We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mantra PortSea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mantra PortSea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,141: English reviews
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Such a great place to stay. Rooms are spacious and clean with everything you need. Great kitchen facilities to use as well. The location is great also, only 900 metres or so to the main street. Just far enough away so you are not bothered by noise. Great cooling facilities in the room. The pool is great and you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
Ipswich
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 6 nights and loved every minute. Rooms were wonderful, staff were fantastic and the resort was amazing! Perfect spot to access everything port douglas offers! Only complaint was that of the 2 spa pool facilities, the one near the lagoon bar does not function at all and the large one by reception doesn't work properly. Other than that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandertO219DE
Sydney
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great weekend getaway. Really enjoyed our stay. Definitely be back! Staff were friendly, pool area was amazing. The lagoon bar was perfect for a nice 🍸👌🏻 We came during the off season so we practically had the resort all to ourselves.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadz106
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Mantra Portsea my wife and I like and have been at this accommodation several times. The spa areas needs a bit more maintenance to ensure they are working correctly. Overall though still pretty good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H5401TNaland
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Love this resort it's very relaxing, the rooms are very comfortable& the pool is fantastic, only a short walk to town & also to the beach, the staff are very friendly & the breakfast was a great start to each day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U5193ICmargaretw
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family of four, including young adults, stayed for 9 days and had a lovely time. Great location for kids to wander into town on their own. Friendly staff who were always helpful, especially Tammy who was a great help sourcing gluten free dining options. Location was great as it was nice and quiet without the noise of being right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hi Tanya, Thanks for taking the time to review our little slice of paradise! We love our location too- super close to the beach, and within easy walking distance to the main street. I shall also pass on your sentiments to Tammy- she is a superstar! Warmest regards, Tom Lade Front Office Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had an excellent three days at the Mantra PortSea. It was our honeymoon and the staff were all incredibly friendly and always willing to help. The massage was AMAZING, I have never felt so relaxed. The cocktails at the bar were yummy and the pool is great fun!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hi Helen, We love that you love us! It's always great to hear that our staff are doing a fantastic job. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your tropical holiday. We can't wait to welcome you back. Warmest regards, Tom Lade Front Office Manager

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only place we stayed in out of 8 hotels/apartments that charged for wifi. Rooms shabby, need renovating, all switches for fans broken. We arrived and first room had a shortage of equipment in the kitchen and a side table missing, we immediately asked to charge rooms but were told we would be charged a cleaning charge if we changed rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara/Colin/S... B
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We value all our guest feedback in order to fully provide the outstanding guest experience we strive and work diligently for. We apologize that some aspects of your stay were not up to our high standards. Unfortunately Wifi is not yet included as part of your rate...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Mantra Portsea for a week in November. We booked a one bed studio and it was a good size for two people, and it had a balcony which was great. I don't know what the others are complaining about. It is clear on the website and trip advisor that the rooms aren't serviced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nataisha19
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

It sounds like you totally embraced a true tropical holiday- sunbathing, cocktails, dips in the pool...pure relaxation. Thanks for the wonderful review- we can't wait to welcome you back soon! Warmest regards, Tom Lade Front Office Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My room was on ground floor with possums and other animals running around outside at night. Aircondition in one of my room was not working, out of gas. The apartment its self was very dark, average, and bit dated. Unless you stay more then seven days, you don't get room service. This is bad. Breakfast is not bad but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I'm disheartened to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We do advertise that all stays under 8 nights do not receive any cleaning. However we do have a towel swap service at reception, where you can also collect an abundance of in...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (272)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 44 in Port Douglas
631 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $76 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mantra PortSea staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question
South Melbourne, Australia
Stockport, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Cheltenham, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra PortSea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“no lifts available especially if you have big suitcase to carry.”
 of 5 bubbles heley0424, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Request a swim out room.”
 of 5 bubbles brianjohnglover, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“There is no choice.”
 of 5 bubbles JB5209, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Away from the pool bar as a bit smelly when they are cooking.”
 of 5 bubbles 42clairej, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“If you want to stay i'd pick lagoon view ground floor pool access away from the pool bar.”
 of 5 bubbles golfmat, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay