We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Prince of Wales Hotel

55 Hampden Road | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Great location in Battery point, with a good bar and restaurant downstairs. Rooms are basic but do the job. Staff on the premises are very friendly. Free parking out the back and close to great restaurants like Da Angelos next door and Salamanca is a 5 min walk down the road. I paid about $100 a night which included a... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJG33
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back if you venture to Hobart again. Kind regards, Megan More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Have stayed here a few times. This is in a great location at the top of the stairs to Salamanca Place. Very convenient to get to the Market and Constitution Dock. Walking distance to Muirs, The Drunken Admiral and numerous restaurants and seafood outlets. The accommodation is old and needs a spruce up but the bed was comfortable and portable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Thx Aaron for the great beer in the best glasses, friendly pub that made us welcome . Great staff. Fantastic position close to everything and live music on the weekends. Good feeds at a great price and beers went down nice. Weekend stop over in Hobart. Thx POW

Helpful?
Thank Yaapeet
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the kind words! So glad you enjoyed your time at The Prince. The staff here are our biggest asset. Hope to see you back. Megan Childress More 

Bendigo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Service fantastic as is food AND price. $10 for T-bone steak chips and salad! No room in bar for counter meal so we were allowed to dine in the restaurant for the same price. Lovely waitress, nothing too much trouble. Live band, nice atmosphere. Will definitely go there again and will probably stay there next time.

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

We didn't stay there but had a great meal there, staff were very friendly,meals were well priced , within walking distance to Salamanca and CBD would eat there again! great little hotel with a great atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank marie t
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

The worst hotel in Hobart. The rooms are stuffy with central aircon not working. Even though it was cold outside, the room waz quite hot and stuffy. The entire hotel smells of stale alcohol including the carpets and the linen. The toilet was so smelly like it had never been cleaned and we were expected to get drinking water from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reshma N
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Reshma, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, if you would have mentioned any of this while you were here, we could have offered solutions. If the room was stuffy with it being cold outside, I'd recommend opening the windows or using the fan that is located in the cupboard. Also, it is a bar/hotel, which... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Prince of Wales for a week as I had started a new job but had not moved to Hobart yet. I found the room very adequate for my stay and was neat and clean. They provide the things for a light breakfast for in room dining. I also enjoyed a meal that was well prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank CC_N_AU
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm glad we provided a nice start to your stay in Hobart. Hope to see you around in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards, Megan More 

Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Excellent location, very reasonably priced, and basic but comfortable room. Pillows were pretty shocking in our room tho- hard and flat. Our shower leaked, but we told the staff on the way out, so hopefully it will be fixed- sad to waste a precious resource. Staff are great- nothing is too much trouble.

Helpful?
Thank OzsunriseQld
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

The hotel location is excellent and the rooms are old but still reasonably well kept. The biggest issue for us was that the hotel rooms are directly over the restaurant and bar and have very little sound proofing. If you want to enjoy a loud cover band from the comfort of your room, you will be pleased, but if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank matt l
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

We stayed in the Kelly Suite over Thursday/Good Friday. Excellent value for location: only gripe is the poor water pressure in the shower. Generous continental breakfast: toast/fruit salad/condiments. Prime parking. Close proximity to Salamanca markets/Pollen tea room/Jackman&McRoss bakery. Room away from pub so fairly peaceful except for party from a residential house.

Helpful?
Thank kiwim0z
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi KiwimOz, Thank you for taking the time for review us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Megan Childress Licensee More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#36 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Hobart
Central Hotel Hobart
#32 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#29 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macquarie Manor
Macquarie Manor
#28 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#31 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel Restaurant
Prince of Wales Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Hobart's historic Battery Point, The Prince of Wales Hotel has twelve 3 star en-suite rooms, an 80 seat restaurant and a modern popular bar. Suitable for all travelers wanting a central location within easy walking distance of Hobart's main attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: 55 Hampden Road | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $59 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hobart
Prince Of Wales Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay