We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights for a Cowboys game. Located directly across from the Leagues Club. Within walking distance to the ferry terminal to Magnetic Island. Only thing was, fire alarm went off at 3.30am! We had two queen size beds. Breakfast buffet included. Food was quite nice, in a pleasant setting. Our package deal included two return ferry trips to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cats_Travel_Cowboys
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two distinct nights on our last North Queensland trip and were satisfied with both our stays. Check-in was both friendly and efficient and the rooms well kept and cleaned. We did not have food in the hotel, so cannot comment. WIFI has been reliable (en suite), the pool area is nice but rather small compared to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsmith0179
Twin Waters
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location. Paid for ocean views and higher level and well worth it. Friendly, helpful staff. This facility is showing it's age but clean and well presented overall. Nice, complimentary bathroom soaps etc. Just a suggestion to clean the room carpets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S, Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the views and the friendly service, something that we pride ourselves on. I have passed your comments regarding the carpet to our Executive Housekeeper. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for one night. Room was clean and comfortable. Had to pay for parking so as to not leave car on the Street and then had to drive to car park myself. Reception and staff friendly and helpful. Good central location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergeant501
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Sergeant501, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our team friendly during your visit. However I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to our parking arrangements. Whilst street parking is an option you do...

Brendale
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Quick trip to Townsville Stayed here many yrs ago when I was working with virgin blue Will stay here again for sure as staff were friendly, rooms clean, good price value for the great location. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 328reedp
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear 328reedp, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay, particularly our friendly staff and clean rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Glen Iris
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room rate was excellent with full buffet breakfast included. No hesitation recommending the hotel. Room decor a bit dated. Air conditioning could be more powerful . toiletries were good quality for a 4 star hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilingn
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear lilingn, Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially our friendly team, something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Nundah
Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent accommodation in Townsville, friendly staff, food was great. The lighting in the bathroom was terrible but otherwise fine. The reception area was freezing but most people probably like that. Nice cafés nearby and a short stroll to lots of restaurants etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 924amyy
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear 924amyy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you found our team friendly and enjoyed the food. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to the lighting in the bathroom. We have passed your comments onto our...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the location and our room on level 11 had a good view over a large part of Townsville. The room was Ok but needed some TLC in the bathroom and carpets were a bit old. Bedding standard was great. Staff were very helpful and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Stefan B, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to your room standard. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our Hotel...

North Manly
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and price. Roof top pool is nice but the pool lounges were very uncomfortable. Our room was adequate but we had a few issues with TV and internet connection. Friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Alex B, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to our televisions and internet. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful place to stay at, if you want relaxation and closeness to shops and tourists sites. Dinner and buffet breakfast was wonderful! The best location within Townsville and a hotel to check out! XX

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bellafab01
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear bellafab01, Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the dinner and buffet breakfast, something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#8 of 41 in Townsville
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#9 of 41 in Townsville
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville is located in the heart of the CBD and shopping district and just a short walk from Townsville's major tourist attractions, including Reef HQ Aquarium and The Strand. Enjoy panoramic views of Magnetic Island, Castle Hill and the city from a variety of contemporary room types. Facilities include restaurant, bar, rooftop pool, gym and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Address: 334 Flinders St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: $69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Townsville Hotel Townsville
Townsville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#8 Business Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
28 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I think from floors 9 above, it includes a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Cats_Travel_Cowboys, 2 days ago | Read review
“Higher floors have great views and seem quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 580StefanB, 1 week ago | Read review
“We were in room 1505 it had a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles 870annw870, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room on higher floors with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 371gerryf, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“No parking on-site.”
 of 5 bubbles themets2016, 5 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay