We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chifley Plaza Townsville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chifley Plaza Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 408: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 1 night and had a good stay. The room was great value for money and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was fresh and well appointed, although he hallway looked dated and tired. There was some maintenance needed on the window blinds but otherwise the room was in working order. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Salpal2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was spacious and well kitted out. However, window between rooms had about an inch of dust on it. Requested that it was cleaned but it never was. Sauna not working and the dishwasher flooded quite badly. Asked for this to be fixed. Not fixed and I suspect it had not worked for some time! Asked reception about where to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Tom Price, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely disappointed with the service at this hotel. Not helpful and all about making money from scam deals. Still have not received a reply from the manager. I booked the online deal an hour before arriving because it said free cancelation. When arriving I asked about parking as we needed secure parking because we are travelling round Aus. When she... More 

Helpful?
Thank JansCooke

Travelers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The receptionists are lovely, very nice rooms and café next door. There is 24/7 service and great bed and furniture. It's close to town and beach overlooking Maggie island. Definitely worth a try! I stayed there twice

Helpful?
Thank Manon N
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was a stopover for us on our journey south. When we arrived at 8 PM, all the parking spots were taken in the hotel lot, so we had to park on the street a few blocks away, something we were not thrilled with as the area seemed to be a little sketchy. Hotel staff was friendly. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsnojo
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At $ 90/night for the room, it is important to have realistic expectations. GOOD: The location is close to good restaurants and shopping. The cafe in the lobby was a nice surprise with tasty breakfast and coffee. The price is good value if you don't mind all the negatives. Room fair size with everything you need. BAD: I have never... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Javagirl08
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a long day of driving we got amazed by the space we had in our bedroom for four persons. With two queen beds and one single bed, we had more than enough space and the room was well equiped and clean. It's a very fair price for the place, and I definitely recommend going there!

Helpful?
Thank aurorecolliaux
PlazaManager2000, Manager at Chifley Plaza Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Aurorecolliaux, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Executive Family Suite, and that it was clean, well equipped and roomy enough for your whole group! It is a very popular room type due to its affordable price and, as you’ve... More 

adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel twice in August 2016. Great value for money. Rooms clean. Right in the heart of town. Will stay again. The staff were very helpful. Walking distance to lots of great restaurants. Bus stops very close. A taxi ride to the ferry to Magnetic island. Would recommend to family and friends

Helpful?
Thank tripper7adelaide
PlazaManager2000, Manager at Chifley Plaza Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Tripper7adelaide, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and so happy to read that you’ve had such positive experiences while staying with us this month. I’m glad your room was nice and clean, you found our staff to be very helpful and our central city location made it easy for you to... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i come to Townsville every 6 months and try to stay and a wide range of hotels! thought I would try the Chifely, photo's looked good online..... the hotel is tired and needs a fresh coat of paint, my room was clean and the bed was comfortable, free wifi worked well, there is no onsite parking, however you can park... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leo661
PlazaManager2000, Manager at Chifley Plaza Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Leo661, Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered during your recent stay, and I completely understand how frustrated you must’ve felt having no hot water in your room. I’m sure our staff would’ve been quick to provide a solution if you had contacted them with... More 

Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked through third party website & also had a confirmation call from the hotel themselves confirming my booking and number of rooms - still had 1 room less than my party required - eventually sorted after hours of stress. Rooms dated and you could get hit with the bathroom door when on the toilet almost. Breakfast was average

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank estellec891
PlazaManager2000, Manager at Chifley Plaza Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Estellec891, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed our central city location, and that our friendly staff were able to assist in organising an extra room for you. Regarding the bathroom layout, if you’re looking for some extra space, I recommend reserving one... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#6 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chifley Plaza Townsville is conveniently located in the heart of Townsville's shopping and business district, just 10 minutes drive from the airport, and 2 minutes to the beach.The hotel offers a range of guest rooms and suites - all are non-smoking with individually controlled air conditioning, wireless internet, TV, DVD Player, tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chifley Plaza Townsville

Address: Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: $63 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Plaza Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chifley Plaza Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Plaza
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Townsville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay