We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Islander Resort Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
3128 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Special Offer
Stay 3 Save 20
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Islander Resort Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Dirty rooms, dusty looks like it needs a thorough deep clean, stains on the curtains, have found numerous bugs within dead and alive, some of the wall plugs dont work, limited kitchen items, no free wifi in the rooms you have to sit in concierge and you only get 30mins just an fyi, very noisy and lifts smell disgusting ,only... More 

Helpful?
Thank LEMMAD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights & absolutely love it!! Staff where lovely, room was clean and comfortable. Stayed on level 4, great view of the city. Had a great time!! Only positive thoughts on this hotel! Thanks for a great stay. :) Can't complain about anything!!

Helpful?
Thank denisee134
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear denisee134 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time staying at the hotel. We 100% agree that our staff are wonderful. We'll be sure to pass on your comments to the housekeeping team - they do an amazing... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night which was more than enough. On arrival we asked were we could park our car as 'Parking' is listed on the hostel world website. There was no parking available as it was limited and had to pay $40 for parking elsewhere this was extremely misleading. We found the reception staff very rude and unhelpful at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley W
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimberley W Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Islander Backpackers; this is located in the different tower than the Islander Resort Hotel. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I will address your comments in turn. We do offer free limited parking; we have 60+ car... More 

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location but thats it. Rooms are tired and in need of a lot of care. Could also do with a damn good clean. Beware - no matter your age or disposition you'll be treated like a drunk teenager. Will not stay again as there are similar priced places that are miles better. I gave them three goes and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt35303
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt35303 Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us. We welcome reviews from our guests as a way to improve on our services. I am sincerely sorry that you have stayed with us before and didn't find the resort suitable for your needs. I will pass on your comments to our front desk and housekeeping teams... More 

Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

This hotel has a very good location being very close to the Surfers Paradise Beach and has ample shopping options nearby. The hotel room itself was okay. The rooms were big and spacious with a nice and big balcony. The problem is that the balcony of nearby rooms is too close and as a result you may get disturbed by... More 

Helpful?
Thank sidag95
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sidag95 Thank you for your review of your stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our large rooms and excellent location. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by other guests - please be advised that we planning renovations on the property in the coming months and as part of this... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I'm quite satisfied with this hotel. We stayed 3 rooms with 1 queen bed and 2 single beds each room. We're big family with older and infant, so we've got the 2nd floor. Big space with 'complete' kitchenware, helpful staffs, strategic place. Near Hard Ro*k Cafe and Surfers Paradise and W*olworths. What else to complain,,, the price and the place.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lie95
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lie95 Thanks for your review of your stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. You've captured the Islander exactly as we are at present: budget friendly, excellent location and large rooms. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We also wanted to let you know that the Islander is about to go under a makeover with renovations commencing in... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

We arrived in Surfers Paradise and despaired when we saw the building we'd be staying in! It looked so run down and horrible but we kept an open mind as we walked in! Reception staff were ok! Seemed like they couldn't be bothered to be there and i don't blame them! Its not much better on the inside! The bedroom... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tesni H
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tesni Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It appears you have stayed in our backpacker rooms at the Islander; these rooms don't have air conditioning however they do come with a pedestal fan and private bathroom. I recall you contacted us via Facebook with your concerns during your stay and as a result we arranged... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Booked this online for a 3 night stay leading up to Xmas. Thought I'd made a mistake when I arrived and saw the property first hand - some on the online images might be older than me! Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised to find very friendly check-in people and the room was indeed very spacious and well equipped. Yes it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie W
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laurie W Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Islander. You've captured the Islander perfectly: great staff, great location and great price! You're correct we're a grand old lady of the Gold Coast and we're showing our age a little; however our rooms are very spacious and we have wonderful facilities. We're... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
291 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

Apart from a good location and free parking, this place is poor at best. very disappointed for the following reasons: 1. Booked 6-8 months in advance through a well-established website (not tripadvisor) for 2 nights. However on checking in I was told that I was booked only for the 2nd night. When I showed them the booking, they relented but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nishchint_India
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nishchint_India Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We're sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. Regarding your booking; there was an error from the booking site to our reservations system which didn't show both nights had been booked, even though you had booked so far in advance. Our apologies for... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Worst hotel ever! Apart from the friendly staff that is all this hotel has to offer. It smells, everything is falling apart. Air conditioning is not in every room. You ask for a non smoking room but everyone is able to smoke on the balconys Stay away!!

Helpful?
Thank Janice B
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice B Thank you for your review of the Islander and for your kind words about our wonderful staff. We're sorry to hear that the Islander didn't meet your expectations. You are correct we are a non smoking hotel in our rooms; guests are required to smoke outside; however I have passed your comments concerning this to our management... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#15 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay