We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

One&Only Hayman Island

Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
One&Only Hayman Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for One&Only Hayman Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 835: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed February 20, 2015

This is a beautiful place to stay. The staff are excellent, friendly and efficient. Rooms are very well designed and large with balconies. Ours had a great ocean view. Lovely beach and pools. Restaurants good also. Hard to find fault as scenery is so good. Only downside was we were advised not to swim in sea as it was stinger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendywalsh
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay. Looking forward to your next visit. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Being a frequent traveller (all classes and holiday types) and truly capable of differentiating, this place is a rip-off. Why are we writing the review: Warning other people, hoping to have the biggest leverage on Mngt. to change the way the place is run. We spent our money, don't waste yours. And, yes, one of the only places we havn't...

 Report
Helpful?
19Thank Fabio B
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review. It is disappointing to hear that your recent stay with us was less than perfect. I would very much value the opportunity to speak to you directly, if you would kindly contact me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Asker, Norway
Reviewed February 20, 2015

We stayed for 8 nights in July 2013. The boat trip from Hamilton Island was fantastic, and the hotel was Nice. Service ok, that's it, experienced better ! Nice walks around the Island and a great boat trip to Great Barrier Reef😊😊😊

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ester802
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

One and only is a beautiful hotel !!! The rooms are excellent and the staff is very nice and helpful. The food at all the restraunts is great. The Chinese food at the hotel is amazing. Everywhere on the resort the staff was very friendly and courteous . The rainforest massage is amazing and the spa is great !! Gym...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arjun T
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed everything about your stay from the dining to the service. The rainforest massage is truly an indulgent treatment not to be missed. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed February 19, 2015

We were two very well traveled couples that each stayed in ocean front suites on the top floor and arrived after spending a week in Sydney at a 5 star boutique hotel near the harbor. The price and hype of this destination was something we have seen and experienced before at other 5 star locations around the world therefore we...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank JE_World_Travel
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. It is disappointing to hear about the service shortfalls you experienced during your recent stay with us. While we do have management in all areas and I am always available to our guests, there were clearly miscommunications here, which is very unfortunate. I would very much like to speak with you directly, however as...

brisbane
Reviewed February 13, 2015

Fresh paint, old resort with below average service and expensive. The resort is tired and a fresh coat of paint doesn't cut it and it needs some attention, however the service was terrible. The lack of service was a surprise and it didn't get better over the 4 days. We had to ask for menu's ask for another drink, chase...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank jamick77
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would value to opportunity to speak with you directly in regards to your recent stay, if you could please email me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Australia
Reviewed February 11, 2015

We enjoyed the Premium Ocean View Room, but the Pool side rooms also looked good if being right by the pool is preferable. We tried all the restaurants and our favourite was Amici, as there were enough Italian dishes to choose from and we came across the best waiter there. Fire was also quite good, but expensive. We didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank globetravel8
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear you were able to experience the beauty of Langford Island and see the famous Heart Reef from the air – there is truly nothing like it. Your feedback in regards to your fantastic facial will certainly be passed along to our wonderful One&Only Spa team. Looking forward to hosting you again...

Southampton
Reviewed February 8, 2015

The location of this hotel resort is truly amazing. I understand that the One & Only group only recently took this over. They need to apply the training standards that must be applied at One & Only hotels somewhat urgently. Some of the staff are brilliant but there are plenty that fall way below the mark. It has the potential...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Geoffrey C
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. While it certainly sounds like you enjoyed some elements of your recent stay, it is disappointing to hear that it wasn't a completely perfect experience. I would very much value the opportunity to speak with you directly, if you would kindly email me on general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed February 6, 2015

We loved the hotel. It's been recently renovated (although one can still notice it is an old property). Rooms are excellent! Service was very good. Restaurants were also nice, but I believe there is room for improvement.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JulianaSM
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

houston
Reviewed February 3, 2015

This iconic resort has indeed been renovated recently. it is now a 4 star property at a 5 star location with 2 star service. The rooms are nice but odd with bathtubs in the middle of the sleeping area and quirky placement of bath fixtures. The more important takeaway is the incredible indifference to the needs and desires of the...

 Report
Helpful?
22Thank whatacrock
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would really like to speak with you directly, if you would kindly email me on general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

793 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (784)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (116)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (428)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayman Island
20.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
235 reviews
20.6 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,266 reviews
20.4 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
17.2 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
18.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This place is temporarily closed due to a cyclone. It will reopen once repairs are complete in mid-2018. One&Only Hayman Island, in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef presents astonishing natural beauty, restorative peace, indulgence and adventure. Australia's iconic private island resort is located off the coast of Queensland, nestled at the northernmost point of the Whitsunday archipelago, beyond verdant cliffs reaching into endless sky. Within this private island resort, stylish elegance reflects the harmony of nature with beautifully appointed accommodation set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea. Discover endless opportunities to delight the senses in a place where the beauty of nature inspires each day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about One&Only Hayman Island

Address: | Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hayman Island
Price Range: $593 - $1,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Hayman Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Hayman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayman Great Barrier Reef Hotel Hayman Island
Hayman Island Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and other travelers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Large suite, close to the lagoon.”
CTreviewers, 1 week ago | Read review
“The Poolside suites are great. Ask for the rooms at the end of the building. You won't hear anything except the wind and the birds.”
JDBSYD, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher floors have sea views”
Sandy56Melbourne, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms as far as i could tell face the ocean.”
SamT2121, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Sadly I am not sure if you can stay anymore”
TraceyLea2013, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates