We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Save
Share
120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (677)
Room & Suite (317)
Dining (110)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 69 hotels in Adelaide
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to Rundle Mall, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide Central Markets, Adelaide Convention Centre and the central business district. Our most recent accolades include 2017 ‘Best Deluxe Accommodation’ at the Australian Hotels Association SA Awards, 2017 ‘Best Restaurant in a Hotel’ at the SA Restaurant and Catering Awards, 2017 ‘Best Luxury Accommodation’ at the South Australian Tourism Awards plus many more.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2819Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,765
  • 758
  • 210
  • 48
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gavin wrote a review Dec 2021
Perth, Australia2 contributions
I would like to commend Maurits (Hotel GM) and his team for doing everything to make the 14 day quarantine as bearable as possible. Having quarantined a few times in WA hotels before, I must say that the South Australian hospitality at The Playford is by far the best! Keep up the good work and thank you again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded Dec 9, 2021
Dear Road54126167529, Thank you so much for the great review and I have shared it with the team. Not an easy period for all of us and therefore we need to make sure we take care of each other the best we can. I did my 14 days as well and it is not easy but doable. Hopefully this was your last time and we do hope to see you back once we reopen. Warm regards Maurits
Read more
Stephanie B wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
I have been meaning to write this review for a while now. I was lucky enough to be transferred to this hotel to finish my hotel quarantine after the first hotel provided me with two rooms which were filthy and unhygienic. I was a bit wary about how staff would react when I was transferred as I was well aware from the attitude of staff at the other hotel that I had been labelled as a ‘trouble maker’ due to my complaints about my uncleaned rooms and sleeping on the same sheets as the person before me. When I arrived I was greeted by a Manager Reece and could feel that he was very apprehensive to have me there, by his body language and tone of voice, which I felt was due to what staff had told him about me from the Stamford Plaza. Maybe I was being over sensitive but I had been through a rough few months and then a rough couple of days at the other hotel. I felt he could have been more compassionate to what had occurred at the other hotel, rather than taking what he was told at face value (assuming this is why he acted in this way toward me). I was very lucky to be given a beautiful room which was very clean. The reception staff were wonderful and kind, as were the nurses and SAPOL. I really enjoyed interacting with the other guests through the Facebook group and enjoyed participating in the quiz. It is evident that higher management run this hotel to an impeccable standard and I found all of the staff except for one to be wonderfully kind. I didn’t eat the food as I am particular in my diet and I wanted to avoid opening the door as much as possible. I did however ask to have the going away cake the day before I left. It was some of the best cake I have ever had. I look forward to going back for dinner in the restaurant when the hotel reopens. I am very appreciative to the Playford for taking me in and allowing me to finish my quarantine there after my horrible experience elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded Jul 15, 2021
Dear F1478NUstephanie, Thank you so much for your great review and very happy to read that you have enjoyed the second part of your quarantine here at the Playford Hotel. We are trying to do our best to create the best experience as possible as for a lot of guests it is very challenging period. I have noticed you comments regarding the welcome and do apologize for that but wanted to confirm we do not talk to the hotels about guests, we focus on our own hotel and to keep everyone safe. We would love to have you back once we reopen and I must say we cannot wait to go back to normal. Again thank you for the great review and have shared it with the team. Kind regards Maurits
Read more
Sam A wrote a review Apr 2021
Geylang, Singapore11 contributions14 helpful votes
Sometimes you get lucky and you don't even know it. Being allocated to the Playford Hotel as part of quarantine was the best thing that could have happened to me. 1. There was large opening window/balcony facing the street - is a must for quarantine 2. The effort the staff go to make you feel welcome and tend to your needs is amazing. They really put themselves in your shoes and are dedicated and attentive. 3. The food was excellent and and tailored to dietary requirements. Any changes or special requests were no problem. 4. When General manager get on the bus before you enter the hotel and welcomes you, you know there is a real care factor. (Apparently he does this for every bus load. In summary when I do come back to Adelaide and things are back to normal, this will be my Hotel of choice based on how I was treated over the past 12 days (3 to go) Thanks team. Sebastiano (Sam)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded May 2, 2021
Dear Sam, Thank you for the amazing review and we hope to see you in Adelaide again once we go back to some kind of normal. Hope you had a safe trip home. From the Playford team, Maurits
Read more
Smriti D wrote a review Apr 2021
Hamburg, Germany6 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a really wonderful experience in quarantine at The Playford. The food was exceptional, always delivered well packed and like clockwork just as our stomachs started to rumble. A beautiful, spacious two-level room, complete with a jacuzzi and french windows that allowed in some bracing air. The service was warm and efficient, no request was too much of a bother and so much thought and care were put into every aspect of our days with activities planned, regular updates offered and a clear system that ran so well. Not often do you leave a medi-hotel hotel and think you'll come back if you can. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded May 2, 2021
Dear Smriti D, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we do hope to see you back once we reopen, we will keep you posted. Enjoy your freedom and wish you all the best. From the Playford team, Maurits
Read more
J Jones wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This review is late coming... we had such a positive experience at the Playford and can't thank the team enough. Professionalism, humour and a can do attitude. I could tell the staff really cared about making the stay for their guests the best possible. Lovely clean room, fresh air an absolute godsend, amazing freshly cooked meals (and flexibility to change to accommodate weird diet needs and fussy children). The team had clearly thought about how to make a stay memorable - just EVERYTHING was excellent. Fingers crossed when the weirdness of Covid eases, we will come back and reminisce and meanwhile have told everyone we know to support this hotel when visiting Adelaide.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sebel playford adelaide hotel adelaide, sebel playford adelaide, sebel playford hotel adelaide
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideAdelaide
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Which popular attractions are close to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Nearby attractions include Unique Opal Mine Pty Ltd (0.2 miles), The Rundle Mall Pigs (0.2 miles), and Beehive Corner Building (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haigh's, Georges, and Peel Street.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Adelaide.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.