We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Discovery Parks - Rockhampton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 231: English reviews
Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights, check in was quick and smooth, reception lady was a bit sullen. Park was reasonably quiet, good sized sites. Park is quiet, clean and uncluttered, toilets are clean as well. You would not know you were in Rockhampton. Worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 18ROX
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant quick stay at our park and you feel it's worth a visit for others. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed in one of the units with my little sister coming to Rocky for a little adventure giving ourselves a long weekend before the christmas holidays had started. Its only small, but the place is clean, beds are comfy and the park itself is well maintained. I will definately be coming back with some friends next time. In a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and will definitely be returning, Amy. Thank you for sharing your feedback!

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped in Rockhampton to get some maintenance done on our vehicle while on a camping trip. We visited in the low season and although the reception staff were friendly, there was no way they were going to leave their air conditioned office. The park could’ve been much nicer. There appeared to be a lack of maintenance and the bins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of our park, Gary. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for your review.

Lennox Head, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very average... Tv didn't work ... air-conditioning very noisy ... could do with updating of utensils etc.. Good reception check in .. but on the whole the place was worn and needed maintenance both in gardens and infrastructure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Narelle E
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, but pleased that you appreciated our customer service. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Narelle.

Capalaba, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to this park on the back of a tow truck when our car broke down at Yaamba, 35Ks north of Rockhampton. The staff at reception were very helpful to both ourselves and the tow truck driver to make sure we were positioned on our site. When we didn't know what day we would be leaving, there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear that you appreciated our level of customer service and were well accommodated for after your car broke down, John. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

2day stop over Rockhampton big 4 park bit of a bump to get up to nice concrete slabs (you hope you don't scrape a frame on caravan as you back up )plenty of room for awning and spot for car bathrooms clean pools x 2 inviting staff very pleasant overall good value for $35 per night

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trudiloui
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're happy to hear we were good value for sites and a pleasant stay. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights recently in awful heat, we were late to check in due to travelling, our ky was happily placed in the after hours box, and we were ever so happy to discover our air conditioner had been turned ON for us so that our cabin was beautifully cool for us as the heat at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandaree
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you were comfortable in the cabin and enjoyed the air-conditioning! Thank you for your review of our facilities and customer service, Amanda. We hope you have the opportunity to return to our park.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we rocked up after dark and the staff were really helpful. they came up to reception and we checked in then let us know where we could eat! The room was clean and the bed was comfy with fresh linen. the amenities were clean and shower pressure good! refreshed to continue to Arllie Beach!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pianoghost
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our level of maintenance and customer service! Thank you for the review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We always stay here on reasonably frequent visits to Rockhampton. The owners are top notch and always willing to help out with various requests with nothing being too much trouble. The three bed houses are perfect for larger families with two showers and a large deck with a gas BBQ and large outdoor table setting. The aircon is in every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you appreciated all of the facilities and continue to return to our park, Sarah. Thank you for sharing your review.

Theodore, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here with my mum and brother in law but we expected a stove top and it wasnt there. the milk was frozen solid. Might travel again but in a bigger room. we had a toddler with us and he coukd reach everything. i think you guys need to rethink the idea of a "family room"

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank billster3325
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cabin. To discuss this further, please email us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au with your feedback and the number of your cabin. In this way, we can rectify our online listings to ensure they do not advertise "stovetop" if it is not applicable. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockhampton
2.2 mi away
The Criterion Hotel Motel
The Criterion Hotel Motel
#19 of 37 in Rockhampton
153 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
20.2 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Southside Holiday Village
Southside Holiday Village
#5 of 16 in Rockhampton
119 reviews
3.9 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 37 in Rockhampton
135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Tourist Park
Riverside Tourist Park
#10 of 16 in Rockhampton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Rockhampton

Address: 394 Yaamba Rd | North Rockhampton, Rockhampton, Queensland 4701, Australia (Formerly Tropical Wanderer Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Price Range: $56 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Rockhampton 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Discovery Parks - Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Rockhampton staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Rockhampton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a big room. do not buy a "family room" as it is not equipped for a family”
 of 5 bubbles billster3325, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We stayed in two different rooms for our visit as we added a night spontaneously and our first room was already booked for our last night.”
 of 5 bubbles DaleH207, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“good place for travellers to stop esp if you are a large group - choose the 3 br cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles LocalTravelTips, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Pre Book is the answer, check out their w/site first.”
 of 5 bubbles SaharaDV8, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for what best suits your family size.”
 of 5 bubbles howardjudy092, May 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay