We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cairns Sunland Leisure Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here and while at first I was a little unsure, the truth is that for the price, on a budget, this is a great place to stay. The cabin accomodation is basic, clean, with comfortable beds, good air conditioners (one each in main, kids and lounge) and a good sized fridge in each cabin. The laundry facilities were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawnsw
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My cabin had curtains hanging off, a broken blind, the lock was dodgy, as was the TV reception. You had to squeeze past a bunk bed to get to the old rattling air-con. I had a truck parked out front which had its refrigeration unit running all night. I asked for it to be moved and it was back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank duncan h
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us (especially as this is your third visit to our park). Regarding the truck outside the park: The front road is a public road and therefore, we can hardly be held responsible for noise that is not on our property. Having said that, management did ask the driver to move the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were going to stay with friends in Cairns, but because the husband was sick in hospital in Brisbane, we chose to stay at the Sunland Leisure Park. It is very central to everything we wanted to visit & the rates are extremely reasonable. We had a cabin with no ensuite, but we were right across the roadway from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. We try very hard to make all of our guests' stay enjoyable and it's nice to get such positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

For the price this park was a good stop in a large regional town and is very close to the CBD. The staff were very friendly & check in was quick. There is a boom gate and locked amenities. The road system is all one way. The sites are level & slabbed with shrubs bordering sites and the park is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susanne P
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. We try very hard to make all of our guests' stay enjoyable and it's nice to get such positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Me and my bf stayed here on and off for about a month. We would go off to cape tribulation etc but always come back here as our 'home'. It's $26 for a powered site, the toilets are cleans and kitchen area has everything you need! Not much to do nearby but if you have a car it's easy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steph744
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you back soon. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

We were looking for a last minute campsite in the Cairns area and phoned around a few places. Other places wanted over $40 for 2 people sleeping in their car whereas here it was only $26. Yes it isn't the cleanest, and you are close to others but for the price you cannot complain. We only booked for one night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We try really hard and it's great to hear your positive comments. More 

Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

For the price, you really can't do better. We paid $250 for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom cabin. For a family on a budget it was all we needed. The rooms were clean, the TV had lots of austar channels, and the staff (while busy) were very friendly. If you don't have a vehicle, there is a bus nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kylen1986
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really glad that you had a good stay and that you were kind enough to tell others of your good experience with us. We work really hard to make our guests stay enjoyable and it's nice to know that our efforts are appreciated. Thank you once again! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

The cabin we booked was described as being modern, I wouldn't describe it as being modem. However it was clean, the laundry was clean and functional and the service was prompt. A price friendly place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really glad that you had a good stay and that you were kind enough to tell others of your good experience with us. We work really hard to make our guests stay enjoyable and it's nice to know that our efforts are appreciated. Thank you once again! More 

Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Very basic, common amenities dirty, cabins dirty, beds uncomfortable. The only positive thing is if you have a car it wily be 5m from the car to your cabin. Overpriced for what you get. If this becomes the standard of accommodation in Oz then I am done travelling down under. :-(

Helpful?
Thank Varel_Fristensky
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was so bad, but you as we have never had the pleasure of your company, I can only assume that you have us mixed up with someone else and have given us a negative review by mistake. I have double checked our entire guest list and you have definitely, never stayed with us. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

I did not find the reception friendly at all. Not even a hello. And boy do they pack you in. I think it is unfair that they give campervans the smallest sites and charge the same as caravan sites 3 times the size. They don't like it, but you really have to insist on a better site, go back and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gordon b
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, however we need to get a few facts straight. 1. July is the busiest time of year in Cairns, so I'm sorry if you feel that you were packed in, but at this time of year, we don't have a lot of choice. 2. Camper van sites are NOT the same price as caravan sites.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
3.1 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#52 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#39 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cairns Holiday Park
Cairns Holiday Park
#15 of 88 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
White Rock Leisure Park
White Rock Leisure Park
#66 of 88 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cool Waters Holiday Park
Cool Waters Holiday Park
#16 of 88 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake Placid Tourist Park
Lake Placid Tourist Park
#19 of 88 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunland is a 4 star Leisure Park offering affordable accommodation options, designed to cater to all types of budgets. We offer powered Van sites & camping areas with a Camp kitchen. All guests have full access to the BBQs & TV room, with Austar at no extra cost. The park has an Amenities block with coin operated laundry. Also kid’s playground and Resort style pool with a Pirate ship water slide (Great for the kids!!!). Large Shady Tropical park being only 4Km from the city and 5km to airport. Bus to city passes entrance regularly. 24 hour high speed wireless internet and for those without computers we have 2 internet cafes. And with 24 hour check in coming to stay has never been easier. We also offer Van and luggage storage for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cairns Sunland Leisure Park

Address: 49-61 Little Pease Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $28 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Sunland Leisure Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cairns Sunland Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay