We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Totally enjoyable stay, went into the cafe Thursday night for some dinner and the girls couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. Clean, casual friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend the walkabout burger😃

Helpful?
Thank Sally G
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Sally G Thanks for your feedback - we are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable experience with dining at the service station cafe recently, especially that the staff were friendly and helpful. And thanks for the burger recommendation too! Kind regards Danella More 

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Terrible internet say they knew about it for a while but not fixed it, cafe inside was terrible and looked dirty so went to the resort next door, pool was nice good size and good fun so overall if you're not fussed about wifi then perfect place just seek food elsewhere, had music playing at around 11 o clock at... More 

Helpful?
Thank scott05011
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "scott05011" Thanks for staying with us recently and for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our pool and also thought we are a good place to stay (minus the wifi).. We are disappointed to read your comments re the WIFI - this is an issue that we are trying to address... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Good caravan park. Friendly staff. Close to highway but no highway noise. Caravan sites were concrete slab.Older style amenities but very clean. Good pool. Large shopping centre about 3 minuted drive down the road. With wollies.

Helpful?
Thank LYN H
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "LYN H" Thanks for staying with us recently and for your kind words - we are very happy to read your review. We pride ourselves on our "Friendliness & Cleanliness" so to read that we excelled in this area makes us very happy. If you're ever back in Townsville we hope to be able to welcome you back. Safe... More 

Gracemere, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We loved staying here it was clean, the staff are very helpful and friendly, our cabin (Eco villa) was big and roomy and our daughter loved the pool area and we all loved the bikes. We will highly recommend big 4 walkabout palms to our friends and family, cant wait till we visit again

Helpful?
Thank Tanya F
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "Tanya F" Thanks for your kind words - we are very pleased to read your review with your fantastic feedback and we love knowing you have enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our "Friendliness & Cleanliness" so to read that we excelled in this area makes us very happy. We look forward to welcoming you back for your... More 

Adelaide
Level Contributor
176 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

We got a basic double villa with an open plan living plus bedroom together but it had a curtain to separate the two. Parking was pretty tight and we had a bit of trouble pulling down the blinds at night. It is right next to the highway but much quieter than we expected. The kitchen had utensils for two people... More 

Helpful?
Thank nera0414
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "nera0414" Thanks for your review of our property and for staying with us recently. We are pleased to know you thought we had a good location and that the room in which you stayed had what you needed. We are disappointed however to read that there was an issue with the blind so we will ensure these rooms are... More 

North Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Great little park with lots to do, swimming, bike riding, kick the footy, easy access to road hse and servo for supplies, close to shops and town. Clean cabins and friendly service by all the staff. Well maintained gardens.

Helpful?
Thank dtstyle
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi dtstyle Thanks for your kind words.. We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us recently. Great to also see that our staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back in future. Regards Danella More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

I feel that the prices are expensive for what you receive. Very little difference in price between the caravan park and a hotel room. There was free wifi but the signal was extremely weak making it unusable. Stayed in a basic cabin called the Double Villa. No complaints about the amenities as the room was clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

HI Karen M Thanks for staying with us recently and thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are pleased to know that you thought the cabin was clean and comfortable. Our comments re pricing are noted and we will review these tariffs at our earliest convenience. Regards Danella, Steph, Mark and all the team at... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

Behind a servo, on a highway , in front of a dry concrete aqueduct. After 3 months of travelling the east coast and staying at a variety of van parks and accommodation types I can honestly say this is the worst location and lowest value for high money. Surely can't tell in staying in Townsville. The worst aspect for me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mick W
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Mick W, Thanks for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any issues you encountered during your stay, this is not the norm and we are most disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. Unfortunately the main issue stemmed when you couldn't reach... More 

Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2016

We were very handily parked at the camp kitchen which we enjoyed using as it was clean and spacious. The kids loved the swimming pool and jumping pillow, and we enjoyed the spa :-) Beautiful park which was handy to everything.

Helpful?
Thank BeeMermaid
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Hi "BeeMermaid" Thanks for your lovely review - we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and you also found our location handy to everything. We do hope to welcome you back to our park again soon. Regards Danella More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

The staff were so lovely and we found this everywhere in Townsville. The girl on the front desk had an information pack for us about Townsville which we really appreciated. The amenities were clean and the pool was beautiful! Sites were nice and a good size and kids had fun on the jumping pillow. It's close to the shops and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keryn A
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Keryn A Thanks for your kind review – we love knowing you enjoyed your stay recently and that our staff were friendly and helpful. We are glad to hear you found our amenities clean and the sites were a great size too.. We really appreciate your recommendation as a place to stay and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
4.2 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
11.0 mi away
Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Rowes Bay Beachfront Holiday Park
3.7 mi away
The Lakes Holiday Park
The Lakes Holiday Park
#22 of 43 in Townsville
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coral Coast Tourist Park Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville

Address: 6 University Rd | Wulguru, Townsville, Queensland 4811, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: $68 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Walkabout Palms Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay