We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
10/29/2017 10/30/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Backpack OZ

    144 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    SAVE $32
    Traveler (9)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (41)
    • Excellent31%
    • Very good42%
    • Average19%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible4%
    Travelers talk about
    “free bbq” (23 reviews)
    “free breakfast” (19 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Air Conditioning
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Oct 29Oct 30
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    View all 19 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (145)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 114 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    By this hostel, nearby Rundle Mall and other places, is this easy to find. Visit the Myer shopping mall and enjoy from here the city. The atmosphere is always excellent and it’s a place to feel really safe. Australians are very helpful, so I see...More

    Thank Jonas Olivier P
    Reviewed August 24, 2017

    The hostel was a little worn out, but everything was fresh and there's nothing really to complain about. Free good Wifi, free breakfast, good kitchen facilities and close to Cbd. However, do not forget that this place is a hostel and you get what you...More

    Thank ellen j
    Reviewed April 28, 2017

    I had booked this property as most of Adelaide was sold out during the Australia day weekend. I had gone out for a conference and before I left this rude woman with a German accent on the front desk just threw the room keys at...More

    Thank vermilion777
    Response from BackpackOz, Manager at Backpack OZResponded June 1, 2017

    Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. Yes the luggage storage for guests staying in dorm style rooms is the in the underbed storage lockers. This...More

    Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

    We stayed for 2 nights in a private room in The Guesthouse, which is a separate building across the street. The kitchen had all the essentials and was clean whenever we were using it. Breakfast basics (toast, cereal, tea and coffee) were a welcome inclusion....More

    Thank TravelingRenae
    Response from BackpackOz, Manager at Backpack OZResponded June 1, 2017

    Hi and thanks for taking the time to write about your positive experience during your stay at the Guest House. All the best Backpack OZ and the Guest House

    Reviewed March 29, 2017

    This place was amazing. Everything I needed exactly when I need it. Staff were absolutely incredible, very helpful and friendly. The energy in the hostel is energetic, fun, and friendly. Great place to meet people. I think there was a free breakfast offered each morning...More

    Thank KatieFromCanadia
    Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
    1,997 reviews
    #2 of 56 hotels in Adelaide
    Adabco Boutique Hotel
    1,142 reviews
    #5 of 56 hotels in Adelaide
    Pullman Adelaide
    1,691 reviews
    #7 of 56 hotels in Adelaide
    Ibis Adelaide
    1,329 reviews
    #10 of 56 hotels in Adelaide
    • Top amenities
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • $20 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 65
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Backpack OZ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • South Australia >
    • Greater Adelaide >
    • Adelaide
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (9)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (41)
    Sponsored by:
    Pullman Adelaide
    1,691 reviews
    .34 miles away
    Adabco Boutique Hotel
    1,142 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Ibis Adelaide
    1,329 reviews
    .32 miles away
    Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
    1,997 reviews
    .36 miles away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Luigi Delicatessen
    432 reviews
    .10 miles away
    Hut & Soul
    48 reviews
    .18 miles away
    Louca's Seafood Restaurant
    82 reviews
    .02 miles away
    Seven Stars Hotel Restaurant
    77 reviews
    .16 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Top Dog Tours
    6 reviews
    .35 miles away
    Victoria Square/ Tarntanyangga
    110 reviews
    .38 miles away
    Town Hall
    62 reviews
    .39 miles away
    St Francis Xavier Cathedral
    60 reviews
    .28 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    catherine w
    October 19, 2014|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Aiseik | Reviewed this property |
    Yes you can. All of hostels there are with kitchen, so you can cook raw foods and keep them in fridge if you can't finish them. Central Market is the biggest traditional market in Adelaide which nearby Chinatown, the prices... More
    Google Translation
    Room Tips
    "On the ground floor is the best place to stay."
    Read review
    "whatever you do, don't lose your swipe card and bring spare sheets"
    Read review
    "Go for rooms away from the main road"
    Read review
    "High floors!!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing