We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Southside Holiday Village

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Southside Holiday Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a Ensuite Suite, Site was grassed and ensuite would have been good when it was built about 50s to 60s. Backed onto Railway line with major rail traffic including horns during the night. No warning and no sound barriers or trees planted to exclude the noise during the night. Disappointing at the price.

Helpful?
Thank Trev W
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We have been servicing our region since 1976 and we thoroughly enjoy what we do, however we did not have our ensuite sites quite as long as you suggest as we have only been here 40 years :). We are currently going through many renovations throughout the village, most recently we have been focusing on improving our cabins and will... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great stay, very comfortable and all our needs where meet. Close to all major shopping and sporting facilities 😊 very efficient staff and pleasant at all times. Very safe village. All accommodation was clean and very tidy.

Helpful?
Thank Cher H
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

it's a great place to stay as a stopover on our way to Brisbane. very convenient location. lovely, friendly staff. nice, comfortable, clean little cabins. highly recommend!! and always recommend our family and friends to stay. so thank you :)

Helpful?
Thank sarahlJ5180DG
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We will see you on your way back from Brisbane :) More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite being sandwiched between the main highway and the railway this very pleasant Parkville setting is quite restful. The extremely welcoming front desk ladies are a living gem. They are helpful both as regards the camping area and also with imparting local tourist knowledge. The well run I-site is 2 minutes walk away. If in a caravan or camper van... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeterCarr255108
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Now that is a fantastic review, thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers. We look forward to seeing next time you are in Rockhampton More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very noisy as the park is on hwy and other guests/ school children were up all night. not all that great for kids. We chose this park due to its advertised heated pool. Wasn't heated :( clean amenities though and a good size grass site. Easy to get to out of town. Office/ shop open extended hours which was helpful.

Helpful?
Thank toniclancy
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about our caravan facilities we do try our very best to provide clean amenities to our guests. I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay at our park, the week you stayed was an extremely busy time for us, there was an all schools confraternity on. We do have office staff onsite 24... More 

Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This caravan park was conveniently located for us. After 8 hours of driving from the south we wanted to stay on the southern entrance to Rockhampton and this park is located on the highway as soon as you enter town. I wouldn't want to camp here in a tent as the campsites were located at the front of the park... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
SSHV, Guest Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will see you next time! More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a basic cabin for one night on our journey north. The cabin was clean, although one of the beds had clean, but stained sheets, and the back of the curtains were rather dirty. Everything else was clean. The laundry facilities were good. We were able to get all our clothes washed and dried easily. Our cabin was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RLewy
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Southside Holiday Village. It is excellent to hear that you were happy with our facilities and services. Our laundry is outsourced so please next time if you have any issues with the linen let us know ASAP so we can address it with our laundry. We look... More 

Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Convenient for us, right on the highway, when passing through Rockhampton. Stayed twice on this trip, & found the cabins clean, comfortable & well equipped. Staff have always been pleasant in my experience.

Helpful?
Thank Z7422GGdave
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review us, we cant wait for you to visit us again next time you're in town :) More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you have a vehicle, this is a great place to stay. Stayed in a tropical villa. Looked modern and clean. Quiet even though highway adjacent. Handy for Zoo. Would definitely stay again rather than motel room in town.

Helpful?
Thank B t a H
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thanks for the review :) We look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Sarina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

the South Side Holiday Village is very Clean and tidy, and the times I went into the office the team there were very helpful. We stayed at the ensuite sites and the ensuite wast very clean and lots of hot water, but there was no Slab on the site, very well kept grass area, this was not mentioned at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank havinagreattime
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. When you make a booking please mention to our team that you would like a site with a slab, we have many powered sites with slabs however we only have limited ensuite sites with slabs, so it is best to book early. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Rockhampton
Travelodge Rockhampton
#8 of 37 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 37 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
113.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
#2 of 16 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riverside Tourist Park
Riverside Tourist Park
#10 of 16 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Southside Holiday Village has a welcoming atmosphere, set on 10 acres of tropical gardens; the village boasts an outdoor pool, half size tennis court and BBQ facilities. Offering air-conditioned villas some with a private balcony and free car parking. All our accommodation contain a kitchen with a microwave, fridge, toaster, a flat screen television, some units also have DVD player and Foxtel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southside Holiday Village

Address: 283 Lower Dawson Road, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Price Range: $68 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southside Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Southside Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay