We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aquarius Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aquarius Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Valinhos, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel is in a nice location close to everything you need, markets, restaurants, banks, public transport. Staff are nice and friendly, very helpful. Just arrived and I already like it here, would definetly recommend for friends that might come to Gold Coast.

Helpful?
Thank Agnes S
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is nice. I stay two nights here with my friend. We are most concerned about the clearing of the room and toilet as we choosing hostel. Then, we found both of them are clear here. And the location is really good. It is very convenient for us to take train and bus.

Helpful?
Thank 2016cloudy2016
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really laid-back, fun & friendly staff, cosy, heaps of movies, travel advice, free wifi, nightly events, pool and spa, laundry facilities, pool table and a bar on-site! Located by the tram/bus stops too, so it's a pretty neat find! And the free sausage sizzle every Friday is worth a mention too!

Helpful?
Thank andreaklowe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

If you wanna stay at Gold Coast peacefully, I recommend here to you definitely. Staffs are very kind, room, kitchen and others' facilities are really clean and tidy. Great atmosphere to be relaxed, Wifi is not strong thought. Plus, it's quite near to the tram station (Southport South). Grocery store, Shopping centre as well. It's located in convenient place.

Helpful?
Thank Takamune
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Takamune, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Came here with my friend to take part in the GCAM 16 and Aquarius Backpackers is the nearest to the starting point. We booked a private room thus have not much contact with the rest of the people. Location was superb as it is near to Southport South tram station and bus number 704 could also take us to Sea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We have over 1200 liters of hot water at any moment. So not sure about the cold showers? but to let you know we had an electrician check it out and all the heat pumps are working. So sorry not sure. Thanks Management More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

room is good, but too close to the street. At night, the sound of car is quite clear to be heard. G:Link (southport south station) is just in front of the hotel so it is very convenient for you to come and go to the transfer to Gold coast airport. If you bring any heavy luggage, you need to carry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malinda W
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Malinda, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management More 

Warwick, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

After years of travelling in hostels and staying in dorms, it is my preference these days to choose a private room and on this occasion, I shared it for a couple of days with a friend. Up to one friend is allowed to stay free of charge and they made sure there was enough bedding for both of us. Evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank El_MacDonald
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear El, Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Good luck with your endeavors. Thanks Management More 

Kirrawee, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

Not only is the accommodation clean and comfortable, it's close to public transport and shops, and very affordable. The staff are very nice and helpful, and there's free wifi & very cheap (/free) entertainment like Foxtel, snooker, a pool, darts, movies, an on-site bar and all-round fun. Very good value and rooms are comfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank danielwallace
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Just don't stay here if you want to have a fun time in the GC (its like a 10 min bus ride and way out from the beaches). The manager was awful. Made two of my friends cry and the whole experience overshadowed the rest of our holiday backpacking. It's stricter than a private boarding school.

Helpful?
Thank travelling35496
Backpackinggoldcoast, Owner at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Anonymous. Your review is not accurate and unfounded and none of the staff or management have made anyone cry!!! Your assertions are not positive travel experiences. Next time you decide to write a review please tell the truth. Thanks Management More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic hostel, well managed by a lovely owner. Truly felt like we were at home on the large sofa with a tv and lots of films. Probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed. Fully stocked kitchen which was a pleasure to cook in. We were only supposed to stay for 1 night and ended up extending our stay to... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisab5678
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Aqua Street, Southport
1.6 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#50 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#21 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#34 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#27 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#92 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Address: 44 Queen St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $26 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay