We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Hayman Island Resort

Save
Share
4801 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$879
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/17/21
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com$879
Booking.com$879
CheapTickets$879
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (437)
Pool & Beach (164)
Room & Suite (72)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterContinental Hayman Island Resort
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to a new era of immersive luxury in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment your feet hit the sand after your luxury charter transfer from Hamilton Island, you’ll discover unforgettable island experiences where exploring the world-famous Heart Reef by air, turquoise swirls of Whitehaven Beach by boat or remote rainforest mountains by foot is just the beginning. Located on a pristine 400-hectare private island on the northernmost point of the Whitsundays, the resort features 168 rooms, suites and villas across three distinct wings. Completing the immersive on-island experience is five world-class restaurant & bars, a brand-new luxury spa with 11 treatment rooms, all-new resort boutique, Planet Trekkers kids club and an activity collection that connects you with the Great Barrier Reef's most iconic experiences by water and air. Discover a place of visual and visceral beauty so deep, it will leave you feeling transformed.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Snorkeling
Squash
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
279Reviews38Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 179
  • 30
  • 27
  • 24
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tom W wrote a review Apr 16
Thornlands, Australia1 contribution
Breathtaking views, cool breeze, the architecture enveloped us for the many days we spent on this beautiful resort on this spectacular island. It’s amazing to see true nature up close and we loved every single minute of it. We equally enjoyed our dinner experience at each venue on the resort but out favourite was Pacific all hands down. It was refreshing to see an array of great cuisine coupled with immaculate service. I would like give a shout out to my server “Kaleem” who went above and beyond with his service discipline. Didn’t disappoint. The bloke served us for breakfast and dinner and his finesse showed how much he loves his job. Kudos! You beautiful Island we will be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Peter P wrote a review Apr 11
1 contribution3 helpful votes
During my stay I provided detailed feedback on the quality of the hotel, and a food poisoning incident following being served >day old produce (left over from the buffet). Not a thing was done to address this in stay. Following the stay, I received an email from the General Manager asking for feedback on the stay. Last week I provided the General Manager with the opportunity to respond and address issues at the resort prior to me posting this review. The silence from the InterContinental Hayman Island was appalling and shows the little regard held for true customer service and real customer delight. When paying the price a resort such as Hayman Island commands, very little was up to service standards, let alone exceeding basic expectations. Each day I needed to follow up to ensure the rooms were cleaned and amenities restocked - with follow-up phone calls required after 5pm, despite me having selected the 'make-up room' option. There was a distinct lack of cleaning in common areas, where cups had been left out lying around in the same spot for days, and it was clear that staff allocated to support over the Easter break had minimal training, as they did not know where restaurants were (despite there being only 4 real options). As mentioned, dinner at the pacific was woeful. The worst quality sashimi I have ever had, and the reason it wat cut really thick and fell apart according to the chef was that it was the freshest and best sashimi available... this is not true and that it made me sick afterwards is evidence that the produce was old. Nothing was done during the stay to manage this, nor after when I provided direct feedback to the resort General Manager. This shows how little regard the InterContinental team at Hayman Island hold for the customer experience they provide. The above was compounded by a dinner service at the pacific that took over two hours for mains to be served, with the kitchen forgetting to prepare our meals. A really disappointing moment of the trip. The island itself is lovely, and the staff are lovely, however the hands off approach by management and the lack of leaning forward to deliver a positive experience is beyond surprising and led to a really disappointing experience with this hotel chain.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: really bad service experience. Best rooms are with pool views.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arpad Romandy, General Manager at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Peter, firstly please allow me to offer you a sincere apology for not responding to your email directly. Unfortunately due to a breakdown in our feedback process, I did not receive your email directly. This issue in our post-stay feedback form has now been rectified so that I will receive all feedback moving forward, however I apologize that this issue effected you. I wish to assure you that your important comments regarding Pacific have been escalated to our department head for further action, If you are open to discussing your comments further, please do reach out via arpad.romandy1@ihg.com or privately message your best contact details and I will make it a priority to reach out to you.
Read more
Aniles wrote a review Apr 9
Biggera Waters, Australia144 contributions66 helpful votes
The views and look of the hotel is absolutely stunning. However it seriously lacks bar service, food quality and room service. Our fridge, aircon and safe didn’t work. After a few attempts to rectify and a changed room the hotel didn’t care anymore and told us we had to deal with it. Room service is few and far between. You’re lucky if your room is serviced by 6pm or even at all. Wait staff and bar staff are rude and the cocktails never tasted good. Food was expensive and very poor quality and often not even hot. Event staff on the beach were nice and friendly. It’s a shame because it is very expensive and they have the potential to be a 5 star resort. Lots of improvements to be made. Maybe start listening to guests and caring about what they have to say!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arpad Romandy, General Manager at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Aniles12, thank you for providing such detailed feedback. At InterContinental Hayman Island Resort we pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and to hear that we did not meet your expectations is disappointing. I would like to personally apologize for the issues you experienced with room service, and with the level of service that some members of our team provided you with. We will use this feedback to drive further staff training in our restaurants and bars, and we strive to ensure more efficient room service is provided to our valued guests.
Read more
Dee G wrote a review Apr 6
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Starting with the Pro's, the rooms are beautiful. We had a 2 bed suite which had a great space for a family of 5 with older teens. Location of the hotel is stunning and despite having bad weather for the entire time, it was still a beautiful spot. Service is mostly good. We had some waitstaff who went out of their way for us and some who seemed to be over it. Now for the cons; the prices are ridiculous. We knew we were heading to an expensive resort, the price of the room alone was crazy but once you are there- you have no choices for food expect the restaurants of the hotel. The average cost of dinner for our family of 5, would have been the same as eating in some of the top Sydney restaurants - however the quality of the food was no where near a top restaurant. Since it was raining, choices of activities was limited and in most other countries we have travelled, hotels will often put some type of activity on for the kids without charging but here nothing is included. Yoga is more expensive than any of the yoga classes I have attended in Sydney and charged $20 for our daughter to weave a bird out of grass. We have travelled to many luxury, expensive hotels here in Australia and around the world and this is the first time I have felt that we have been taken advantage of in terms of pricing and unseen costs. And on unseen costs, the tap water is heavily treated with chlorine so the taste is terrible so you are left to purchase bottled water at the cost of $8 per litre. To finish off, we would love to return to the Whitsundays but we will not be retuning to Hayman.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arpad Romandy, General Manager at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Sherpa, thank you for providing such thorough feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the resort's service, location and guest rooms, however, I would like to address the concerns you sighted in your feedback. Whilst we cannot control the tropical weather that the resort experiences during The Whitsunday's wet season, we appreciate that this limits the activities that you can experience during your stay. We have implemented yoga and weaving classes along with other activities to combat this but remain open to guest suggestions. In terms of water, we do offer complimentary water bottles to all guests upon check-in and guests are encouraged to fill these bottles up at filtered water stations placed around the resort. We apologize if you missed this communication and were unable to find the water stations, however we assure you that all water produced on the island is drinkable. I hope that this addresses some concerns you raised and gives you more confidence to return to Hayman Island in the future.
Read more
Joanne K wrote a review Apr 1
Gold Coast, Australia97 contributions42 helpful votes
We stayed at Hayman Island for 3 nights and felt we were a whole world away. From boarding the luxury launch with drinks and canapes, being personally greeted to our room on arrival this resort would be one of the best we have experienced across the globe. The lagoon suite was immaculate. Clean and spacious, with a huge bed, luxurious linen and great sized bathroom. Coffee machine topped daily and turn down service nightly was a beautiful touch. All restaurants were well priced and generous servings. Wine is available by the glass. The lamb shanks pasta at the Italian restaurant was fantastic and well worth a mention. Special thanks to the watersport staff, peddle boarding was a super experience, and turtle spotting whilst kayaking a highlight. The resort is top notch and at times we felt like we were the only people there. All staff went above and beyond. Can't wait to return with the family in September.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arpad Romandy, General Manager at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Joanne, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. We look forward to welcoming both you and your family back to Hayman Island in September.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$320 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandWhitsunday IslandsHayman Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
168
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Hayman Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Hayman Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Whitsunday Marine Art (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does InterContinental Hayman Island Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, InterContinental Hayman Island Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is InterContinental Hayman Island Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Hayman Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does InterContinental Hayman Island Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at InterContinental Hayman Island Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Does InterContinental Hayman Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.