We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Southside Holiday Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Southside Holiday Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is our 4th or 5th Stay at the park, and there is a reason that we go back. Friendly staff on arrival, and when visiting the office throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. Our cabin was very clean, and surrounded by lovely gardens. We have stayed in the back row of units on previous occasions, there are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny F
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in the campgrounds in a tent on a Saturday night after driving up from Brisbane. BEWARE the campgrounds are RIGHT BESIDE THE HIGHWAY!! Other caravan parks I've stayed in put the tent campers out the back away from road noise since they have no insulation. I'm sure this place would be fine for those in caravans or staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mad_ELK
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This park is on the main highway into town so easy to find and good driveway to park in whilst booking in. The sites are getting quite old and in need of updating to stay with the competition found up and down the coast, the park caters mostly for cabin accommodation so not many van sites available for travelers. Can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Designer699
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, as you mentioned there is nothing we can do about the trains, even though we have tried many of times. We are predominantly a cabin park this is due to only seeing caravans for 3 months of the year (throughout the winter) and the rest of the year our sites are... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Booked a Ensuite Suite, Site was grassed and ensuite would have been good when it was built about 50s to 60s. Backed onto Railway line with major rail traffic including horns during the night. No warning and no sound barriers or trees planted to exclude the noise during the night. Disappointing at the price.

Helpful?
Thank Trev W
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We have been servicing our region since 1976 and we thoroughly enjoy what we do, however we did not have our ensuite sites quite as long as you suggest as we have only been here 40 years :). We are currently going through many renovations throughout the village, most recently we have been focusing on improving our cabins and will... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Great stay, very comfortable and all our needs where meet. Close to all major shopping and sporting facilities 😊 very efficient staff and pleasant at all times. Very safe village. All accommodation was clean and very tidy.

Helpful?
Thank Cher H
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

it's a great place to stay as a stopover on our way to Brisbane. very convenient location. lovely, friendly staff. nice, comfortable, clean little cabins. highly recommend!! and always recommend our family and friends to stay. so thank you :)

Helpful?
Thank sarahlJ5180DG
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We will see you on your way back from Brisbane :) More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Despite being sandwiched between the main highway and the railway this very pleasant Parkville setting is quite restful. The extremely welcoming front desk ladies are a living gem. They are helpful both as regards the camping area and also with imparting local tourist knowledge. The well run I-site is 2 minutes walk away. If in a caravan or camper van... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeterCarr255108
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Now that is a fantastic review, thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers. We look forward to seeing next time you are in Rockhampton More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Very noisy as the park is on hwy and other guests/ school children were up all night. not all that great for kids. We chose this park due to its advertised heated pool. Wasn't heated :( clean amenities though and a good size grass site. Easy to get to out of town. Office/ shop open extended hours which was helpful.

Helpful?
Thank toniclancy
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about our caravan facilities we do try our very best to provide clean amenities to our guests. I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay at our park, the week you stayed was an extremely busy time for us, there was an all schools confraternity on. We do have office staff onsite 24... More 

Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

This caravan park was conveniently located for us. After 8 hours of driving from the south we wanted to stay on the southern entrance to Rockhampton and this park is located on the highway as soon as you enter town. I wouldn't want to camp here in a tent as the campsites were located at the front of the park... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
SSHV, Guest Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will see you next time! More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

We stayed in a basic cabin for one night on our journey north. The cabin was clean, although one of the beds had clean, but stained sheets, and the back of the curtains were rather dirty. Everything else was clean. The laundry facilities were good. We were able to get all our clothes washed and dried easily. Our cabin was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RLewy
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Southside Holiday Village. It is excellent to hear that you were happy with our facilities and services. Our laundry is outsourced so please next time if you have any issues with the linen let us know ASAP so we can address it with our laundry. We look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Citywalk Rockhampton
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
#2 of 16 in Rockhampton
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riverside Tourist Park
Riverside Tourist Park
#10 of 16 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
7.9 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 37 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Southside Holiday Village has a welcoming atmosphere, set on 10 acres of tropical gardens; the village boasts an outdoor pool, half size tennis court and BBQ facilities. Offering air-conditioned villas some with a private balcony and free car parking. All our accommodation contain a kitchen with a microwave, fridge, toaster, a flat screen television, some units also have DVD player and Foxtel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southside Holiday Village

Address: 283 Lower Dawson Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Price Range: $68 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southside Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Southside Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay