We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Fitzroy Island Resort

The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fitzroy Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

998 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 900: English reviews
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely time on Fitzroy Island! Our ocean view suite (apartment) exceeded expectations as it really was a full apartment. Kitchen had dishwasher and everything you needed. I wish I would have realized how nice it would be and brought more groceries, since you could comfortably make anything here, but the small grocery store was very light on choices and high... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely day at Fitzroy Island. Got the boat out from cairns. Arrived and walked through the pretty rainforest to Nudey beach, which unfortunately was extremely windy that, but I could imagine to be amazing if the wind was not so strong. Had lunch and beer at Foxy's which was great and relaxed on the beach. Lots of broken... More 

Helpful?
Thank MANAMANIA
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent 4 nights here in a 1 bedroom ocean view apartment. Our teenage granddaughter was with us and she was accommodated on the settee in the living room. Would be good if the bedrooms could also have a TV as difficult when the living room is also used as a bedroom. Cooking apparatus and utensils are provided. There was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue L
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at Fitzroy Island for four nights in a studio room. The resort is well set up and very convenient to the beach. The beach is beautiful and very safe for swimming (take some footwear for walking on it as it is mainly coral pieces) and there is excellent colourful coral between the resort and Nudey Beach, with no... More 

Helpful?
Thank David J
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We are regular visitors to this beautiful island but our first time camping here was disappointing. The camp sites are advertised as generously-spaced and at least 6m x 6m. This is what I expected to find. But, no. There are in fact no designated sites at all. We were told at check in to just find a spot on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank qlder5
Kristina C, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi qlder5, The Cairns Regional Council have set the occupancy limit of 80 people in their campground (which is council property). As we are located on the island we help manage this and assist with the bookings. We have our security staff regularly patrol this area as well as our Public Area cleaners and Maintenance staff. We also have Duty... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms facing away from the sea have black mould, which is a health hazard. Staff will tell you they're fully booked and can't do anything about it, or that they'll clean the mould off or put in an ozone machine, but don't believe them - the product is faulty - the resort should not be putting guests at risk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank reliefworker
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Amazing place beautiful island , superb accomodation , fabulous staff , the only down point was the quality of the food they don't need to try to hard as you have nowhere else to go !!! We only had the evening buffet which was real quite poor & expensive for the quality & breakfast was of a similar standard but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carol O
Kristina C, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Carol O, What a lovely review – Thankyou for taking the time to post your feedback. We certainly feel very lucky to work on such an amazing island. I hope you have a chance to return sometime in the future. Kind Regards More 

Balgowlah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Letter to management: You have such a beautiful location, but if you want to charge luxury prices, then that's what you need to offer....and you don't. The things that need your attention are: improve toilets at Foxys - the smell was horrendous (both male and female) as were the conditions; improve the quality of the food at the buffet breakfast... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Anne-Marie C
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

3 Day Activity Package is what we purchased. Ferry ride over was great - the boat staff were pleasant and polite. Arrived at the island and it all changed. Our first impression of the room was Wow! looks great - then we sat on the beds. OMG!! Seriously the hotel would not think these beds are acceptable for their guests... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
Kristina C, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Robin G, Many thanks for your feedback; we appreciate all comments from our guests good and bad as it is an important part of our process moving forward. It is extremely disappointing to hear about that there was an issue with the beds. I will be discussing with my team how they handled this at reception as it is... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My hubby and I spent 6 lovely nights on the island The weather was beautiful so we hiked and snorkelled every day. There is little to do in the rain so we were lucky Like most people, we brought all our breakfast an lunch things from Cairns so saved money that way. We ate at Foxys or the restaurant each... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
Kristina C, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lisa R Many thanks for you review - we of course greatly appreciate all comments from our guests good, bad or indifferent as it is an important part of our process moving forward. Thankyou More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

771 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (738)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (117)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
5:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (356)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
24.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
22.9 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
14.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
13.9 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Price Range: $99 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay