We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 399: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Back in 2011 we're stayed at the cove and five years on we decided to say again. The resort definitely has potential and is situated in the middle of a very magical setting. My thoughts are that the main focus is more on gay men and things are starting to look alittle outdated, worn out or in need of repair....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caza B
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

thank you for your comments. living right on the beach, is like living on a ship.We do constant upgrades and it's never ending. we indeed don't have a massive menu, but to ensure that there is always something for everybody, we change the menu every day. 7 entrees, 4-5 mains and 6-8 desserts. We hope you will be back one...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wrote in 2010 that Turtle Cove has its mojo back - well after five blissful days there, I'm back to say the Cove is still kicking goals. What's not to like - the most amazing setting on earth, good food, fun fellow travellers and incredible weather... If you want perfect "Shaynna Blaze" tiles and "Joanna Gaines" Hampton's blandness, book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanFromPort
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing comments. I am soooo happy that the comments come from guests such as you. It's a bit when I look on a hotel web site ( even 5 stars) I see the bedroom with flowers and a fruit basket on a table. Still never seen it when I enter such a room. By us you...

Brisabne
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Had a stay at Turtle Cove in October 2016, once again, the natural surrounds of the beach and ocean at Turtle Cove did not disappoint, and these natural elements is what is carrying the resort along and gets it over the line every time. Apart from one rainy day, the weather was excellent. The rooms (beachfront) are in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RussellBrisbane428
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your property inspection and comments, Naturally we take your comments on board and will correct as much as we can. If we only could control nature’s conditions, while living in high humidity, sea spray winds and smack in the National park and world heritage forests, it would be so much easier to control. We just hope that...

Reviewed October 21, 2016

Yes, the rooms are quite dated and certainly need some updating, but the location is spectacular. We upgraded to a beach front room, well worth the reasonable upcharge. The grounds are amazingly well kept. The pool, hot tub, and club is a fantastic place to meet people from all over the world or simply relax on a chaise staring at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and yes, the rooms are upgraded one by one. Indeed living in the mountains phone and internet reception sometimes gets a bit tricky. With our amazing seclusion and we still still manage to get fresh produce for our guests, while keeping our pricing well below the...

Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

Let me start by saying that the resort gets major points purely because of its stunning beachfront location. The rooms were a little dated but spacious and good, we liked the rooms. The food is bad. They try for a 5 star expensive dinner menu that really fails. It reminds me of one of those fresh but frozen menus that...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Michael R
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your “read me” comments and yes we did read you the moment you checked in. How sad that all the other 99.99% of all our trip advisor guest comments are obviously all wrong about us, maybe all of them have the wrong attitude. A mosquito bite being nonstop scratched can turn into a big boil. We hope...

Lage-Vuursche, The Netherlands
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful gay resort near Cairns , good to relax. The resort is not far from the Daintree rainforest, and Port Douglas as wel as some beautiful beaches. It's a great place to stay and the scenery is just wow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42carl
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. We indeed are so close to the Barrier Reef and The famous oldest rainforest in the world. Then add our secure, secluded position right on the beach, it all adds up to a total being away from all the stresses from work, city living and 24 hours noises. Most guests just do those two...

Sydney
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed a relaxing visit to Turtle Cove. We had a queen room upstairs which had a great view of the sunrise over the ocean. To our surprise was a bottle of bubbly in the fridge to enjoy during our visit. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The beach is great ... especially if you like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walaby64
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. Sitting on your balcony with a cuppa and overlooking the sea 100 meters in front of you is the ultimate. If you early enough, you will see the sun climbing up over the horizon. Even a painting could not surpass the reality. Our staff also get enjoyment taking care of our guests. Hope we will...

Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Was like returning home again after not having been there for many years. Place is looking great. Prices very reasonable, food delicious (hamburger at lunch was second to none), lovely staff and of course... Queen B is back!! Can't wait to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Yes its hard work, but all worth it when we see our guests sooo relaxed and enjoying our great food. And our team here equally enjoy taking care of all our guests, to make sure they having a great time and want to return again. Looking forward seeing you back one day With hugs...

Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

It was great to go back for a week, see some old friends and chill hell out! The staff were great, the rooms were kept clean and the aircon was always well received! A comfy bed, fun nights and OK food all in a great location, we will be back AGAIN soon. Thanks Bert and team X

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, it's always so rewarding for us to see guests returning again and again. Believe it or not, but about 64% of all our guests are return guests. We will never be perfect, but with so many return guests, we must be doing something right, right ? he...he..he.. But then again, were else can you be...

Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Queen B and the crew treated us with amazing friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble for our small party if 48! Food is awesome! Drinks are strong and delicious. Wifi was quick. Air con in the room a blessing. Great time had by all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HayJo
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. 51 of you and your friends. Not bad in 3 days, had to go twice daily to get more alcohol. I think all of your friends should join the AAA club now he...he...he.. My poor staff were worn out by the time you all departed. But all of them said that, even though they had...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

272 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (247)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (77)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
3:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
10.2 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
13.5 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
447 reviews
11.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
8.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
8.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Turtle Cove Beach Resort is a Gay and Lesbian, Adults Only, Absolute Beach Front Holiday Resort near Cairns, Australia. Join us in Tropical Far North Queensland and experience the most fantastic and secluded piece of unspoilt GLBT Paradise in Australia,some say the world. Be assured,Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not your ordinary Gay and Lesbian Hotel! Come and explore our totally private, clothing optional, tropical beach and have the holiday/vacation of your life time! Turtle Cove Beach Resort is an absolute beachfront slice of Gay and Lesbian Heaven and is conveniently located between Cairns, Palm Cove and Port Douglas, it is the perfect place to chill and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Address: 100 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $135 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Port Douglas
Turtle Cove Smithfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Turtle Cove Beach Resort staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Turtle Cove Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ocean front all the way”
 of 5 bubbles , Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms have a sensational view, well worth the extra cost”
 of 5 bubbles trav19762016, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“the delux sea view rooms are bigger and have a better bed”
 of 5 bubbles 850keithw, Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
“Wifi in the common areas. Really a great place to get away from the bombardment though. Needed some access, but let go for the most part.”
 of 5 bubbles omonoyama, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront is best but high floor on apartments have great views too.”
 of 5 bubbles worldexplorerA1, Jul 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay