We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Allen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Allen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

This room was half the price of the next best option ($70). Had two single beds, private bathroom and tea / coffee / tv / aircon. It had a tiny balcony and unfortunately the balcony door was impossible to secure. I'm not overly security conscious but I think the average person would be very disconcerted by pub accom that you... More 

Helpful?
Thank WorldlyWombat
Trinity Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

Can't fault the location. Everything we needed was within easy walking distance. Plenty of parking and the pool looks great. And that is about as much as I can say for the positives. Checked in they had no record of my booking. I showed them the confirmation on my phone even offered them the booking ref number, when I asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank 06magoo
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

We decided to go somewhere near to our accommodation but were disappointed. The service was very good and staff were very friendly but the meals weren't of a very good standard. I ordered fish which was overcooked. My husband ordered chicken parmigiano and although it was a very generous serving it was only ordinary. The chips were awful. Wouldnt go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne and Tom M
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Located in The Strand esplanade tourism precinct Hotel Allen is close to shops and restaurants. It is a sports oriented hotel with plenty of TV screens and gaming machines. I have stayed in the motel style rooms out the back several times. Accommodation is adequate (certainly not flash) and location and value excellent. On weekends tariff will often include extensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg A
Palm Island, Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Basic accommodation at a great rate in an old hotel. Excellent location close to shops, cafes and the strand. Friendly staff. Excellent food at the restaurant. Buffet breakfast only available on the weekends.

Helpful?
Thank jwigan
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

The bed was clean and the room didnt smell. There was stuff in the toilet bin when i got there and gum in the bottom of the shower. Ive stayed in better for that price, though nothing killed me and i didnt get infested with anything from the bed.

Helpful?
Thank Sivonnepryce
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here not long ago,just overnight,needed a place that had plenty of parking space as I was towing a camper,also wanted to be in town,so I could leave camper hitched up & just walk around.They put us in the most furtherest room from my car & camper,had to lug all our gear to the other side of the place ,then... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie W
Tammarra K, Accommodation Receptionist at Hotel Allen, responded to this review

Hi Cherie, I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you found nothng positive about the experience. Looking back at when you stayed, I can see that we were booked out the time and that you were put into the only room we had left. We usually accommodate our guests to the best... More 

Travelers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Cranbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Not far from the worlds best beach facilities,including the strand.The ease of access was cool.Staff made us feel so welcome and the food and surrounds were amazing.Anything you want at your fingertips including a TAB.

Helpful?
Thank Eric C
Tammarra K, Accommodation Receptionist at Hotel Allen, responded to this review

Hi Eric thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am so glad that you were made to feel welcome and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Allen More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

The rooms are dirty and needs a good clean ,yes I know it's not expensive but there's places in Townsvile that is cheaper but cleaner ,the service was not bad and brekki was ok aircon did not work and bed is worn out

Helpful?
Thank james y
Tammarra K, Accommodation Receptionist at Hotel Allen, responded to this review

Hi James, I am sorry to hear that you did not find our rooms up to standards during your stay. As you mentioned this is a very old Hotel and unfortunately that means a lot of thigns are outdated. We are working on improving things as best we can. I do wish you had bought your issues to our attention... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

smaller then expected room not what website shows, very noisy, breakfast very average. couldn't even get hot coffee only orange juice expected more for the price especially having sports grounds across the road no wi fi my eldest son took my youngest for sports we didn't have good feedback from a 21yr old. shame as seems a very quiet hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank kerrywindred
Tammarra K, Accommodation Receptionist at Hotel Allen, responded to this review

Hi Ms Windred, I am sorry that your son was not happy with the size of the room or that there was no wifi. I am not sure why you were told that you could not get hot coffee as our staff have all received coffee training and we do have the coffee machine. I do wish your son had... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#13 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#16 of 41 in Townsville
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townsville Central Hotel
Townsville Central Hotel
#20 of 41 in Townsville
3.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Strand Motel
The Strand Motel
#33 of 41 in Townsville
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Allen

Address: Corner Eyre and Gregory Sts, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: $49 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allen 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay