We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Heron Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Heron Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,199: English reviews
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 14, We will definitely be returning to Heron Island but will stay for longer next time as 3 nights just wasn't enough and none of us wanted to leave. The food was great and plentiful, The room was just as depicted on the website, The staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holahholidays
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Being right on the reef, Heron Island is amazing. A hop skip and jump from your room and you are snorkelling among corals, fish, turtles and rays. If you want you can jump on a boat to snorkel/dive the outer reef. The accommodation is great - good condition, clean and functional but not 'swish'. The lack of mobile service or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rowi M
Management response:

Dear Rowi M Thank you for your lovely review a perfect description of our Heron experience. With so much to do on the island and surrounding reef Television is very rarely missed and we like to encourage our guests to experience as much of our unique destination as possible. I hope to welcome you back to our special island very... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just a beautiful island surrounded by sand and water the colour to make an artist paint forever.The accommodation was simple but good. The staff were enthusiastic and willing. Swimming and snorkelling off the beach was easy but I highly recommend the reef snorkelling trip- only 5 minutes out to the edge of the reef. Good food and wine, the company... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 560kerry
Management response:

Dear 560kerry What a lovely description, thank you for your generous review. I am pleased you have such special Heron Memories. I hope to welcome you back again soon to make some more of those reef memories. It is a very special place. Kind regards Sandy More 

Gladstone, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the moment you step onto the boat from Gladstone you're in for a treat. Whales on the journey out, snorkelling with turtles, fish of every colour, reef sharks, rays and so much more and ending with a baby whale leaping out of the water - Heron takes you to new heights. Pure magic

Helpful?
Thank gladstonepicture2016
Management response:

Dear Gladstone picture2016 You certainly have painted a wonderful picture of our special Heron Island experience. This whale season has been remarkable with many of our guests sharing similar memories. I am so pleased we were able to make your stay memorable, I hope to welcome you back again in the near future. We are currently preparing for turtle season... More 

nz
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Sadly heron island is not the treasure it could be despite being in a stunning location The timing of the ferries force you to stay at least two nights with half of that time wasted with arriving late and leaving early The accommodation is poor for the price and the food other than the buffet is dismal in both quantity... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tania001
Management response:

Dear Tania001 Thankyou for taking the time to document your concerns on your recent stay at Heron Island, we appreciate the feedback. It is disappointing to hear that your dining experience did not meet your expectations and I apologise for the issues you experienced. I would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns during your stay with us when... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely scenery, so relaxing, a fabulous getaway. No internet or mobile phone service which in some respects was good but it would have been nice to have a connection with the outside world on occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
Management response:

Dear Robyn Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback we always appreciate it as we continue to improve our guests experience. I am pleased you have enjoyed a "fabulous' stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to Heron as a returned "heronite" in the near future. Warm regards Sandy More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled by boat to and from the “island” and were lucky with the sea and wind. Passengers were offered sea sickness pills at the wharf check-in but it wasn’t needed on our trips. The boat trip was 2 ¼ hours. Sam the skipper expertly handled the boat at both ends and made everyone as comfortable as possible. He also... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Wolin
Management response:

Dear Wolin It was lovely to read your review, it made fascinating reading and highlighted some of our "heron stars". This small coral cay certainly packs a lot of reef experiences for our guests and I am pleased that you were able to experience so many of them and have such a wonderful holiday memory. It is disappointing to hear... More 

Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful trip with our adult daughter. The wind was 20-23 knots one day and overcast the next. Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed snorkeling and scuba diving. The water was clear and the coral healthy. The bleaching in the northern area of the Great Barrier Reef did not occur here.

Helpful?
1 Thank MGWG
Management response:

Dear MGWG Thank you for your lovely review a perfect description of our Heron experience. The moods of Heron each offer a special experience if you are willing to brave the cooler days with shifts in weather. Those overcast days often provide the opportunity to see marine animals that would normally only been seen on dusk or dawn a bit... More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed with a friend in March on Heron Island. The island itself is so beautiful. Fantastic swimming, very interesting walks and well delivered guided tours however the accomodation was terrible. We paid for a luxurious room and instead of being 5 star l'd rate it as say 3 star. The staff were overworked. I've tried to directly complain to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank B7993HUandreac
Management response:

Dear B7993HUandreac Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us earlier this year in March at Heron Island. I am extremely concerned to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay with us. I would have preferred to hear about your concerns during your time on the island when I could more appropriately... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For good snorkeling, lovely beaches, coral information and to unwind this is the place to go. Swam with turtles, sharks, stingrays and many colorful tropical fish. Resort very comfortable and laid-back. Resort staff most helpful - I felt they were angels from heaven after I suffered terrible seasickness on ferry en route to Island. Unfortunately I had to take a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz28011950
Management response:

Dear Liz28011950 Thank you for your lovely feedback. You are definitely an official "Heronite" with three visit under your belt. Heron is such a special place to visit and live - my fourth time working on the island and I feel the same. There are not many places in the world where you are able to immerse yourself in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,095 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1061)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (255)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (515)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heron Island
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wilson Island
Wilson Island
#1 of 1 in Wilson Island
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#3 of 14 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heron Island is a true coral cay right on the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef of Australia. Here you swim off the beach to an endless garden of coral. Activities include guided island and reef walks, semi-submersible cruises, bird watching and beach picnics, plus a Kids program. Voyages Heron Island is famous around the world for its scuba diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heron Island Resort

Address: Via Gladstone, Heron Island, Queensland 4680, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Heron Island
Price Range: $244 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heron Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Heron Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Island Hotel Heron Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay