We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,149: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a really great location. The front desk staff and concierge were very helpful and courteous. My room was very clean. My only complaint is with the self parking. There are no in and out privileges and the lot is about 1.5 city blocks away. It's kind of a trek with your luggage. Not to mention it's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chicagolver
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear chicagolver, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am sorry that the self-parking option was not what you were expecting. Regretfully we are limited with our car parking options, however we do seek to find the best resolution for all our guests. Our Front Offic e and Concierge teams will be delighted to read your kind words. I agree... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay up until 30min before checkout when a staff member opened our hotel room door without knocking beforehand on my half naked wife that's 26weeks pregnant, Staff member just said "O" then closed the door. Complained to reception desk girl on checkout and her only comment was "sorry to here that, they should knock three times first, I'll... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank David B
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear David B, Please accept my sincerest apologies. By no means is this the standard, nor is the way your concern was handled what I would expect. It is clear we have failed in two keys areas. I would greatly welcome the opportunity to connect with you personally and ask if you would please send me your contact details to... More 

Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
582 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

The service is good, location is excellent. But the hotel is now quite dated and certainly looking tired in some areas. Bathroom is very ordinary and more like a motel. No shaver or many other bathroom accessories which I un fortunately needed. Would have to say it is only OK.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Chris C, I appreciate your feedback. Whilst we do not stock every bathroom amenity in our guests rooms, please note that should you need anything again, please do let us know. We have plenty of solutions available for our guests who mistakenly leave their personable items at home. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

An amazing hotel in melbourne. Great position close to trams shops the casino. We have stayed at many hotels in melbourne and I would rate this hotel number 1. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are cosy with gorgeous views. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the food. The breakfast is also excellent. Free wifi I will definitely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Taube K
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Taube K, Thank you for your lovely feedback, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your view and both of your dining experiences. We welcome you back anytime. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

The hotel overall is getting a bit old. Bathroom had some cracks and was showing signs of wear and tear. Mattresses felt a bit old and sagged in the middle. All of the common areas felt a bit dated too. The worst part for me is that they have a typically overpriced mini bar in the room which was checked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank donga100
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear dong100, Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for the mini bar confusion, I will be personally investigating with housekeeping as to why your room was checked unnecessarily. I am delighted to read you had a fantastic experience with our reception and concierge desk. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Very disappointing for an Intercontinental Chain hotel with 4.5 stars! I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Hotel entrance looks like a delivery entrance, not what you expect for the price paid and poor customer service, with reception staff too busy trying to trump your comments with a know it all attitude. Everything costs extra. This hotel has no on site car... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank DXBTTS
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear DXBTTS, It disheartens me to read your feedback. Could you please contact me at Cameron.Abbott@IHG.com to discuss how we can make your next stay with us a memorable one. If you are not already a IHG Rewards Member please sign up complimentary out our website, this will entitle you to free wifi during your stay with us and any... More 

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Crown Plaza Hotel in Melbourne is very good hotel located at a very very convenient location ( CBD). The staff is good. The room cleanliness is very good. Location also good. Will recommend for everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank tejas1283
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear tejas1283, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I agree with you, we are located in an ideal part of Melbourne with most things all within an easy walk. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your return next time you are in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

As usual, good stuff first: And I am a big fan of any organisation who pays attention to the small stuff. Room was upgraded - which I'm guessing is pretty standard when there's no reason not to based on other reviews - which I think is brilliant practice. It costs them 'nothing' for a later check-in to get into a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dredgy
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Dredgy, I appreciate your feedback and I agree with you, we are located in a very convenient location with restaurants, dfo and the casino all within an easy walk. I am delighted you enjoyed the fresh fruit on offer too. Please ask our friendly concierge for tram times when you stay with us next. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel... More 

Ballarat
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Good clean comfortable property. Check in took awhile but it's in great location so busy hotel. Bar prices are high but it's Melbourne so expected. Beds were so comfortable. Would stay again. Close to crown and the food and nightlife.

Helpful?
1 Thank KittyKatCarey
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear KittyKatCarey, Thank you for your feedback, it sounds like you had a comfortable stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Antony, France
Level Contributor
332 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is located along the river and was very convenient for me. Rooms are just ok but really old fashion such as the bathroom that is probably 20 years old! I used the fitness facilities that were just ok. Breakfast is really excellent as well as staff but this cannot justify the terribly excessive price!

Helpful?
2 Thank schuminou
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear schuminou, Thank you for your feedback, we are very lucky to be located in such a convenient part of Melbourne. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

409 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (347)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,329 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Price Range: $129 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay