We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Martinique on Macrossan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Martinique on Macrossan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 550: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

My wife and I stayed two nights at Martinique. Perfect location in Port Douglas, close to the main street and a short walk to the beach. Antonia and Fred are fantastic hosts, they made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped up to reception. They even drove us to Cairns Airport after a slight mix up with the shuttle... More 

Helpful?
Thank carltontravel
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Loveliest most helpful couple who are genuine and friendly so close to the beach for fantastic sunrises all day trips organised for you if you want and good recommendations for guides lovely rooms quiet good heated pool and bbq area if you want to stay in

Helpful?
1 Thank esorwen
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Thank you esorwen for the great review We love helping our guests enjoy this beautiful part of Australia. Best wishes More 

Robe, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We returned to Martinique for a 2 week stay August 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Antonia and Fred are wonderful hosts and made our stay stress free and memorable. We could recommend this to everybody. The pool is delightful and garden is beautifully maintained.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennepher G
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Thank you Jennepher G for your recommendation. It was great to Welcome you back to Martinique again. Best wishes More 

Longford, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a very pleasant place to stay The owners Fred and Antonia are extremely friendly and helpful. They will make bookings for you and give you great local advice on places to visit, eat at and enjoy. This was a return visit for us and again we were not disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JJCJohn_C
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Thank you JJCJohn_C for your review We were thrilled to Welcome you back and as you know are always pleased to help with anything we can. Kind regards More 

Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This small quaint boutique "hotel" is called an "apartment" in the local dialect because there is a kitchenette and no daily hotel room service. The personal attention to our needs -- and getting us transferred from a bad choice of tours to the best choice of tours (per GBR and Daintree) was exceptional (and the cost was half)! Thank You!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hducharme
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Dear hducharme Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. As with everything the locals know the best tours and the easiest way to get there. Sometimes when booking from overseas people have chosen tours from Cairns and as you now know Port Douglas is an hour away so it is much better... More 

Twin Waters, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 10 days in this well located resort. Lovely staff, well appointed room and gorgeous pool but we had a room at the front of the complex and it was very noisy ie traffic, rubbish collection and pedestrian.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James O
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Hi James O Thank you for your review. Our sleepy little town certainly comes to life in our winter months. Everyone wants to come and enjoy the amazing weather. And yes heaps of people do change the demographics! More people, traffic and rubbish Things unfortunately out of our control. Maybe next time we can get you a back room! Best... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pluses were - great great location and the superb service. The advice offered enhanced the vacation. Had a top floor, street facing room with balcony. Plenty of space and worked well. Unit was very clean even though a little dated. These are not serviced units for short stays but the upside is that this keeps the cost down. Extras, like... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 876pearcec
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Dear 876pearcec Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our Apartments. As you said our building was built in the 90's but we have recently renovated all our apartments. Most of the holiday apartments in Queensland are only serviced weekly with a linen change on the 3 or 4 day if you stay for a week. This is to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location is excellent. A short walk to the beach one way...restaurants, cafés & shops the other. The place has a lovely atmosphere from when you 1st walk up from the footpath. The apartments have everything you need to make it your home away from home. The BBQ area is great, we made use of it several times during our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 189marniec
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Hi 189marniec Thank you so much for your wonderful review We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We love Port Douglas and really enjoy having guests like yourself stay with us. We would love to Welcome you back in the future Best wishes More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

is a confirmed booking not a booking? Well at the Martinique you may or may not get a room it seems to be a lottery . I cant tell you anything about our stay, as our 4 weeks prior confirmed booking on the hotels own website not a 3 rd party was bumped off to another less expensive property with... More 

Helpful?
Thank sqirrell
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Thank you sqirrell for your review. There are however, two sides to every story! Best wishes More 

Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The units are ok but not what we expected. We booked ground floor next to pool. Not avaliable and told we got ground floor but they dont hold any particular room and assign rooms only to avalability at time of arrival. Light in kitchen not working and cooktop fan switch broken. We had to sweep tiles on floor of total... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 151kevin
Lea W, Public Relations Manager at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review

Dear 151kevin I am sorry that your stay was not what you expected! Unfortunately we have 19 rooms and only 3 overlook the pool. Sometimes it is difficult to accommodate especially in the high season as it is now. We will definitely look into your concerns. Many Thanks for your review More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (135)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#10 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $113 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay