: Great location in the heart of the city. Lots of food options and shopping around the area. It is close to a couple of tram stops which makes it easy to get around the city. About 10min walk from Flinder's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mthx86
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear , Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that the first room allocated didn't meet up your expectations, but delighted that you raised your concerns whilst still in the hotel and gave us the opportunity to rectify the matter to your expectations. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a budget hotel. I was expecting this hotel to be decent, but it really exceeded my expectations. It's very centrally located and there's a shopping center right next door. Also, as this hotel is centrally located, many touring companies pick you up from this hotel, so day excursions are a breeze. The rooms are also clean and spacious... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy W
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Tammy W, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the benefits of being so conveniently located in the heart of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a 2 night stay. Room was quite small & bathroom even smaller. Was wondering if a large person could even fit in the shower. Very clean & comfortable. Only one lift was working so had a bit of a wait. Had absolutely no view, but luckily we only slept there as we were sightseeing all day. Breakfast was substantial... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eve B
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Eve B, Thank you for your review. It is with regret to read that we were unable to provide you with a pleasant and trouble free stay. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our A+++ location and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next short getaway. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was so small that we asked for an upgrade and were given one free of charge but it wasn't much bigger. Only one lift was working during our 10 day stay but the staff were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank rarangi170
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear rarangi170, Thank you for your time in providing a review. I am sorry that we couldn't provide you with a completely hassle-free & comfortable stay. Truly appreciate you're highlighting the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights this week for work. The price was definitely right, room was a very standard room. Although it was neat and clean it is dated although the bathrooms looked like they had recently had a make over. This part of the Mecure doesn't offer things like room service or mini bar but the stay is... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColinWalker00
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear ColinWalker00, Thank you for providing a positive review after your recent stay with us. Appreciate you're being positive in what we do well and for bringing to our attention what we can improve on. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thought we had book a ship's cabin. The room looked larger on the website. If they said New York style room or Ship's cabin room, I'd understood what I'd be paying for. Furthermore, although the room seemed clean and comfortable (although a little small), the duvet cover had black marks/stains on it, and the duvet insert had lipstick in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GorkyBell
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear GorkyBell, Thank you again for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that the accommodation provided was below your expectations and you didn't have a great stay. I thank you for highlighting the friendliness of our staff. Please do not hesitate to contact myself if I can be of any assistance in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's got to be the best location in town. We love staying here, not only for the location but the wonderful staff who always go that bit extra to make it a great stay. I would come back for the great food and coffee alone, but it's just the ultimate downtown location which is the icing on the cake! Took... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug249
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Doug249, Melbourne is a fantastic city to explore and I’m thrilled that you found our location a convenient base for your visit. I'm pleased that our staff made such a wonderful impression on you. I'll be sure to pass on your fantastic feedback regarding the meal to our Executive Chef. Thank you again & we look forward to welcoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

358 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#100 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#104 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $85 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay