We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

922 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 913: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very pleased with our experiences at Shantara, a friendly, efficient, profoundly well cared for and high quality resort. Our rooms were spacious, clean, well kept and nicely appointed. The pools and surrounds are most pleasant, the staff are warm and accomplished and the overall effect relaxing, charming and contented. The gym is a plus as is the helpful tour desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCW_Penguin
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my fiancé are staying here at the moment for a week from England. The resort is very impressive boasting two unique swimming pools, creative architecture & beautiful rooms resulting in a tropical oasis. It is an adult only resort, we are 23 and have met friendly older couples who have made us feel welcome. There have been a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the comprehensive and positive review Emma.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to accommodate you or your friends in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Such friendly staff made our stay so very enjoyable- they go above to make it a memorable stay. Amanda is absolutely lovely! She knows the area very well and is able to assist with recommending and the booking of tours and restaurants. The pool is beautiful and we loved our pool deck. The location of Shantara is prime- right near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you Gemma for the great review and for recognising the work of Amanda and our team. We are certainly in a great position to enjoy all that Port Douglas has to offer but be just out of the hustle and bustle of Macrossan St.

florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our travel company booked us into this "resort" and we trusted their recommendation. But this place has nothing going to recommend it. The location is not great - it is not close to the beach so it has no water views, as many other places have. It has absolutely no amenities- their breakfast hamper was a joke, no coffee even....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FLStarfish
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review FLStarfish. We are disappointed that we at Shantara did not meet your expectations. We are a 10 minute level walk to the beach but you are right to say that we do not have beach views. We are a self catering apartment resort so again you are quite right to say that we do not...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shantara resort ticks every box for a quiet, romantic getaway. We loved the location as we were able to walk to restaurants, the beach, the Marina and shops. There is something relaxing about not needing to jump in the car for six days! The resort itself is lovely, the pools are delightful and as there are only adults at this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Susan.We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All i can say is fantastic. We had a room with a decking that enters directly into the pool. The service was excellent and rooms very clean. The room we had was a one bedroom with air-conditioning. The resort is within walking distance to the main street. Will definetly book a room with this resort again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henza T
Peter B, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Henza, thank you for staying with us and your excellent review. We hope to welcome you again at Shantara in the near future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my partner and another couple. When booking, the staff were helpful in coordinating rooms next to each other, even though we arrived on separated days. Had an issue with the booking payment, as both rooms were charged to myself, not the other couple, but the venue promptly offered a refund (however we just sorted it out between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissMcJane
Peter B, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Miss McJane, thank you for the excellent review and understanding. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shantara and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived for a 10 night stay in Port Douglas just to chill out and have peace and quiet which is why we chose Shantara. We usually stay at 5 star resorts and initially we were a bit worried about some of the photos on their website that the rooms did not look to what we were use to. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davezu
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Dave, thank you for all you kind words and the excellent review. We are pleased we lived up to your expectations and you had a relaxing holiday. We hope to see you again at Shantara in the near future.

Orebro, Sweden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good location two blocks from beach and main street. Share washer with one other room. No restaurant. Reception open officehours. The hotell will book you exkursions and are helpful and nice. Cosy but shady pools.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petfar
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Petfar, thanks for the time to review us. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we would like to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at a studio, loved the quiet and tranquil atmosphere of this place. Very clean with a small kitchenette. Only two things could be improved, there is not enough light in the bathroom and not enough storage ,only a small wardrobe and all the space taken up by spare pillows and blankets. However I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
Peter B, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Anna, thanks for the review and you constructive feedback. We do appreciate your time to write it. We look forward to welcoming you back at Shantara.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

469 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (286)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (43)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Second Pool (8)
Viewed
Shantara Apartment (37)
Viewed
Studio with Pool View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $112 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shantara Resort Port Douglas staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Shantara Resort Port Douglas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Shanatar Apartment with pool access”
 of 5 bubbles Davezu, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms with balcony are great”
 of 5 bubbles amandamaree21, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Pool deck rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MarlaQu, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Some rooms have direct access to the pools is you use them a lot this would be ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles jaav, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“We had a corner suite, the view overlooking the pool was great”
 of 5 bubbles robertsY5614KU, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay