We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Sands Holiday Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sands Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Koondrook, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So glad we stumbled on this for our visit to Surfers. The price is amazing for the location and views! Was a bit of a maze to find our way around the car park and reception at first but got there eventually! Rooms were generally clean. Great pool. Would definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank locallover_49
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed November 28, 2016

I stayed here via AirBnB so my review is based on the building, not the experience of renting. The whole place looked run down, not just the apartment I was in. The hallways weren't cleaned ever, there was constantly trash from other people and empty bottles that didn't move during my stay. Very little sound proofing between the rooms, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmerke
TheSandsHoliday, Front Office Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

In regard to your review on an privately let Airbnb unit by the owner that you stayed in I wish to advise that your your review should be placed on Airbnb. This review should not have any bearing on my booking agency and especially when I have no guests in house in respect to guests during November. The Sands has...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed November 14, 2016

I had booked through Booking.com 4 days beforehand and had received confirmation of booking. It wasnt until i was 1/2 hour away from The Sands theat they rang and said that a woman hadnt booked out and there was no bed for me. I asked if I could call in and use the internet to try and find alternate accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darlene S
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

In response to the review by this guest I would like to positively say that it was unfortunate that the guest already in the room could not be contacted to vacate to clean the room. To be fair to the guest I thought it was more courteous to phone the guest rather than allow the guest to turn up and...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed November 10, 2016

Apartment was booked several months in advance with full prepayment! Booking was reconfirmed the week before travel with notation we would arrive between 8 and 9pm, we were given the after hours arrival information which was useless the gate at the front of the property was broken and would not open, security was doing his rounds at the time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicoleScrap
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

This review has been written by a guest who did not check in on that day. I confirm that the guests had bargain accommodation paying $125 a night for 4 adults in a 2 bedroom apartment. Young adults checked in and whilst we were doing our best to rectify the situation, a young girl phoned I assume her mother. She...

Autun, France
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Plus: Great location, in front of the beach, wonderful sea view. Large apartment (81m2 for 2 persons). Clean and quiet swimming pool. Minus: No internet available. Few stuffs should be fixed in the apartment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
Auckland, NZ
Reviewed May 25, 2016

We stayed on the first for right on the beach. The view was fantastic. We woke up each morning to the sound of the surf. Make sure your room is at the front facing the sea! The apartment block is a little tired but still great. Easy walk to the shops And the two clubs are only 100 yards away.Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

We are on day 6 of our 9 day stay. Its in the most fabulous location in Surfers paradise. Right out the back door are cafes, shopping, supermarkets, attractions, games, night clubs and more. Beach is right across the road. Our apartment is brand new looking and very modern. Very clean except for a few dishes. Noisy at night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss R
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed February 4, 2016 via mobile

Good location but is quite run down. Staff were really rude as well. The young brunette girl at the desk had zero customer service skills and was rather in helpful to point of being quite rude. Over all not a terrible place to stay but the staff need to step up there game.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OliverLoschy
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to respond to this review. Two apartments were booked by a company for two single guests. Following notes left on the door of one guest a few days after check in I phoned the company to advise that their guests l had not checked in. The kind girl offered to give them a call to check...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed January 26, 2016

It was a real shock! i knew this was a cheap place to stay when i booked at short noticed but the room and complex was run down, there were faulty power boards, lamps that didn't work, kitchen cupboards broken, no lighting when i got out of elevator on my floor to find my room (late check in). Reception was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank retepm21
BC
Reviewed January 14, 2016

The location of the property is perfect. Right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. The unit needed some initial cleaning and the sofas were well beyond their useful life but for the price is was acceptable. The bed was comfortable and the staff helpful. You get what you pay for. Overall it was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wallybug
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#10 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One and two bedroom fully self contained apartments with washing machine and drier and ironing facilities. Ceiling fans, television and balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean of Surfers Paradise and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: The Sands 40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $77 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Sands Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Sands Holiday Apartments staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Sands Holiday Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Double check that you have a room”
 of 5 bubbles 235darlenes, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“BAD - don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles NicoleScrap, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room at the front facing the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles jono5515, May 25, 2016 | Read review
“don't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles retepm21, Jan 26, 2016 | Read review
“Stay away!”
 of 5 bubbles MorningBeachLover, Oct 25, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question