We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Island Resort

3 Sunset Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunset Island Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

The room we stayed in was very unclean. After laying on the lounge one night I went in the shower (after having been at the hotel all day) & the water was running off me black from the dirt off the lounge. The management staff were very rude & not pleasant to deal with. The walls are paper thin i... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 585anon
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Sunset Island Resort. Our fully self-contained holiday apartments are independently rated on an annual basis by Star Ratings Australia and we have consistently maintained a 4 star rating. Our friendly staff strive to ensure all our guests are happy with their accommodation and strive to rectify a problem in... More 

Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in a well appointed self catering apartment at the Sunset Island Resort. Our apartment over looked the pool and spa and had lovely views of Surfers Paradise lights at night. The bed was a little uncomfortable, but the rest of the apartment made up for it, having everything you need for an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

Found their service atrocious! Senior office manager at reception was extremely rude and arrogant and refused to give us a replacement magnetic strip to enter the hotel, therefore we were unable to enter the hotel after 5pm forcing us to wait outside until another visitor could let us in. He was very abrupt and completely ignored any of our attempts... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Sunset Island Resort management has a simple request of all guests - for the comfort and quiet enjoyment off all staying in the resort please have a little respect for the facilities provided and the other guests staying. More 

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

I stayed 10 nights at the Sunset Island Resort at the end of October 2015. The Apartment was very spacious, clean, tidy, well appointed and had everything you needed in it, including a full kitchen with dishwasher, hob, oven and micro and large fridge freezer, the bathroom had a washer and dryer and there was space on the balcony to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nickwaddick
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are so very glad that you enjoyed your time here with us. More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

We are staying at the sunset island resort as i type this review and i can say its a great place to stay with nice rooms and super friendly staff who are there to help however if you have anyone in your group who has issues with steps then you may have issues. There are no wheel chair ramps to... More 

Helpful?
Thank profchaos83
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

We stayed 10 nights while my husband had surgery and found the location fantastic, the apartment had everything we needed and the staff were very accommodating. Was great to have a veranda with a view of the lovely pool. Short walk to the hustle and bustle of Surfers Paradise but in quiet location.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope your husband is recovering after his surgery. More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Stayed 7 nights in 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom third floor apartment with wife and 31 year old daughter. Apartment was roomy, clean and tidy, secure garage parking was good and found staff to be pleasant and helpful. Location was excellent , short walk into Cavill Ave./ beach each evening but far away from the noise of main streets. First... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RobNoel
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We we appreciate your feedback in regards to the painting. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

We had a family of 6 staying in a two bedroom apartment. 2 kids were on the foldout sofa. This was ok for a 6 night stay as we were hardly in the room however it was a bit tight. The property had no elevator and arriving early hours in the morning with 3 kids trying to drag big suitcases... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank CuriousStar
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Management lives on site and is available to deal with any issues that may arise during your stay. The resort is promoted as a three-floor walk-up, but if any guests have difficulty with stairs we encourage you to let us know in advance so we can meet your requirements. Unfortunately the fire service does not... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015 via mobile

Having read other reviews following our stay we wish we had done so before booking! We are also reluctant to write our review given other negative reviews have received manager responses which tend to blame the occupiers rather than accept the feedback as opportunities to improve however we want to share so other families can make informed choices. After a... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Jen R
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

It is quite extraordinary that because the manager collects a newspaper from the local corner store every morning that this is seen as not living on site! We live on site and are available at all times to deal with any concerns our guests may have. The apartments are self-managed although introductory complementaries are provided. We would suggest that a... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

My husband and I stayed a week in the two bedroom apartment overlooking the swimming pool. We walked into Surface Paradise every day and had coffee and bought supplies to cook. Our stay was very relaxing and we will go back there next year and extend our time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laraine O
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
2.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Aqua Street, Southport
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & ...
#10 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,386 reviews
1.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.4 mi away
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
#3 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#