We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Desert Cave Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Desert Cave Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were very much looking forward to retiring in our room as we travelled from Yulara to Coober Pedy this day. We very surprised with the friendliness and efficient service of the staff, they could not be more welcoming. After taking our gear to our room we ventured down stairs to the bar to have a quiet drink. Being underground... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kezza1912
Mount Barker, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Underground rooms are large, super quiet and super dark at night. I'd not stayed here since 1992 or so but we weren't disappointed - except for the underground bar which was cold and noisy with tiled floor and pool tables serving to eliminate any sense of cosiness on a cold night. The restaurant is nicely appointed with excellent friendly service... More 

Helpful?
Thank scrubby1249
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the unusual, a stay in an underground room is a must. Very comfortable room with all the mod concerns. Only constructive feedback is there does need to be easy access for those with a disability as restaurant has a large number of stairs. For those in our group who could not access the stairs, they were driven to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice766
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice766, Thanks fro taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Happy to read you stayed in one of our underground rooms. As you mention, our Restaurant does have rear access that guests and locals can drive directly to, therefore avoiding the stairs. Happy travels! Matt Coxon More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were very friendly and happy to have a chat in the restaurant and bar. Manager was very rude to us. Really needs to learn some people and communication skills. Rooms were nice and the underground museum was awesome and free. Jimmy the tour guide was full of information and took us to some amazing spots. Close to shops and... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor reviewer, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased our guide was able to show you around this amazing place. I am very concerned regarding one of our managers being 'rude' to you as this is not only unacceptable behavior, it is completely out of character for anyone on our team, as... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The concept of having a room in a cave is very original, and fitting for Coober Pedy. Staff was a little stiff. Wifi does not work in a cave, so hou have to go outside for that. Facilities are good. And if the lights are out it is very dark! Rooms was quite big too.

Helpful?
Thank Baim54
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Baim54, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Happy to read you were able to experience our 'cave' like rooms underground, which are very dark when the lights are out. Usually results in a great nights sleep. Happy travels! Matt Coxon More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was booked into The Desert Cave Hotel for a work trip. Staff were friendly, room was an above ground one, and quite spacious, but the bed was very hard, and the pillows supplied were all the same (no choice in comfort/height levels) Boring tea/coffee supplies, with small cups (who really drinks out of those any more?) instead of choice of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ashke1
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear askke1, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Sorry to read you had a problem with our stairs. Will look into why you were not informed of our restaurant's rear entrance and car park (at ground level) which many guests and locals drive directly to. We also have a disabled access ramp leading from... More 

Mount Gambier, SA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

Big hotel complex with lots of facilities including free underground opal mining self guided history tour, formal dining area, casual cafe (7am-7pm), late night bar, opal shops. They were able to accommodate us as a walk in guest at the same room rate being offered on last minute hotel sites. Our first room was underground (#16) and we weren't very... More 

Helpful?
Thank SandraJones
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SandraJones, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Just to clarify the white particles on the walls in the underground rooms are not mould but are actually salt which is due to the type of rock and soil the property is built into. The rooms also have a variety of bedding configurations depending on... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The Opal display, underground bar, opal shop and facilities are excellent but we found the room disappointing. The room was over the back near rhe laundry and may be a cheap room offered for "specials". There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, a vent out into the bed/sitting room made things a little uncomfortable after the Mr had used... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue S
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue S, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Sorry to read our older style room did not meet your expectations. We are reviewing these rooms with some improvements planned for 2017. I am glad the rest of our facilities were excellent. Happy travels! Matt Coxon More 

Palmerston, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

We loved this hotel, the room was first class, but the water pressure in the shower was pathetic, it took about half and hour for the hot water to come through and then the water was a little more than a dribble :( We booked in the find that anyone could park anywhere which was a bit of a problem... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robyn W, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Glad to read you loved the hotel and room. Sorry to read the shower pressure was not up to standard. Will look into this as guests usually comment on the great showers. Parking is a difficult one as most of our rooms are based underground,... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Didn't stay here but popped in for a couple of drinks in the underground bar. Nice setting and reasonable prices. Also went upstairs and above ground to the restaurant which seemed a bit posh compared to the rest of Coober Pedy! Dinner was delicious but not the best value for money if you're after a hearty meal. Staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane B, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. Pleased to read you were able to call into our underground bar for a drink and experience our restaurant Umbertos. We like to think of it as more of a nice, unexpected, casual dining experience rather than posh, as it is the only licenced a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 8 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 8 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 8 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Price Range: $108 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay