We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,250: English reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

Whilst waiting for my friends, allowed to park at the concierge without having to hand my car keys over for reparking. Great way to feel part of the hotel even when visiting patrons of the hotel. You can even help yourself to a glass of lemon water and browse the brochures offered by the lounge sets. Way to go pamper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poiora
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Poiora, I smiled reading your comment, I am glad we made you feel part of the hotel and you were presented with an opportunity to experience the hotel teams warmth and friendliness. I hope to see you stay with us in the future. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager

Colac, Australia
Reviewed May 27, 2015

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the weekend it was great location to explore the CBD, South Wharf & Southbank. Overall the room was pleasant and reasonably good value for the money. Our room was at the very end of the hallway and therefore next to the service elevator although not constantly used through the night it was early in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank downunderdelos
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear downunderdelos, Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you were able to explore the CBD, South Wharf and Southbank. We believe we are privileged to be located in the heart of the action. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager

Geraldton, Australia
Reviewed May 26, 2015

Great hotel, very close to Casino, shopping & great restaurants. Very helpful staff with tidy comfortable rooms. Walked to Ethiad Stadium then back to hotel, then on to the casino where there where so many restaurants to choose from. Loved every minute

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niksta2015
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Niksta2015, It sounds like you had a delightful stay whilst at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne, thank you for your feedback. I am happy you got to experience Etihad stadium and casino. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed May 24, 2015

Just stayed at the Crown Plaza Melbourne - it was perfect. We stayed here as we were attending a show in the city. It was close to everything & the view from the room was an added bonus. The staff were friendly & the room was very clean & comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMD2556
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear GMD2556, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your time both at the show and at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I will pass on your compliments to our friendly staff and look forward to your next visit with us. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager

Reviewed May 22, 2015

We booked an impromptu night at this hotel which included breakfast. The room was fine with a great river view from which we could watch the flames that evening along Southbank! Especially given that we were on the top floor. My young son loved it! The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choices for everyone. We were also given a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fussyeater66
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear fussyeater66, It sounds like you had a wonderful impromptu stay with us at the Crowne Plaza, thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed the view from your room and breakfast. If you aren't an IHG member already please do sign up for free to our loyalty program, IHG Rewards at the IHG website as all members...

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 20, 2015

The location is good; you can step outside and get on to a tram. We had a fair-sized room with great views over the river, and I thought the price was good value for river views. Its a shame about the rather dark and dingy corridors, which I thought were a bit 3* rather than 4*, because everything else is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg548
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Greg548, I appreciate your feedback and agree with you, the tram stop located directly outside our hotel is very handy especially now that it is includes free travel around the CBD. With reference to your wifi access, as an IHG Rewards Club member it is complimentary for all members. If you have not signed up already, please do so...

Reviewed May 19, 2015

I recently stayed at the Crown Plaza whilst attending a Conference and found the hotel, room and staff all to be excellent. The view from my room was also fantastic (thanks to a free upgrade) and the hotel's location is ideal for visitors and business travellers alike.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tembiewembie
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear tembiewembie, Thank you for your lovely feedback, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza. I will pass on your compliments to our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager

Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on May 13, 2015 in room 450. I definitely got bed bug bites, and I have since seen them in my home and now have to pay an exterminator $1,000. I called the hotel, and I was told they have had no other complaints, which is clearly not true as there is another review on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Biz-traveler7774
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Biz,traveler7774, Please note we have not taken your feedback lightly and called in the exterminator to make a full report immediately. As per the exterminator report. there was no evidence to support bed bugs being evident. I am more than happy to provide you with the third party report, please email me at cameron.abbott@ihg.com and I will send to...

Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night for work, late check in so no meal. Felt like I was staying in a nursing home, possibly because they put me into a wheelchair-friendly room. Gym is ok, serves as a great thoroughfare for the staff too. All up, bland, disappointing, service isn't great, in desperate need of a refurb and the wifi drops out....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LozVox212
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear LozVox212, It disheartens me to read your feedback. I would be grateful if you were to contact me at Cameron.Abbott@IHG.com so I can discuss in more detail your experience. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed May 17, 2015

I booked a king suite and we were afforded a great top floor view of the Yarra which was nice although I found the bathroom to be somewhat of a disappointment. A shower over a bath in a room with a rate of $350+ a night is poor in my opinion. The room was comfortable enough and the mini bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Themadmagpie
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Themadmagpie, I appreciate your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room. I agree with you, we are located in a great position with Spencer Street and Southbank Promenade all within an easy walk. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

453 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (401)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (178)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
2,190 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
3,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Price Range: $119 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room overlooking crown or southwarf would be a nice view.”
  • View towards Crown
  • Standard room with a view towards Crown.
 of 5 bubbles KTC3438, 4 days ago | Read review
“Higher floors with river views maybe quieter”
 of 5 bubbles BarbC181, 1 week ago | Read review
“choose a kingsize room soooo comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles marthaa483, 1 week ago | Read review
“Level 7 is great and room 717, has two double beds”
 of 5 bubbles Tiger37, 1 week ago | Read review
“Views of the river are best”
 of 5 bubbles TeacherHanoi, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay