We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desert Cave Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Desert Cave Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was booked into The Desert Cave Hotel for a work trip. Staff were friendly, room was an above ground one, and quite spacious, but the bed was very hard, and the pillows supplied were all the same (no choice in comfort/height levels) Boring tea/coffee supplies, with small cups (who really drinks out of those any more?) instead of choice of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ashke1
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear askke1, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Sorry to read you had a problem with our stairs. Will look into why you were not informed of our restaurant's rear entrance and car park (at ground level) which many guests and locals drive directly to. We also have a disabled access ramp leading from... More 

Mount Gambier, SA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Big hotel complex with lots of facilities including free underground opal mining self guided history tour, formal dining area, casual cafe (7am-7pm), late night bar, opal shops. They were able to accommodate us as a walk in guest at the same room rate being offered on last minute hotel sites. Our first room was underground (#16) and we weren't very... More 

Helpful?
Thank SandraJones
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SandraJones, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Just to clarify the white particles on the walls in the underground rooms are not mould but are actually salt which is due to the type of rock and soil the property is built into. The rooms also have a variety of bedding configurations depending on... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Opal display, underground bar, opal shop and facilities are excellent but we found the room disappointing. The room was over the back near rhe laundry and may be a cheap room offered for "specials". There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, a vent out into the bed/sitting room made things a little uncomfortable after the Mr had used... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue S
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue S, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Sorry to read our older style room did not meet your expectations. We are reviewing these rooms with some improvements planned for 2017. I am glad the rest of our facilities were excellent. Happy travels! Matt Coxon More 

Palmerston, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this hotel, the room was first class, but the water pressure in the shower was pathetic, it took about half and hour for the hot water to come through and then the water was a little more than a dribble :( We booked in the find that anyone could park anywhere which was a bit of a problem... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robyn W, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Glad to read you loved the hotel and room. Sorry to read the shower pressure was not up to standard. Will look into this as guests usually comment on the great showers. Parking is a difficult one as most of our rooms are based underground,... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Didn't stay here but popped in for a couple of drinks in the underground bar. Nice setting and reasonable prices. Also went upstairs and above ground to the restaurant which seemed a bit posh compared to the rest of Coober Pedy! Dinner was delicious but not the best value for money if you're after a hearty meal. Staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane B, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. Pleased to read you were able to call into our underground bar for a drink and experience our restaurant Umbertos. We like to think of it as more of a nice, unexpected, casual dining experience rather than posh, as it is the only licenced a... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped over in the way back to Melbourne from Uluru. Check in was a little slow to get sorted lol. We were chance guests and first were given a twin bedded room. Went back to reception sent to a double (not made up) 3rd time lucky a double room upstairs. (No lift ). A little dated but it was clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nikki C, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Sorry the check-in process was not as smooth as it normally should be. Glad you enjoyed the room and shower, and got the chance to take in our free underground display tunnel. Happy to read you enjoyed the food in Umbertos restaurant. Will pass your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in an underground room - what an experience! So quiet - no windows = no noise. Bed was comfy, room was lovely and the earth walls are amazing. The only downside - laundry was sub standard. very old washing machine that kept getting unbalanced. The bathroom is small and outdated, however this was really offset by the beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sweetcheeks800
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sweetcheeks800, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Glad you were able to enjoy the underground experience and what would have resulted in a great nights sleep. Will look into the laundry washing machines to ensure they are in good working order. Look forward to welcoming you again sometime. Happy travels, Matt Coxon More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I called into the Crystal Café of the hotel for breakfast this morning. I soon had the muesli and cappuccino I ordered, but still found time to take in the pleasant ambiance. I then took the opportunity to look around some more of this very impressive venue.

Helpful?
Thank Ian A
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian A, Thanks for visiting and taking the time to review your breakfast in our Crystal Cafe. Always happy to help guests and those passing by to get a good coffee and start the day. Happy travels, Matt Coxon More 

Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

To say this was an experience is an understatement,sleeping below ground,cool,comfortable,relaxing and surreal. The room was huge,the bed so comfortable,the service was exceptional and extreme friendly,all the facilities you would expect from a hotel room.Yes,getting there is a bit of a trek but one you will be happy to do and remember for the rest of your life.Please try visiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Redfred172
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Redfred172, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Very happy to read you enjoyed your experience here with us. I'm glad our staff were able to provide such great service. Will pass your comments onto the team. Happy travels! Matt Coxon More 

Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

A must stay if you visit Cobber Pedy. Most unique underground rooms with original clay dug out walls. Magnificent gallery and hallways. Wheelchair friendly. Very comfortable and conveniently located. Friendly staff. Food is great too! Definitely recommended!

Helpful?
Thank hollyhou
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hollyhou, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review on your recent stay with us. Friendly, comfortable, convenient and recommended are what we aim to achieve. Happy to read the food was great as well. Happy travels! Matt Coxon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 8 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 8 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 8 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Price Range: $111 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay