We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Show Prices
#15 of 59 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Panoramas (10)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,484: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights for the cricket, check in staff where really average. Wish i had of got the ladies name as she was quite rude. We arrived early to drop our bags off and asked if we could do early check in. The lady advised the rooms where being cleaned however return at 11am (we arrived at 6am)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed one night only in Nov 2016. This hotel is central, with great staff, a very comfortable and quiet room. The area surrounding the hotel is on the seedier side and may not be everyone's 'cup of tea'. About a 12 minute walk to the central markets where food for all types of taste can be found.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel itself wasn't the worst. Had everything it needed. The service by the reception needed improvement. There was a lot of attitude and sass where it was not required. I'm paying you money for a nice stay, not to be met with an angry tone. I ordered a breakfast with my room booking but it was never explained that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo K
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback Theo. I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and surprised to hear it is due to service as we generally receive very positive feedback in this area. I will be sure to speak with the team members you encountered to ensure we are consistently providing the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had to go down to Adelaide with work and they booked me into this 1/4 star hotel !! I ended up being moved to 4 different rooms in a 10 hr period !! The 1st room stunk so bad from drainage problems …they moved me The next room was so noisy at midnight they moved just myself ( not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jodielee22565
Canberra
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location. This hotel is in a very unsavoury area. The people loitering around the area and dosing in doorways were rather threatening. The lifts were not working, and had not been working for at least a week or so. Allegedly this was due to recent storms, however the storm were a number or weeks ago, and all other hotels in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dagadae
St Andrews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 4 nights here and couldn't fault the hotel. The staff were excellent. For the first 3 days none of the elevators were operating as the control room was severely damaged a week prior due to a bad stairs that hit Adelaide. The staff made sure that the patrons were not put out and gave us the use of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
Gosford
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't believe the photos, the gloss has truly worn off what was possibly once a grand establishment. The facilities are very outdated and dirty. The bathroom was mouldy and the wall vent had collected dust balls the size of grapes. The rooms were tired including old worn furniture, marks on walls, damage to the bottom of doors. We heard showers...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CourtsJ
Mount Gambier
Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a nice clean motel, quite modern and fresh. So convenient with rundle mall being a short stroll away. Motel staff very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was a must! Will definitely stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janellepovey
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay without breaking the bank Close to all entertainment & Shopping. Friendly staff good food great bar.The room we had was a good size Has a nice outdoor Pool. If you need to bring your car it has a good secure carpark.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clivekristinav
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying here four days and second day in all i can say Fantastic. Heart of the city everything is so closeSuite we are staying at its clean roomy and the bathroom is sparkling clean. Keep up the good work. Ill definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snezana G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

360 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen (26)
Viewed
Executive King (28)
Viewed
Executive Twin (24)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool and Spa (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#9 of 59 in Adelaide
1,108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 59 in Adelaide
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 59 in Adelaide
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 59 in Adelaide
1,814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range: $85 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Executive room was great”
 of 5 bubbles 424kellym, 2 days ago | Read review
“Executive king was a spacious room”
 of 5 bubbles 40sharonp, 1 week ago | Read review
“Away from Hindley Street”
 of 5 bubbles geoffy694, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The south side would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles arbruse, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Higher and away from Hindley St is better.”
 of 5 bubbles TanjungBaraDiver, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay