We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Fraser Place Melbourne

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fraser Place Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

776 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 739: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Room like a dungeon Scary back alleyway entrance Aircon didn't work Foul stench coming through bathroom pipes View of cement wall Very aggressive and rude Asian receptionist .. Never encountered such a so called welcome I asked a few questions regarding different types of rooms I could have but she became very aggressive and started bad mouthing us as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for letting us know your feedback on your stay with us. It is very upsetting to read the negative feedback and the issues that you faced with our staff. It is something that we can definitely fix immediately and follow up with urgency. I can only apologize for the way that one of staff has... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pros: Clean, professional service, budget-friendly, good beds, strong water pressure in the shower. Moderately close to CBD and trams, fully-equipped kitchenette. Cons: Only one lift, located in an alley, no restaurants/bars/cafes/convenience stores nearby, unimpressive room layout and outfit. Furthermore, of the two rooms my family booked, one was a wheelchair-friendly room--which we did not request for. We were not informed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eaxele66
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Eaxele66, Thank you for your feedback. It's great that you enjoyed our clean apartments along with our friendly service and paid a great price. We find our location is great. It's a shame that you did not get to visit League cafe, Trunk Bar, QV shopping Centre, China Town and the Greek Precinct. In regards to the room that... More 

Latrobe, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to trams and CBD, staff were friendly and helpful, my only disappointments was no Bushels tea haha not a deal breaker small IGA 2 minutes if that away but the room deposit return to credit card does take several days to return and this may sway me in future not to return but this may be something hotel can... More 

Helpful?
Thank AllisonBarber
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear AllisonBarber, Thank you for letting us know the feedback on your stay with us. It's great that you enjoyed our location and found amenities to be close by. if you stay with us in the future, we may have to arrange your request for Bushels tea. In regards to the credit card pre-auth it does take several days for... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is right in the city and to get around on foot makes it easer then taxi. The room's are self contained to do self-catering, even tho you can B/B the breakfast self service and plenty of it as well, the staff helpful to help in eny way. If you doing a transfer when flinging in to Melbourne you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Mark H, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. You have painted a very true picture of what to expect when you stay with us. Sometimes it's not always translated that way. It gives us confidence and pleasure to know that our efforts and vision are understood. We thank you for staying with us and hope you return in the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 6 days at Fraser Place. What I love about this place is the location, service and cleanliness. Stayed at the 2nd tower ie the one at the back. The studio Room is slightly on the small side. Bed is very comfortable. There is a dishwasher, microwave, range, fridge and basic amenities provided. The rooms we had were at... More 

Helpful?
Thank nazlina2016
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear nazlina2016, Thank you for positive feedback on your stay with us. It is so nice that you enjoyed your apartment and found it comfortable. we do try and accommodate guests with basic useful amenities which adds to the comfort of your stay. I will be sure to pass on to Ubay and Carmen the friendly service that they gave... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lower you are the lesser light you are likely to get - ask for an upstairs room - level 2 is not at all like the pictures online - it may be rather a nice cave - apart from that the spaces are fine for a short stay.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank jmk682
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear jmk682, Thank you for your feedback. at our property we have many views and sides of the building. Some are lighter than others and we have all different types of rooms that are more suitable to the guests needs than others. We are happy to accept requests for particular rooms types and are also willing to work with our... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked studio room online through work for overnight stay. I walked back to the hotel around 7.30 PM through laneways as directed by Google Map. It's located in the small laneway in typical Melbourne CBD. It's quite confronting for a female traveller to walk through dark lane in the evening. The hotel is conveniently located about 1KM away from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Azriel77
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Azriel77, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your apartment and found it was well equipped along with comfort. It's great that you found our staff friendly and prompt too. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and found everything convenient to get to. We appreciate your concern... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really had a good stay here at Fraser Place Melbourne. I got an awesome deal on the Hotel Tonight app and it was an incredible value. My room was nice. Nice bed, very nice kitchenette, good bathroom. The view out the window was poor, but for the price I paid and being in a downtown area, I was fine... More 

Helpful?
Thank crouchingfeather
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear crouchingfeather, Thank you for your amazing feedback on your stay with us. It's great that you got a great deal too. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your apartment and found it had all the comforts that you required. If you return and stay with us in the future we can request that you have a different view. We... More 

Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful one week stay at this hotel - great location (near Chinatown, tram stops, State Library, malls) , spacious and comfortable rooms with kitchenette (one of our rooms even had a washing machine) and simple but delicious hot breakfast in our package. The only thing I didn't like was the sliding door to the bathroom - I... More 

Helpful?
Thank maysie
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear maysie, Thank you for your sincere and positive feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and you found your apartment comfortable. It's also great you enjoyed our location and found us close to everything that you needed. I will definitely let all of my staff know how well received their service was and it is a credit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

203 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (193)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#65 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#85 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#49 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighborhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $94 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay