We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Villas Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Villas Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not sure how to rate the Bay Villas. The location is fine, 15 minute walk to the main street, there is parkingspace (watch out if you have a big car), the front office is more than friendly and it was clean. Yet we were not overwhelmed by the apartment. It really was a little small. Small kitchenarea, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolienRozema
Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with young daughter for five nights. Good standard of facilities. A bit dated. Very clean. Full kitchen in apartment which suited us well. Support from staff via email beforehand was fabulous. Two things I think could be improved on - 1. Better shower head. It was so tiny. Didn't even wet your back without having to move around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jilaAustralia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our room we booked was at 219$ when we got there we had to pay an extra fee of 150$ because my children where over 8 years old .. they said take it or leave it . They would not refund our deposit and said the next morning that the manager would refund some money back to us but that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danielle N
BayVillasManager, Manager at Bay Villas Resort, responded to this review

You booked a studio for 1 night for a whole family of 4 people and this is only allowed if 1) both of your children are under 2 years old, and 2) one of it sleeps in the same bed than you and the other one in a baby cot. This policy is clear and simple enough, it's just common...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Relaxing, close to everything , really helpful staff and awesome rooms and facilities! Would highly recommend this to anyone and will defiantly be back next time I come to port Douglas! Has everything I need for my travels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
Kirribilli, Australia
Reviewed December 3, 2016

Great size for families, with good kitchen/laundry facilities. Very convenient to marina, town centre, 4 mile beach and nice pool to relax at (water is cooler than beach and no stingers!) A few maintenance issues - we had to move due to non flushing toilet but was not an issue in low season. Air con in new room struggled in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheConstantEater
Reviewed November 30, 2016

We enjoyed our recent 3 nights at Bay Villas, the staff are helpful and friendly. We loved our simple apartment with the bandicoot and orange-footed mound builders (birds like chickens) who visited us nightly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky W
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 14, 2016

We landed here after some bad weather to lovely sunshine and heat. The resort is great rooms big and spacious with your own amenities to feed, eat and clean your stuff almost self catering in paradise. There is a washer drier, large kitchen space with all the amenities, close by is a large super market to get all your shopping....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigstu1207
BayVillasManager, Manager at Bay Villas Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stu, Thank you for your nice feedback. We are working hard to make all our guests happy, your comment is greatly appreciated. You are very welcome to come back next time! :-)

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed November 14, 2016

We where booked in at the Bay Villa by a travel agent in Norway. Receptionist was friendly but all he did was give us some directions where to find out room. We more or less been travelling non stop from Durban South Africa (one short night in Sydney). We were on a long holiday and had a lot of baggage...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christian2sen
BayVillasManager, Manager at Bay Villas Resort, responded to this review

Dear Christian, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed by Bay Villas Resort. Self-catering apartments is a very common way of traveling through Australia and Port Douglas 4 stars are only made of self-catering apartments rentals. If there is a person to blame, it is your travel agent who did not explain that to you...

Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

My first reaction when we arrived was ,my god what have they done to us .Please read further . After several hours we realised we didn't have to pay $35 for breakfast or $4 for a small bottle of water . We could do what we used to do and cook ,or even order a takeaway.We had been on a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David J
BayVillasManager, Manager at Bay Villas Resort, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your very helpful and positive feedback. Self catering apartments is very popular in Australia, indeed and has its pros and cons. The big pro is you are in your place like you are at home, and not bothered everyday by housekeeping, room service, etc. And it is more cosy and private than long corridor hotels....

Selby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2016

If you want a fairly reasonable place to stay with friendly and informative staff then the Bay Villa Resort is for you. We were located on the ground floor not far from a small pool. Facilities were fairly basic but adequate. It was a ten minute walk to the town centre and there was covered parking for cars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 44 in Port Douglas
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#20 of 44 in Port Douglas
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bay Villas is located within few minutes walking distance of downtown Port Douglas and the world famous 4-Mile Beach. Bay Villas has been designed with an emphasis on spaciousness and reflects the North Queensland style with bright, tropical furnishings. There are a choice of studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with courtyards or balconies. Most of the apartments overlook the resort style swimming pools and barbecue facilities.The apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchens, separate dining are, internal laundry. The studio units have cooking facilities and access to the free shared laundries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Villas Resort

Address: 51-53 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $67 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bay Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Villas Hotel Port Douglas
Bay Resort Port Douglas
Bay Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bay Villas Resort staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Villas Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We liked the ground floor with a little garden”
 of 5 bubbles 667jackyw, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“Get your towel down early if using the pool”
 of 5 bubbles bigstu1207, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at ground level”
 of 5 bubbles Christian2sen, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms may be noisy from roadside traffic”
 of 5 bubbles DerekC372, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room that doesn't face the pool if you want it more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles smattox114, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay