We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunbird Motel

{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Sunbird Motel provides clean, confortable and friendly accommodation in kitchenette style motel rooms, and is set on 16.5 hectares of dry tropical bushland on the side of a hill overlooking the Nome Valley and just 10 minutes south of Townsville.Neighbouring attractions are the award winning Billabong Wildlife Sanctuary, Alligator Creek National Park and Mount Elliott forest reserve.We have easy access to the Townsville General Hospital, Murray Stadium and Townsville Crematorium.
Read more
Property amenities
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Townsville Airport11 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
18
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
18
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billabong sanctuary bruce highway comfortable room air con stopover kettle noise
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 28 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2018

Stayed here unexpectedly as the road south was flooded. Lovely and very cheery lady who showed me to the room. Very accommodating and full of great information. She was the best aspect of the stay. The room was for a family, standard queen bed and...More

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank Annamarie D
Reviewed August 7, 2017

Great value, right on the highway, yet quiet with a homely feel. The owners are extremely helpful. I was initially staying one night but ended staying 3 nights, I had been at a festival for 5 days and was in desperate need of a comfortable...More

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank suzkel
Reviewed August 6, 2017

We stayed in one of the family rooms (2 adults and 2 adult children) and it was just what we needed. On the edge of town with pleasant surroundings the room was spacious and well kept. Noise from the Bruce Highway could occasionally be heard...More

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank HardtoPlease85741
Reviewed May 31, 2017

This motel is situated close to the Bruce Highway so it is very easily accessed if you are driving. It is clean and tidy and very friendly and helpful staff made a stopover on our way to Airlie Beach a pleasant stay. If you wish...More

Date of stay: May 2017
1  Thank Gwen J
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

I looked up a pet friendly motel for a trip to see my friends in Townsville and found the sunbird motel but when i get there at 2am the woman that came to reception was extremely rude and turned me away as they apparently only...More

Date of stay: May 2017
2  Thank The Kiwi M
Response from Sunbird M, Owner at Sunbird MotelResponded May 17, 2017

Hi, I am sorry you felt mistreated however in my defence you arrived at the motel at 2am in the morning with no prior warning and all lights including signage were switched off. We do have designated rooms with tile flooring for pets however on...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sunbird Motel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"I had room 6. Suitable for someone who is mobility challenged. Rooms 1-9 are all on level ground."
479annamaried
Mar 1, 2018
Read review
"Closer to office for better wifi"
HardtoPlease85741
Aug 6, 2017
Read review
"We stayed in Rooms 9 and 10, at the far end, as suggested in an earlier review, and were close to a large..."
101joanh
Apr 20, 2017
Read review
"Caters to all no problem"
romanj274
Oct 5, 2015
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
$60 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandTownsville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing